We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased we found this- owners were extremely friendly. Some nice touches.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Denehurst Guest House
Ranked #22 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pleased we found this- owners were extremely friendly. Some nice touches.”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by Ken who was very accommodating and considerate. It was a really nice touch to receive the offer of tea/coffee with biscuits- never had this before. In the dining room there was a really useful book of places to eat in the area; even though the place we chose actually ended up being quite unimpressive that is not the fault of the B&B! It was really clean, immaculately so. We slept really well and the breakfasts were fine. The location is excellent- away from a noisy main road and close enough to walk to the lake and towns! Overall very pleased and will certainly go back- I can see why the reviews are all so excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
202
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife and i stayed here for 2 nights midweek.It was lovely and clean, and the beds were very comfy. Ken and Cindy are a great couple. Ken being very helpful with lots of local knowledge and information on places to see and go. The breakfast was great and with plenty of choice. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights.
Lovely and clean, and the beds are so comfy.
Ken and Cindy are a lovely couple. Ken was very helpful with planning our route to look around the lakes. Had a lot of local knowledge, which takes you off the beaten track to some beautiful views.
The breakfast was lovely.
Cannot fault this place at all. Highly recommend a visit.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just returned home after a 3 night stay....very clean & comfortable room....excellent breakfast...Ken & Cindy are the perfect hosts....I'm sure they are able to satisfy all guests requirements. Spacious lounge room...plenty of information available re sights/walks/restaurants.
Equidistant from Bowness & Windermere towns....the former is where the Lake & activities are...either are about a 15 minute walk away. Ken kindly booked our 3 evening venue choices prior to our arrival...Jackson's Bistro...Villa Positano...Shahibs.....see my reviews.
All in all an enjoyable stay...will stay again...when we know it will stop raining...we had non-stop rain for 3 days.
Certainly Denehurst deserves the praise given by other guests

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swfc2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We have just got back from our second time at Denehurst guest house.We will defo be back again in the near future.very cosy with tv/DVD player in the room, greAt breakfast and lovely hosts, can't fault a thing about our stay. Windermere is a lovely town very close to the guest house.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank suzanneh497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here only for one night with my girlfriend. Lovely hotel in a great location, On arrival Ken couldn't of been any more friendly an since it's are first visit to the lakes his knowledge and advice on the area was much appreciated, he told us all about places to eat, walk, visit and how far away each place was from the hotel etc. The room itself was very nice and clean and we didn't hear a thing all night. The only slight gripe I would have was the size of the breakfast which was very nice but on the small side (1 sausage 1 bacon, a couple of potato things and about 2 spoonfuls of baked beans) I know there is a lot of other things to have like fresh fruit and cereal etc. but I don't think a big fry up is to much to ask for when you pretty good money just for breakfast and to sleep. All in all though lovely hotel would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Philevo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denehurst, Owner at Denehurst Guest House, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi and thank you so much for a lovely review, we never take these for granted and it does help with our business.
Sorry and surprised to hear that you were disappointed with the breakfast. As you are aware, we do like people to pre order their breakfast and if you had wanted extra sausage or anything else we would be more than happy to oblige .... something we encourage in fact. We do have a Breakfast Award which we are very proud of and work hard to retain. Our Cumbrian breakfast is very popular and for reference does come with two rashers of bacon not one as you have mentioned.
So next time please just ask us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

3rd time in this area in 7 Months Mrs H and I have kindo adopted the place as our escape when we need to chill, recharge and just enjoy each others company. Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere are very well served if you want to enjoy nice meals and is also ideally positioned to explore further, We found Denehurst (and therefore Ken and Cindy) via Tripadvisor. I was researching another place that had arrived in my inbox courtesy of a "deal" site. I am very glad I rang the Denehurst. First Cindy who was charming on the phone and booked us into the 4 Poster room (room 3) Then Ken when I rang to see if I could add another night. First things first. Genuinely lovely people for whom looking after their guests seemed to be a thing they loved doing. A lovely, warm, and welcoming home in which they welcome strangers and make them feel relaxed and "at home". The thing that set this apart for me was the devotion to helping us to get the most out of our stay. They pointed us in so many good directions, hidden treasures and must see places that it elevated our visit to a really high place. They also have a very good grasp of the restaurants also and are happy to help secure bookings. Breakfast? Nice choices ( i went through the Menu, Mrs H Resolutely wolfed down 3 Cumberland Breakfasts! They where all of a very high standard with great produce and really well cooked. Location? of the main road ( better for that ) and almost smack bang in the middle of the Lakeside Bowness and the higher up Windermere. Quiet, restful, and a brilliant place to use as a base. We like to try different places but we will definitely be back.. And definitely when Bluebird is back on the water.. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#26 of 108 in Windermere
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#29 of 108 in Windermere
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 108 in Windermere
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#10 of 108 in Windermere
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jerichos Guest House
Jerichos Guest House
#11 of 108 in Windermere
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#23 of 108 in Windermere
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denehurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denehurst Guest House

Property: Denehurst Guest House
Address: 40 Queens Drive, Windermere LA23 2EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Denehurst Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denehurst Guest House in Windermere is an Award Winning bed and breakfast. A typical Victorian Lakeland property offering all the home comforts in bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in a quiet residential area well within walking distance of Lake Windermere and local shops as well as several excellent restaurants. We are pleased to offer excellent hospitality and hope our guests will enjoy the comfort and the attention we have given to detail. Priding ourselves on our hospitality as well as an excellent breakfast menu, we have created the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. We have won a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 6 years running gaining us an entry in their HALL OF FAME. We also have been awarded a Breakfast Award from Visit Britain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Denehurst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denehurst Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing