We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't fault it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Denehurst Guest House
Ranked #20 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Can't fault it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2008

We've returned today from a two night stay at the Denehurst. We don't normally stay in guest houses as we prefer the anonymity of larger places but decided to give Denehurst a go.

From the start the stay has been fantastic with the welcome received very friendly and accomodating, arriving just after 11am and the room being ready to walk into. Ken and Cindy are the most friendly hoteliers we've ever come across and we're a pleasure to stay with. From friendly advice about where to go to recommendations and the offer to book tables at local restaurants - we couldn't ask for any more.

The room was spotless and the breakfasts... you'd have to experience them to see truly how good they were.

Would we go back? No doubt in our mind at all. Already planning when this can be.

  • Liked — The welcome, location, price, breakfasts, friendly owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robatshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
200
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

stayed at the denehurst last weekend.the place was excellent,spotlessly clean,and th breakfast in the morning was great.ken and cindy,the owners were very helpfull and friendly.and will even book you in to one of the many local restraunts if you ask them too.all in all i cant rcomend the place highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chilli.b.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2008

A really lovely guesthouse. We stayed here for a friends wedding and on the middle night booked out the entire guesthouse - which was lovely for breakfast.

Highlights - very comfortable, nicely decorated room. I saw all the rooms in the guesthouse and they are all very pleasant. The twin room I shared was particularly stylish with its modern green accents. Our shower was small but very clean.

Second highlight - breakfast!! Very tasty, great waffles, option of eggs benedict, very well good Cumbrian breakfast.

Third highlight - great owners. Ken and Cindy were always helpful, knowledgeable and on hand. They remembered our preferences for breakfast after just one day - something you normally find only in the best 5* hotels.

Very highly recommended.

  • Liked — Really helpful, friendly owners
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conferenceprofessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

I spent 3 nights here in June. Set in a quiet area with easy walking access to Windermere and Bowness on Windermere, Denehurst is wonderful.
Ken & Cindy are very friendly and welcoming hosts who make you feel at home straight away. On the way I stopped at the tourist centre, but needn't have bothered, as you can pick up a wealth of tips and information from Ken on how to spend your time here.
The room I stayed in was very comfortable with ensuite shower and a generous hospitality tray.
The cooked breakfasts are fabulous and filling, with a choice of juices and cereals on the side table.
After a day out you can come back and borrow a video or DVD to watch in the room.
Denehurst is ideal to use as a base for a break and is reccommended.

  • Liked — Great hosts; comfortable; Easy access to surrounding area
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Eleventh_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

We loved our stay at the Denehurst. Out of all the hotels/B&Bs we stayed at during our stay, the Denehurst was the best by far. A summary:
Pros:
The hosts were charming, accommodating, friendly, informative, personable, helpful, went out of their way to make our stay perfect. Ken even helped us bring our luggage from the train station to our bedsides and back again. Offered great walk and restaurant ideas. Ken even got us dinner reservations.
Breakfast: Great selection ranging from cold choices to waffles, eggs with salmon, eggs benedict. Wow!
Elegantly appointed rooms with beautiful decoration, water bottles, and hot chocolate!
Bathrooms: good size, included robes, consistent water temperature and pressure. No climbing into or falling out of showers.
Location: right in between Windermere and Bowness, but a bit of a walk to each one. However, the walk was gorgeous. Also, on a quiet residential street-- the nights were quiet and still. Wonderful!
Spacious dining room
DVD/Video selection
Comfortable beds
Beautiful front patio
Stored us and our luggage for a few hours after checkout while we waited for our train time.

Cons:
..... can't think of a single one.

Punchline: STAY HERE! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank abenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2008

We have returned from a recent trip to Windermere and the lakes and a stay at the wonderful Denehurst Guest House. Ken and Cindy are absolutely the finest hosts that you could wish for. It was my wife's Birthday, and with a bit of forward planning (at VERY late notice by me), they came up trumps with flowers, a booked restaurant and even a card at breakfast, a lovely touch. Their restaurant recommendations shouldn't be ignored, they know what they are talking about.

They helped us with a walking route in the hills (the cake stop walk, must not be missed!) and even acted as a Taxi service into Windermere one Rainy evening (thanks Ken!), all in all, they made the experience of our short stay very homely and enjoyable.They offered so many pointers and suggestions for our stay and really helped us to get the most out of our stay.

The morning Cumbrian Breakfast is simply EPIC, but make sure you work up an appetite with a decent walk each day! The room we had was a superior double:- very clean, very comfortable and well appointed, just what we needed and more, great en suite!

All in all the Denehurst Guest House was brilliant, a home away from home, and made for a relaxing and welcome retreat for our break away to the lakes. Ken and Cindy are superstars;hosts without equal in our opinion. Book here, avoid disappointment!!

  • Liked — Clean with a convenient location-fabullous hosts
  • Disliked — not one thing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cydonian74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

Staying at Denehurst feels like coming home. We are always guaranteed a warm welcome, exceptional service and comfortable surroundings. Ken and Cindy are truly gifted hoteliers providing just the right amount of attention and space. All their recommendations for walks, cafes and restaurants have become firm favourites of ours. Nothing is too much trouble for them. They truly make you feel like part of the family. The organic porridge is exceptional! Ken and Cindy are two of the nicest people you will ever meet!

  • Liked — Friendliness of the hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dasutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#5 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#8 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denehurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denehurst Guest House

Property: Denehurst Guest House
Address: 40 Queens Drive, Windermere LA23 2EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Denehurst Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denehurst Guest House in Windermere is an Award Winning bed and breakfast. A typical Victorian Lakeland property offering all the home comforts in bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in a quiet residential area well within walking distance of Lake Windermere and local shops as well as several excellent restaurants. We are pleased to offer excellent hospitality and hope our guests will enjoy the comfort and the attention we have given to detail. Priding ourselves on our hospitality as well as an excellent breakfast menu, we have created the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. We have won a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 6 years running gaining us an entry in their HALL OF FAME. We also have been awarded a Breakfast Award from Visit Britain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Denehurst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denehurst Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing