We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay - fantastic location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge House Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cambridge House Guest House
Ranked #15 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay - fantastic location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

We had a lovely welcome at Cambridge House. We were lucky to stay in the suite downstairs which gave us ample room with a toddler running around. The breakfast was delicious and Dave and Debbie were very welcoming and helpful. The location is incredible it is literally seconds from all the shops, cafes and restaurants you could hope for as well as a beautiful park with an incredible playground.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHouse_9, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, yesterday
Such a lovely review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    50
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
140
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed at Cambridge House for a week in August. Just come on-line to write a review and was shocked to read what the previous reviewer has written. We stayed in the appartment and found it to be clean,cosy and comfortable, it did not smell of damp, toilets were clean and the badding and the bed it self were all just fine. We had the later sitting for breakfast and received a warm welcome and lovely food, a good start to the day. We would most defirnately wold stay a Cambridge house again and have no hesitation in recommending Cambridge house.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bentley70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHouse_9, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to do the feedback - the previous review you make reference to, was incorrectly added to our property and thankfully removed, but thank you for your supportive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and we had a lovely stay rooms were nice and comfy.
The breakfast you could have as much as you wanted as long as let them know the night before. As soon as we arrived we were given a parking permit as their is a problem with parking in Windermere. We both felt most at home and when we go up to the lakes again we will stop here. P S we stayed at the Ritz 2 weeks before it was something everyone should do but I enjoyed my stay here more.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffsRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHouse_9, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, yesterday
Such a lovely review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

This hotel is in a very central location in Windermere, the proprietors Dave & Debbie are two very pleasant people with an excellent hotel set up.
We stayed for two nights but they were very relaxing and peaceful, it is so nice to be able to waken up in the morning and have the knowledge that you will go down to a wonderful fully cooked breakfast. It set the day up for you in such a nice part of the country.

The room was modern as well as clean, no faults or complaints about this.

A small walk and you will be at the Lake, a variety of restaurants & bars within easy walking distance also.

Over all impression of this hotel was great and I would definitely recommend and will be back in the near future.

Martin & Shona

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHouse_9, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, yesterday
Such a lovely review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

Located in Windermere, just a shortish walk from Bowness and very close to train and bus stations it suited us perfectly.

It was very clean and tidy, the room was spacious enough and certainly cosy, the breakfasts were excellent and Debbie was really friendly and helpful.

The 'rules' mentioned in the some other other reviews are certainly not unreasonable - just no red wine or hot food in the rooms and don't to be too loud - I'd rather these very minor inconveniences than a messy room! The largish DVD collection was a nice addition too!

Would definately recommend it, especially at their v reasonable prices.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueincubus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHouse_9, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, yesterday
Such a lovely review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton & Hove, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

I recommend this lovely guess house to absolutely anyone! It was three of us and we were given 2 double rooms for only 30 pounds per person which were amazing! It is literally just mins away from the train station, and the rooms are welcoming and comfy. Debbie and Dave, the owners of the guess house are really kind and caring for us. When we left my father forgot the charger for his digital camera and Debbie mailed it back to us the very next day! Thank you very very much for the pleasant experience. We wish you good health and fortune in the future. - David Qin.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHouse_9, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, yesterday
Such a lovely review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

Stayed at Cambridge House with my husband and son for a weekend, we found Cambridge House to be friendly, clean and warm.
It had a fantastic location, within easy reach of all of the local attractions and all walks, eg Orrest Head, Helvelyn, Helm Cragg and many others are all within 20 minutes of the guest house.
As my family all have a large appetite, this was fulfilled with the great breakfast we were served up.
My family took the advantage of using the free Leisure facilities that were on offer to us, this was based at Parklands Country Club, this was only about a mile away and provided free parking.
Would definately stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WirralWhitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHouse_9, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, yesterday
Such a lovely review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jerichos Guest House
Jerichos Guest House
#12 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge House Guest House

Property: Cambridge House Guest House
Address: 9 Oak Street, Windermere LA23 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambridge House Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge House is a small family run guest house built in the lakeland style by the Victorians in 1873, a former gentleman's residence with many original features. All rooms are en-suite and decorated with your comfort in mind, rooms feature the latest flat screen TV/DVD with comlimentary satellite channels & free use of DVD library - all rooms have CD/Radio, free WI-FI, alarm, tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, toiletries. Please note that the rate also includes free use of leisure facilities approx 1 mile from the guest house. Please enquire about our 2 bedroom self-catering accommodation in Bowness called Revel Stones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cambridge House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge House Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing