We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambridge House Guest House
Ranked #14 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

My Dad and I stayed here for three nights on a recent trip to Windermere for a walking holiday. The room was a great size, clean and well Maintained. Debbie was a great hostess and nothing was too much trouble for her or Dave. When we asked about walks nearby we were provided with a map and recommendations Of Some of the Best and when they found out we needed to be leaving earlier we were also offered an early breakfast. Breakfast was a good size and high quality which set us up brilliantly for the day of activity ahead! Finally, the use of the swimming Pool and Spa was also great to relax aching Muscles after a day walking. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as a great place to stay when visiting the Lakes to anyone and would hope to stay here again. Thanks again Debbie and Dave for a great stay and for being So helpful and friendly while we were there.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review - we always want to make our guests feel welcome, and try our very best to ensure your experience with us is a positive one. It is so nice to know that you left us with good memories of us and the lake district. We hope very much to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Cambridge House Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 282 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay here. Debbie was very helpful and hospitable. Very comfortable room with lovely bed linen and towels. Breakfast choices very good. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a central location for the Lakes.

Room Tip: Room 1 was very large, with a massive double bed. However shower room very tiny. Room was very qui...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - Given that we are town centre location is very quiet here, we have the occasional delivery to the co-op over the road which only tends to be once a day, other than that it is a very quiet spot. I notice in the tips you have said the shower room is tiny - we are sorry you felt that, but it is s standard size shower, toilet and wash basin - the house was built in 1873, when en-suites had not even been thought of, so they have been added on over the years. We have had to work within the sizes of the rooms, they are standard en-suites that afford guests their own private facilities with encroaching too much on the size of the room, which has meant we have had to keep them to practical size, not the same size as your family bathroom at home. Glad you enjoyed your stay :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was our third stay here and once again we enjoyed Debbie and Dave's hospitality, huge local knowledge and their knack of making you feel at home as soon as you arrive. Our room was comfortable, clean and all you could ever need for a couple of days in this stunningly beautiful Lakeland setting.
Parking is never a problem and we were right in the centre of Winderemere, so no problem with finding shops, restaurants, pubs etc.
We had a lovely time and yes, look forward to coming back!
Mike & Rita, John & Kim xxxx

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

It was so nice to see you and lovely family again at Cambridge House, such a lovely laid back family that is a pleasure to have stay with us - we look forward to seeing you all again next year - thank you for taking the time to do the review x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I recently spent a couple nights at the Cambridge House and it was wonderful. We had the downstairs apartment which had lots of room for us to relax in. The breakfast was tasty and the owner Debbie was amazing. Very hospitable, friendly, and willing to help us with anything we needed. A good DVD library and just a clean, comfortable place to stay. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate you taking the time to do the review - thanks again x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Well prepared and very clean rooms (x2). Excellent breakfast with good choice, all freshly cooked. TV broke but Debbie made huge effort and got new Sky box same day and offered small 'gift' as recompense - all much appreciated. Great location. Parking not a problem. Lots of local advice about eating etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J1mJ1mJ1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHouse_9, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017

we always try and fix things asap and we appreciated your understanding - glad you enjoyed the gift x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Here has everything it needs to be a guest house - comfy beds, great breakfast, and a warm welcome most of all. Debbie was very nice and kind, providing us with everything we required and even things we didn't expect. The location is great - 5 min walk from Windermere rail station. Also, DVD library is prepared for the guests. I watched 'Miss Porter' here, which helped me enjoy the trip all the more. Strongly recommend Cambridge House if you are planning on a trip to the Lakes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jiy0ung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHouse_9, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017

Such a lovely review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I and our two mums stayed for three nights at Cambridge House 17th to 20th August 13 and I only wish it could have been longer as it truly felt like a ‘home from home’ with the attention you get from the very warm and welcoming Debbie, lovely accommodation set in the heart of the town, easy access to all that you need, supermarkets, shops, pubs and plentiful Restaurants including Cantonese, Chinese and Italian.
The day starts with a hearty full English breakfast cooked to perfection by Dave and after which you will not need to eat until tea time if you so wish. The facilities include TV/DVD combo, unbelievable comfy beds, Tea/coffee facility in the room, ensuit toilet and shower and a generous rack of DVD's stored on the upstairs landing and a pass for parking in the nearby roads if you have travelled by car. The train station is just a couple of minutes walk away if you plan to travel by rail.
it’s just a 15 minute walk down the main road to Lake Windermere were you can join the hustle and bustle of Bowness. We took a cruise one day and then the next we hired a motor boat for an hour which was a lot more enjoyable than the cruise and worked out just a couple of extra pounds per person. Take a ride on the Road Train for a couple of pounds too as the taped commentary of the ride has some funny bits in it, made me chuckle.
Cambridge House is worthy of five stars in my opinion and I will definitely be going back sometime in the future, the near future I hope. Thanks Debbie and Dave for a very memorable stay. Best wishes, George, Barbara, Dot & Hazel.

Room Tip: We stayed in 5 & 6 which are the closest to the DVD collection
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEORGE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge H, Owner at Cambridge House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was such a pleasure to meet you, a really lovely family. Dave and I work hard to try to ensure our guests have a memorable stay for all the right reasons, and we are so pleased that you were happy and plan to come back again. Thank you again for such a positive review it really does mean a lot to us - :) x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 107 in Windermere
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#10 of 107 in Windermere
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#67 of 107 in Windermere
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#11 of 107 in Windermere
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge House Guest House

Address: 9 Oak Street, Windermere LA23 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $97 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambridge House Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge House is a small family run guest house built in the lakeland style by the Victorians in 1873, a former gentleman's residence with many original features. All rooms are en-suite and decorated with your comfort in mind, rooms feature the latest flat screen TV/DVD free use of DVD library - all rooms have CD/Radio, free WI-FI, alarm, tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, toiletries, some having fridges with a continued upgrade plan in place. Please enquire about Revel Stones our 2 bedroom self-catering accommodation in Bowness on Windermere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cambridge House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge House Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing