We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Denehurst Guest House
Ranked #31 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Awesome hosts, very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic breakfast with lots to chose from and they made us an excellent packed lunch for the hills!
Great room, great location, great value! Best B&B Ive stayed in would highly recommend and will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz118118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 316 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and was really impressed. On arrival Cindy and Ken were both on hand for a friendly welcome and some advise on local walks and restaurants. The room we had was lovely and done to a high standard. I was really impressed at the level of service and quality given the affordable cost of the room. The b&b is a short walk from Lake Windermere, Bowness and Windermere village so you are in the perfect location. Breakfast was great and you can pick and chose the items you want which is good. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Marley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed at the Denehurst for a weekend break and thoroughly enjoyed it, apart from the flippin' rain! Still had a great time though. The Denehurst is a very friendly place to stay, Cindy and Ken are lovely people who can't do enough for you, they gave us ideas of places to visit and even lent us a map of the area, the B&B is spotlessly clean and the rooms are lovely, very comfortable with everything you need, right down to a cherry blossom shoe polish in the drawer! it does everything it says on the tine and great value for money, the breakfast was lovely too with plenty of choice and everything cooked fresh. Ideally situated for a very short walk into Bowness or Windermere. Very highly recommended and would definitely stay here again in a heart beat. Thank you for a lovely stay with such a warm, genuine, friendly welcome. Lots of little extras like sweets in your room, lovely good quality hand wash and shower gel, tea, coffee AND hot chocolate and biscuits.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have stayed in many B&B's but this has to be the cleanest, comfiest, friendliest one ever. Had a superior room with a comfy kingsize bed & egyptian cotton bedding. Little touches like the bathrobes & Eden products made it feel special. A B&B that actually has mirrors near plug sockets to dry your hair!(can't believe how many forget this important detail). Fabulous breakfast & wish we could have stayed longer to try everything on the menu! 10 minutes walk into Windermere or Bowness. Endless local restaurant's to choose from. Parked on the street & didn't use our car for the few days we were there as everything we wanted was within walking distance including boat cruises from Bowness. Friendly & informative hosts. Well worth the money & would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chezza642013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The description B&B does not do justice to this superb guest house. Our party of 5 family members spent 2 days in Denehurst and was overwhelmed by the warm welcome on our arrival by the owners Cindy and Ken. Our room was of a very high standard of cleanliness. The beds were very comfortable and the room was nice and warm. There was an excellent choice for breakfast, well cooked and presented. Cindy and Ken made us very welcome throughout our short stay and we would highly recommend Denehurst to everybody.
Jeanette and John Warner 7th February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was Marks first experience of The Lake District, so I wanted to booked somewhere special, and it was also Marks Birthday weekend, and Denehurst Guesthouse could not have been more wonderful. On arrival Ken greeted us, and was more than helpful with information on where the Guesthouse was situated, ideally between Windermere and Bowness, the facilities on offer, a wonderful information pack as to where to dine, local walks etc. Our room was wonderful cleanliness exceptional, and a fabulous comfy bed you just sank into.
Five star breakfast awaited us the next morning, freshly cooked to your preference, and Ken and Cindy were expectionall hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended, just brilliant from start to finish.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We've just returned from a short break in Windermere. I booked the B&B over the internet thru a third party website. I looked at the reviews didn't go for the cheap and cheerful, but wanted somewhere that suited our expectations. Unfortunately we've encountered the good, bad and ugly of last minute bookings, where the reviews bare no resemblance to the reality.
So Denehurst, B&B came along, or more importantly Cindy & Ken the owners, we arrived early just after 10am. We parked up, got to use the facilities as required, was given all the information about house, local area etc in a lovely professional way, by people who care about the detail.
The guest house is spotlessly clean, decorated to suit a property 120 years old, the rooms give a sense of relaxation. All the usual accoutrements are available and more, the dressing gowns are super for just kicking back after a great shower after the long walk.
The breakfast is selected the night before and is 5star, cooked to order, fresh and truly magnificent.
It's situated right between Bowness and Windermere 10 minutes either way gets you into the
action.
So to sum up; superb B&B, fantastic hosts, and truly magnificent surroundings.
We have made some new friends and will return very soon but will go direct because for the effort and care given deserves 100% of the rewards.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazza1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#25 of 107 in Windermere
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#24 of 107 in Windermere
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coppice Guest House
The Coppice Guest House
#15 of 107 in Windermere
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St John's Lodge
St John's Lodge
#6 of 107 in Windermere
539 reviews
0 mi away
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 107 in Windermere
689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#26 of 107 in Windermere
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denehurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denehurst Guest House

Address: 40 Queens Drive, Windermere LA23 2EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $110 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denehurst Guest House in Windermere is an Award Winning bed and breakfast. A typical Victorian Lakeland property offering all the home comforts in bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in a quiet residential area well within walking distance of Lake Windermere and local shops as well as several excellent restaurants. We are pleased to offer excellent hospitality and hope our guests will enjoy the comfort and the attention we have given to detail. Priding ourselves on our hospitality as well as an excellent breakfast menu, we have created the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. We have won a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 6 years running gaining us an entry in their HALL OF FAME. We also have been awarded a Breakfast Award from Visit Britain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Denehurst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denehurst Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing