We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Denehurst Guest House
Ranked #28 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Me and my boyfriend recently stayed here after seeing all the fantastic reviews and we can certainly see why it is so highly recommended. We were greeted on arrival by Ken who is so friendly and welcoming. He showed us to our room which was lovely and spotless. Both Ken and Cindy are great hosts and are so knowledgeable about the area, they have lots of details on the best walks to do with print outs of the routes to take with you (so glad that they told us about the cake shop walk it was amazing!) and they even have a book full of the best restaurants in the area including menus - we had some great meals during our stay all of which were recommended by Ken and Cindy. The breakfasts were fantastic, and definitely reason alone to come back :) we couldn't recommend this place enough - if only all places had such lovely and hospitable hosts like Ken and Cindy! Can't wait to return.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Hulltigers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 316 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

My first visit to the Lakes and to Denehurst has quashed my fear of B&Bs forever! Wonderfully warm welcome. Room was beautifully decorated and equipped with lots of little touches to make it feel very special. Only 10mins walk away from Windermere town with a brilliant selection of restaurants and the lake is just a 15min walk. Best thing though was definitely the breakfast - yum yum! Highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staceofspades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our first visit too the Lakes and Denehurst.What a fantastic couple Ken and Cindy are ,you arrive as strangers but leave as friends.First class breakfast in the morning, unlimited knowlege from Ken about the area,many thanks for the Cake walk Ken !! The location is perfect the rooms are immaculate. Do not think about staying any where else .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redevil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary, it was wonderful. The rooms are immaculate and have every thing to make your stay comfortable. Ken and Cindy are excellent hosts and will do anything they can make your stay enjoyable from advising on days out to booking restaurants. Also the breakfasts are delicious with plenty to choose from one, we will definitely stay here again when we come to the Lakes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I have recently stayed at the Denehurst Guesthouse for a weekend away in June. Upon arriving at the guesthouse, Ken was very inviting and gave us everything we needed to know for a happy stay. He was very helpful and helped us get our bearings.
The location of the guesthouse is perfect as it is right in the middle of both Windermere and Bowness, both within walking distance.
Breakfast each morning cooked by Cindy was spectacular and nicely presented.
I was most impressed with the cleanliness of the guesthouse. The bathroom was superb and the room made up each morning with towels changed, if required.
I definitely recommend this guesthouse to anybody and will be returning in the near future.
A massive thankyou to Ken and Cindy for everything they did for us over the weekend

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sezz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

my fiance and i stayed here with my parents in march 2013 and we said we return....we did and stayed here before our wedding! my parents, adams parents and sister, my maid of honour, her boyfriend and parents 'took over' the denehurst for one night only. seeing cindy and ken was like seeing family again! i was even able to leave in my wedding dress in a room as we arrived before our room was ready! yet again an amazing stay and everyone loved their rooms! breakfast was beautiful and they even made a cup of tea for a friend who arrived in the lakes before she could check in to her b&b! beautiful people in a beautiful house in a beautiful place! will definately see you again soon x x x

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Fantastic stay, warm welcome. House is immaculate top to bottom, Ken & Cindy very helpful and nothing is a bother. A great book has been put together detailing restaurants and walks which was a bonus!! Will be back. Stu & Paula, Co.Durham.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#7 of 107 in Windermere
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 107 in Windermere
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#20 of 107 in Windermere
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#31 of 107 in Windermere
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#11 of 107 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denehurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denehurst Guest House

Address: 40 Queens Drive, Windermere LA23 2EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $108 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Denehurst Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denehurst Guest House in Windermere is an Award Winning bed and breakfast. A typical Victorian Lakeland property offering all the home comforts in bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in a quiet residential area well within walking distance of Lake Windermere and local shops as well as several excellent restaurants. We are pleased to offer excellent hospitality and hope our guests will enjoy the comfort and the attention we have given to detail. Priding ourselves on our hospitality as well as an excellent breakfast menu, we have created the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. We have won a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 6 years running gaining us an entry in their HALL OF FAME. We also have been awarded a Breakfast Award from Visit Britain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Denehurst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denehurst Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing