We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for much more!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge House Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cambridge House Guest House
Ranked #15 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for much more!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We received a very warm welcome from the owner when we arrived! It was our first visit and she was very helpful with recommending nice walks, pubs and restaurants to try! B&B itself was in a great location and very reasonably priced! Will definitely look to stay here again if we return to Windermere!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you have taken the time to do the review, it really is very important to us to have feedback. We hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    50
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
140
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I have just spent 2 nights at this b&b, we have been coming for the last 4 years, enjoying our stay more and more each time! Debbie & Dave are very welcoming, the rooms are clean modern and comfortable all en suite. The breakfasts are amazing! You can choose what you want the night before and this is cooked fresh the following morning alongside toast, cereals, yogurts, fruit and juices. Nothing is too much trouble if you have any requests and they are happy to help with any queries you may have. All rooms have a DVD player and there is a wide range of films in the DVD libary which you can help yourself with. Parking permits are available - so free parking is another bonus! It is in a great location - short drive to mountain ranges where we enjoy walking, nice cocktail bar around the corner and plenty of great restaurants to choose from either in Windermere or Bowness. Fantastic rates and we would recommend here to anyone! We look forward to staying with you again - see you next year! :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammy2297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your review - it has been lovely seeing you each year, such a nice couple and it is so nice to see our guests coming back and we pleased that we have so many lovely returning guests. we look forward to seeing you both again next year, have a great 2014 xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I spent three nights at Cambridge Guest House. The location is absolutely perfect if you are taking train. The guest room was comfortable with free WIFI and DVD. The breakfast served with Latte and Cappuccino which surprised me a lot. With Debbie's hospitality, we had a great time in our Christmas vacation. The best we had is that our train left late on the day we left, and Debbie kept us and our luggage in the lovely dinning room for no cost, especially it was quite windy and rainy out there. Come back again? I will say yes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our coffee selection :) we never charge extra for leaving luggage - pleased you enjoyed the facility of waiting in our dining room until you were ready to leave for your train, we never charge for this facility. It was very nice to meet you, you were very friendly and upbeat and its always a pleasure to meet people who are like that :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

It's a comfortable place for friends or couples!
The breakfast here was great! You can enjoy a full traditional british breakfast.
They also offer many DVDs in case you get bored at night!
good location from train staion.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellytigerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay thank you for taking the time to do a review feedback is very important to us. It was very nice to meet you - thank you x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I have just spent 3 nights from the 17th December. As soon as we arrived we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. Debbie and her husband we so friendly and we always felt so welcome. The breakfast was extremely tasty and perfectly cooked. As with many of the other reviews, the scrambled eggs were the best I have ever tasted! Debbie remembered what we drank in the morning.

The weather during our trip was terrible so our previous plans couldn't be carried out but Debbie spent a fair bit of time, each morning, to ensure we knew what we could do in the weather. She even gave us a really lovely walk near some waterfalls that wasn't in the guide books but just gave it to us on a small map.

I would not hesitate to go back to Cambridge house if I was ever back near windermere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the knowledge we have of little tucked away walks came in useful in the wet weather. It was a real pleasure to meet you both, a charming young couple, and we hope to see you again in the future x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed by myself for three nights from 30th November. Debbie was very welcoming and charming from the moment she opened the door! The room was cozy and comfortable with a full size bed. I enjoyed the hearty & tasty full English breakfast every morning, which definitely is one of the perks of staying at such a lovely B&B. Finally, this guesthouse is located in such a prime location, it was so easy to walk to everywhere: the Windermere train station, a whole range of great restaurants, supermarkets, Orrest Head, and the Lake Windermere. I would definitely go back, perhaps with a company next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, and I am pleased I put you at ease on your arrival - we are glad you liked Cambridge House, the location and the service we provide, it really does mean so much to us that people leave with and positive experience and good memories - I look forward to seeing you again xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and myself have just stayed for three nights, at this lovely guest house. The room was on suite, good size kingsize bed, very comfortable!
The food at breakfast was excellent, you could have as much as you wanted. There was everything on the menu you could think of. Nothing was too much trouble for Debbie. Busy area, but it was very peaceful. Would go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackandshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
It was so nice to meet you, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities we provide, have a lovely Christmas & New Year and hopefully we will see you again in the new year.x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jerichos Guest House
Jerichos Guest House
#11 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge House Guest House

Property: Cambridge House Guest House
Address: 9 Oak Street, Windermere LA23 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambridge House Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge House is a small family run guest house built in the lakeland style by the Victorians in 1873, a former gentleman's residence with many original features. All rooms are en-suite and decorated with your comfort in mind, rooms feature the latest flat screen TV/DVD with comlimentary satellite channels & free use of DVD library - all rooms have CD/Radio, free WI-FI, alarm, tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, toiletries. Please note that the rate also includes free use of leisure facilities approx 1 mile from the guest house. Please enquire about our 2 bedroom self-catering accommodation in Bowness called Revel Stones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Cambridge House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge House Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing