We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sets the standard for other B&Bs, stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Denehurst Guest House
Ranked #20 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sets the standard for other B&Bs, stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for two days as a mini-honeymoon following our wedding in Canada. It was a bit of a last minute decision to come so we hadn't done any research in where to walk or visit but we needn't have worried. The owner, Ken, was incredibly helpful, giving us advice on where to go and then providing us with our own [foolproof] copies of the walks.

The room was immaculate [we stayed in room 3 with the four-poster] and the bathroom spotless and gleaming. The guesthouse is well away from the main road so is very quiet at night, and we both agreed the bed was probably the most comfortable we've ever slept on. Breakfast was excellent - I'm a vegetarian which wasn't a problem at all. Veggie sausage, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, sautéed potatoes, falafel and beans made up the full Cumbrian. When I asked for no beans the next morning as I don't like them, I got an extra falafel! It's the little details that make this into such a stunning B&B. We were also given the window seat [possibly because we were honeymooning?]

Location is ideal, slap bang in-between Windermere and Bowness and about an easy 10 minute walk from each.

We did the cake walk on the first day, which was great, but the highlight of our visit was the walk to the Windmill Inn, probably the best pub I've ever been to. It has it's own brewery and excellent home cooked food.

Thanks again to Ken and Cindy for making our honeymoon so special, we'll only ever stay in one place when we visit the lake district :)

Room Tip: Room 3 with the four-poster was lovely but I'm sure all of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bananamanontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
200
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Denehurst with 2 other couples we where travelling with, we all loved the location as it was in the middle between Windermere and Bowness. Ken and Cindy where great hosts with Ken's travel tips for the surrounding area and Cindy's well cooked breakfasts made our stay that little more enjoyable. The rooms where very clean and well presented. We will all go back to Denehurst when we travel to England again.Wonderful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Denehurst for three nights and had a wonderful, relaxing time. Ken and Cindy were so helpful in deciding where to walk, eat and drive to and have a great knowledge of the area. 10 mins (slow) walk from Windermere and Bowness, we were spoiled for choice of entertainment. Oh, and the breakfasts really are great! Thank you :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just returned from a weeks walking in the Lakes staying at Denehurst for the first time (but not the last). Ignore the 3 'Average' reviews, 140 or more people can't all be wrong! It isn't just the spotlessly clean rooms that make this place special, or the good location, or great customer service, or fabulous breakfasts (and extensive choice) but the attention to detail which so many other good BnB's often lack. Even down to Ken recommending a local garage to get my son's brakes fixed while we were there! If you choose Denehurst relax.........you've found the right place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-tyne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I arrived for a one night stay. we arrived a little later than anticipated but Ken and Cindy couldnt have been nicer or more helpful. Its set right in the middle of bowness and windermere and we were pointed in the right direction by Ken. we were offered tea on arrival but we just wanted to get going so were shown to our gorgeous room and off we went.
We were wondering where to eat on the evening and Ken gave us his honest opinion of the places we chose, he even booked a table at the restaurant of our choice, left a note in our room confirming it for us, this meant we had no hassle in the evening. Nothing was to much hassle for this lovely couple, they made us feel comfortable and right at home. the bed was so comfortable i had the best night sleep that i've had in ages. Would recommend this place with no hesitation. Cant wait for our next visit as there's no question where we'd stay. thanx Ken and Cindy. OOhh breakfast was scrummy too

Room Tip: All rooms where beautifully presented and absolutely immaculate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

we have just got back from a 3 night stay at Denehurst b&b,It was a very nice and cosy room we was in room 6, Ken and Cindy was very welcoming and helpful,the breakfast was amazing every morning and we loved the dvd collection,what a good idea...we will be back next year for another visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanneh497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at this B&B for 3 nights and I must say we will definitely be going back in the future. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival and our room was lovely. As this was our first visit to the Lakes, Ken was especially helpful in advising us on the best places to visit and also gave us plenty of ideas for walks to go on. Denehurst is perfectly situated between Bowness & Windermere, both being just 10min walks away. The breakfasts were excellent and service from Ken & Cindy was first class. We are already looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#5 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#8 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denehurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denehurst Guest House

Property: Denehurst Guest House
Address: 40 Queens Drive, Windermere LA23 2EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Denehurst Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denehurst Guest House in Windermere is an Award Winning bed and breakfast. A typical Victorian Lakeland property offering all the home comforts in bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in a quiet residential area well within walking distance of Lake Windermere and local shops as well as several excellent restaurants. We are pleased to offer excellent hospitality and hope our guests will enjoy the comfort and the attention we have given to detail. Priding ourselves on our hospitality as well as an excellent breakfast menu, we have created the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. We have won a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 6 years running gaining us an entry in their HALL OF FAME. We also have been awarded a Breakfast Award from Visit Britain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Denehurst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denehurst Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing