We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!! Great place, great people!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Denehurst Guest House
Ranked #29 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just returned home after a 2 night stay at Denehurst and I can honestly say that we have had a wonderful time. Ken and Cindy could not have made us feel any more welcome, from the offer of tea and coffee on arrival to the reccomendations for things to do and places to eat, nothing was too much trouble for them.

Our room was very clean and comfortable and there were lots of little extras such as bottled water, sweets, wine glasses, corkscrew, bathrobes and toiletries which you wouldnt normally get in other B&B's.

The breakfast was great, plenty of choice, good quality, quantity and freshly made. The freshly made coffee was a welcome change to the usual instant that is served in other establishments.

We will definatley look to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kealey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 315 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

A big thank you to Ken and Cindy for yet another great weekend at Denehurst. The warm welcome means a lot it's like home from home. Ken booked us a table at a local restaurant for my birthday and I can say it was one of the best meals I have ever had . The rooms are lovely and comfortable and every thing you need is there for you,and Ken and Cindy are great hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anforal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Just returned from a fab weekend at the Denehurst, Ken & Cindy are great hosts an make u feel at home from the minute you arrive, Our room was lovely lots of little extras to make your stay comfortable.Will definitely be returning in the new year .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deni4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just got back from a great weekend break.Ken and Cindy are fabulous hosts,excellent breakfast and very knowledgable about the area.Ken gave us some information for 2 full days out and they were excellent. We will be going back for sure

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank darren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The owners of Denehurst, Ken & Cindy make Denehurst a really lovely place to stay. Both are warm and friendly people, with a wealth of local knowledge about the area, how to get about, what to do and what's not worth doing. From the start of our short stay, they were fantastic.
Denehurst is quaint and traditional, as guesthouses should be. It's in a really good location - walking distance from both Bowness and Windemere, so leave your car behind, as we did, and explore the area by public transport (ask Ken and Cindy for details of how to get about...)The rooms are neat and tidy and have all the facilities you will need and the breakfast is excellent
From a value for money angle, you won't find much to better this guesthouse
However, above all, what makes it a great place to stay are the owners - lovely people! Thank you for looking after us!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpTheShakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a most wonderful stay at Denehurst Guest House, our room was so lovely, spacious and beautifully decorated; more like a boutique hotel that a B&B - definitely not lilke the B&B's I remember staying in as a child on holidays. Ken & Cindy were both really warm and welcoming, offering lots of helpful advice without being overly familiar - the tea and biscuits on arrival were fab too! Your full cooked breakfasts were amazing and we're still missing them now!

Thank you for a wonderful stay, Claire & Paul.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at Denehurst for a couple of midweek nights during an impromptu stay in the Lake District. The room was extremely comfortable with kingsize bed and plenty of storage space and an adequate ensuite shower and sink. The welcome from the hosts was extremely warm and there was a wealth of information and advice should you need it. Above all else, the breakfast was excellent, an mportant consideration for those intending to spend a day tramping round the Fells. My personal favorite was the salmon and scrambled egg but the Cumbrian full breakfast was also first rate. In an area positively overrun with places to stay, it is hard for any one to stand out from the crowd, but having stayed at at many B&Bs of varying standards, I can say that Denehurst is right up there with the best.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clanger62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#24 of 107 in Windermere
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beckmead Guest House
Beckmead Guest House
#37 of 107 in Windermere
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#25 of 107 in Windermere
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,440 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#66 of 107 in Windermere
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denehurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denehurst Guest House

Address: 40 Queens Drive, Windermere LA23 2EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $106 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Denehurst Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denehurst Guest House in Windermere is an Award Winning bed and breakfast. A typical Victorian Lakeland property offering all the home comforts in bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in a quiet residential area well within walking distance of Lake Windermere and local shops as well as several excellent restaurants. We are pleased to offer excellent hospitality and hope our guests will enjoy the comfort and the attention we have given to detail. Priding ourselves on our hospitality as well as an excellent breakfast menu, we have created the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. We have won a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 6 years running gaining us an entry in their HALL OF FAME. We also have been awarded a Breakfast Award from Visit Britain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Denehurst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denehurst Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing