We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST B&B we have ever been to!!! Beautiful & Very Clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Denehurst Guest House
Ranked #22 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“BEST B&B we have ever been to!!! Beautiful & Very Clean.”
Reviewed May 15, 2010

It was simply the right decision to choose Denehurst. It offers lovely accommodation down to little well thought touches. After our 2 night stay, we can conclude that Cindy does not spare any efforts to make it the best. We had the top attic room. Although a little tight, its comforts outweigh that. Room is beautifully decorated. It is tidied every morning (despite us not hanging the request on the door knob). A well furnished lounge complete with lots of books/brochures on the Lake District was generously opened to all guests' use (unlike 2 other B&B we stayed at that excludes lounge from guests). Little touches like lounge/ bathroom fragrances added to the comfort and good memories of this place. Cindy was very patient and did not miss out on any details for us and superb service was accorded to every guests at breakfast (great selections of food too). We did not meet Ken who was away tending to his sick mum. Despite being short handed during this period, Cindy remained extremely professional in delivering her best personal service. A memorable stay here which really complemented the serene beauty of the picturesque Lake District. Location of Denehurst is also walking distance to the restaurants by the Lake side of Windermere. We definitely will not hesitate to recommend this place to all readers and our friends. You will not regret it! Thanks, Cindy, for the lovely stay we had.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sk248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
202
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2010

When I read about a places to stay on TripAdvisor that get consistently great reviews, my major thought is, "it may be nice, but is it right for me?" Well, here's your answer. Denehurst Guest House is the perfect place to stay if you:
1. enjoy delicious, ample hot breakfasts cooked with care to your exact specifications
2. appreciate warm, helpful service any time of day
3. want a quiet and relaxed place to stay in the beautiful Lake District
4. like to wander through lakeside villages (Denehurst is exactly between two- about a 10 minute stroll to each)
5. prefer B&Bs with kind, respectful innkeepers

My mom and I had a lovely stay. We arrived at the train station from London and Ken was there waiting for us. From the welcome tea to our final drop off at the station, we relied on the owners to provide us with information on having a fun-filled stay and they followed through to the tee. Highly recommended to all!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbro5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We had a fantastic stay at Denehurst, rooms beautiful we love those extra special touches. Great location, very welcoming hosts, fantastic breakfast....we will be back, thanks very much!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonynsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We came for a midweek break with friends who recommended Denehurst.
The owners Ken and Cindy cant do enough for you very warm and welcoming couple.
The pubs and shops are only a short walk away and Ken and Cindy have a book in the
lounge with their recommendations for places to eat. Any where you want to go and Ken will print you off directions and places to stop at and places to eat on the way. The rooms are nicely decorated and nice and warm and the whole place is exceptionally
clean. There is a good choice for breakfast and the food is lovely.

is a lovely place and we cant wait to go back

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sootymucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

My wifeand I have just returned from our 9th visit to this superb guesthouse and it was absolutely fabulous. It is everything you could ask for and more, beautiful rooms , magnificent breakfasts, fantastic hospitality and in Cindy and Ken you have the perfect hosts. They are so warm and welcoming and they really go out of their way to make your stay as perfect as it could be.We have recommended Denehurst to lots of family and friends and they too have had the most wonderful stays there. A quick look through the visitors book will show that the number of people who thoroughly enjoyed the Denehurst experience is amazing, with guests returning on a regular basis. To sum up we have found a little piece of heaven in the Lake District, the perfect remedy to the stresses and strains of everyday life, an escape from the hustle and bustle. ABSOLUTE HEAVEN!!!!!!! Thanks once again Cindy and Ken.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitedovewirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

My wife and I always come to the lake district for the new year and because of bookings at our normal location we tried somewhere new. We loved it. From arriving and being offered a cup of tea to sleeping in what has to be the most comfortable bed I can remember, it was wonderful. The only downside was parking and this was sadly because of icy roads and a lack of gritting! We will look forward to our return trip!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightymoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed here for the second time and found it just as good as our first stay!

Ken and Cindy are wonderful! Denehurst is a lovely B&B and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLWJAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#26 of 108 in Windermere
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#29 of 108 in Windermere
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 108 in Windermere
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#10 of 108 in Windermere
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jerichos Guest House
Jerichos Guest House
#11 of 108 in Windermere
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#23 of 108 in Windermere
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denehurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denehurst Guest House

Property: Denehurst Guest House
Address: 40 Queens Drive, Windermere LA23 2EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Denehurst Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denehurst Guest House in Windermere is an Award Winning bed and breakfast. A typical Victorian Lakeland property offering all the home comforts in bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in a quiet residential area well within walking distance of Lake Windermere and local shops as well as several excellent restaurants. We are pleased to offer excellent hospitality and hope our guests will enjoy the comfort and the attention we have given to detail. Priding ourselves on our hospitality as well as an excellent breakfast menu, we have created the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. We have won a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 6 years running gaining us an entry in their HALL OF FAME. We also have been awarded a Breakfast Award from Visit Britain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Denehurst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denehurst Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing