We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Storrs Gate House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Storrs Gate House
Ranked #27 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barrow in Furness
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

I came to this B&B with my husband for a one night stay to escape the kids. On arrival we were taken to our four poster room (Tudor Room) which was beautifully decorated and very clean. It had a wonderful ensuite with powershower, tea and coffee tray, fridge and mini bar, sky tv and well upholstered 'tub chairs'. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming without being intrusive and suggested walks and places to eat. The breakfast the next day was freshly cooked from local produce. I couldnt fault this B&B in anyway and have already recommended it to friends and family as it is well worth a visit. We will be returning!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's so good to know you enjoyed your overnight stay and that you were so pleased with the Tudor four poster en-suite. Thanks for recommending us to your friends - we hope we'll see you both back here again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    30
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
295
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Food- fault less. It's such good quality breakfast. Local produce and home made jam really does add a special touch

Location: nice walk to the shops in Windermere or only £3 in a taxi. Go to the Italian called Villa Positano, on the cobble street but not Porto Fenio. The Sol bar is nice but the food isn't much special. The pub called the Albert on the corner is the nicest pub in windermere.

Hosts: Very welcoming. We came in from the cold and they offered to dry our clothes, re-stocked our mini-bar daily, added special touches such as folding the toilet tissue and towels daily. Recommended some nice places.

Room: we stayed in room 1 (tudor). Really nice bed, stunningly decorated with little touches. Power shower is nice! T.V is sky but we noticed sky have taken off half the channels!

Overall, wouldn't hesitate to come again!

Room Tip: recommend the tudor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank review169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
We were very happy to read your review and your kind comments. Our Tudor king-size four poster is a lovely room - thank you for recommending it as a Room Tip! Glad to hear too you found our own recommendations useful.

Breakfast is a hugely important part of making sure a stay is special here, and our home-made jam and marmalade is very popular. We use local suppliers and source the best quality and it's really good to know that this is appreciated!

As we were unaware that Sky appear to have removed some channels, we will now look into this and thank you for bringing it to our attention. Hoping to see you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I came here for a relaxing weekend with my partner whilst heavily pregnant. Had a wonderful time the hotel is beautiful and set in a nice quiet location a short walk from the centre. The room was imaculate and had all the finishing touches fully stocked mini bar, huge shower and lovely premium brand shampoos conditioner etc flat screen tv with plenty of channels and huge comfy bed. I would have been quite happy just staying in the room. The hospitality was fantastic so friendly and welcoming and the breakfast is one of the best I have ever had in a b and b. As a regular to this part of Windermere I would highly recommend this hotel to fellow travellors and hope to return again myself in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ledzeplover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
We really enjoyed reading your lovely review, and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! It's so encouraging to receive such positive feedback and especially to know that our finishing touches are noticed and appreciated. We've been welcoming our guests for 12 years this month and have always strived to provide the hospitality and comfort we ourselves would expect, so we love to hear that our guests are consistently happy when choosing to stay with us.

Thanks for your lovely comment regarding our breakfast - we have added items since you stayed with us, and would love to hear your opinion if you do return for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Lovely, relaxing stay at Storrs Gate House with my partner. We had a beautiful room with a four poster bed. Beautiful presented room and very clean. The welcome was fantastic and they could not do enough for you, carrying bags to your room, to telling you about places of interest. The breakfast was lovely each morning, freshly prepared in a beautiful room overlooking the lovely gardens. I would definately recommend the Storrs Gate House and would stay if we were in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 63caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Excellent! It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much...we are proud of our gorgeous dining room, bedrooms and gardens and it was very good to hear that you were relaxed and happy here. We recall that you mentioned you had spent a lot of time researching a place to stay, and kept "coming back" to Storrs Gate House, which makes it especially important to us that you were ulitmately happy with your choice.

We do hope you plan to return and will welcome anyone you choose to recommend us to with pleasure! Many thanks for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had a lovely stay. From the moment we arrived from the moment we left we felt comfortable. Shirley and vince were attentive hosts without being intrusive. The room was clean and beautifully furnished and we knew we had made a great choice. The breakfast was varied and personally served which was a very nice touch and made it all the more personal. We would definitely recommend it to friends and family and hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smalldog11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We were especially pleased to learn how comfortable you felt during your stay with us. We have just added home-made granola to our breakfast starters, and as you say, offer a varied menu with personal service.

We'll be delighted to welcome you back, and are very happy to hear that you will be recommending us to family and friends, as for us, this is the most perfect form of "advertising"!
Thanks for choosing us - hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed for a night here recently, just for a night to break up a trip to scotland.

Firstly the people are lovely - very chatty, but not overly bearing, if you see what I mean. Our room was fantastic! Really big, with a 4 poster & a living room!

Breakfast was lovely, much better quality food than many hotels & we left for Scotland feeling great.

It was exactly what we were looking for, out of the big towns of Keswick or Kendel. No hesitation to recomend

Room Tip: look out for the special offers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t0ne00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. Thanks too, for the tip to other TripAdvisor readers - our Special Offers are only available by direct booking and apply to both midweek and weekend bookings, so don't miss out! We're so pleased you loved your room - the Jacobean king-size four poster suite, and that the quality of our breakfast was worth such a kind comment! We hope you enjoyed your break in Scotland and will consider coming back to us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights at Storrs Gate House with my partner. We stayed in the Tudor room. The room was really lovely with a four poster bed. The welcome we got was really friendly and the owner even carried our bags up to the room which was on the first floor. The bed was the most comfy I have ever slept in with an amazing goose down duvet. (We are going to buy one of these for our own bed) The shower was a power shower and I felt I had had a massage after the shower. Really refreshing. The breakfast was really well cooked and plentiful. I recommend the yoghurts, yummy!! All in all it was a wonderful break and we would definitely stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireBusylizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thanks so much for your kind, informative review.
We're delighted that our Tudor king-size four poster room was so much enjoyed, and that you found the bed to be so comfortable, and the power shower so good! At breakfast, the yoghurt with home-made apricot, bay & vanilla compote, or prunes in Earl Gray and orange zest is a firm favourite and we are pleased you enjoyed it!

Maybe next time you might like to try one of our other four poster suites? They're all popular and each one different. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#1 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Fell Country House
Lindeth Fell Country House
#10 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#6 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#6 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Gate House

Property: Storrs Gate House
Address: Longtail Hill, Windermere LA23 3JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Storrs Gate House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast of the Year - Cumbria Tourism Awards 2009.Five Stars with Silver Award - luxury accommodation opposite Lake Windermere. 15 minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere, our family run guest house offers personal service by friendly owners. Breakfasts feature local and home-made produce. Four poster and king-size rooms, power showers, White Company toiletries. We aim to ensure you will want to return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Storrs Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Gate House Hotel Windermere
Storrs Gate House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing