We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean , comfy beds and location”
Review of Crompton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crompton House
Ranked #54 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I have been to Crompton house many times and have always enjoyed my stay , apart from a dam good breakfast , They could not me more helpfull

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 276 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

upon our arrival, there was no one in reception, a key was left for us! when our room was made up, the bed wasnt made up neatly the duvet was just thrown over the bed the bins wasnt thrown out the towels wasnt put back on the rails it was still wet and so was the bath mat, when we complained we were chased away and they tried to charge the night we were not staying there without me knowing it! just the most auwful experience,never again! oh and theres no wii fii just the hotel computer you can only use for ten minutes and it doent worl properly

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank frodo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crompton, Owner at Crompton House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2011

Fiirstly when you made your reservation, you had to provide us with 4 different cards before we could take a deposit of £78 for your first nights stay.which had warning bells ringing loudly in our ears.I telephoned you to ask what time you intended to arrive as you were unsure i
explained that if i had to go out i would leave your key, which you thanked me for, so lets tell the truth about events ! Your comments about the room, after finding your rude note on our reception desk that you left seconds after asking for the passes to the country club.I went immediately and checked the room. The bed was made properly, the towels wer hanging up in the bathroom , the only valid complaint that you had was the bin had not been emptied.After explaing to you that the towels are changed every other day as we like to do our bit for the enviroment and the bedding is changed every three days, I did say we would still give you fresh towels daily if you wished.No hotels /guest houses in our price bracket would change beds on a daily basis, this was a unreasonable demand. Yes we do have wifi all you have to do is ask for the code and it would have been given to you.Yes the computer for the guest does work,several guests used it this weekend without problems, again all you had to do was ask! As for fraudulently trying to take payment from your card,that is a exremely offensive untrue statement to make against us. If you check the terms and conditions of your reservation you will find that you owe us £78.After making many unreasonable demands and claiming to be still unhappy with your stay i suggested that if you choose to leave that would be fine as i quite claerly could not keep up with the demands you were making, At no stage were you put out or asked to leave. As i say the only truthful bit about your review is that we forgot to empty the bin in your room!! which i dont think is a major sin. It was quite clear to us that you were looking for a excuse to leave as you couldn't pay for the rest of your stay!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Stayed 3 nights here. We needed ground floor accomm and it was provided in a family type room. Very basic - comfortable enough. No table/chairs to sit on though. Very small bathroom/toilet. Position was handy to Windermere and Bowness, although on a busy street. Breakfast basic. Could we suggest that shoes/sandals are worn whilst serving breakfast? Bare feet - a 'no-no'.....

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank help61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crompton, Manager at Crompton House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2011

You asked for a twin ground floor room and we gave you a family room at no extra charge, this room has a double bed and a single bed? The room is a larger than a standard twin room but not large enough to have settees, dining room table and chairs added unless we take the beds out and this would make sleeping arrangements too difficult, and it would lead to more complaints so thank you for the suggestion but we'll keep the beds in there. As for dress code we are always clean and presentable for our guests i can't see what difference it makes to anyone as to what we wear on our feet, (i must correct you in having bare feet this is wrong, ) it does not stop us from doing our jobs, i could have commented on both of you wearing padded jackets hats and scarves to eat your breakfast in a heated dining room in spring time, but being too polite i didn't, although you did give the other guests a smile and something to talk about? As for the bathroom? it is a newly fitted white en-suite room and the size could not be made larger as this would have taken space from the bedroom which i know guests prefer a larger bedroom than bathroom, incidentally the room could easily have two people in at the same time.
Your comments about the room make over is annoying as this room was totally refurbished last year with modern wallpaper, bed, furnishings and flat screen TV. Our guests request this room on a regular basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Stayed two nights that was booked by our travelling companions. Cleanliness very poor. Black mould on all the inside window frames. Only service in the room was making the bed and refilling coffee satchets. The bathroom was as we left it from the morning with soap dispenser empty and shower mat in same position on the floor. Debris under the bed. Coffee and tea tray with coffee ring stains as we left it from the morning. There was no interest in giving us any information about local buses, was told to go to tourist information. Breakfast OK apart from lumps of ice in the fruit. As we left we were not asked if all was OK with our stay, they are obviously not interested in listening to any any feed back. Stay away from this place, basic cleanliness is not rocket science.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank meh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

My husband and I were celebrating our 15th Anniversary and had a wonderful stay at the Crompton House Hotel. The bed was so comfortable and soft that we almost forgot we were staying at a Hotel!!. Sue and Eddie were pleasant and friendly too.

The only negative thing i would say about our stay would be that every time we washed up in the bathroom basin, we kept on burning our hands because the water was too hot. It certainly needs to be chaged to mixer taps for hot and cold water.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RizSheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We were looking for value for money at a place we needed to simply crash in the night, and have a place that is not too far from the lakes...this was the cheapest I found by inquiring around and we paid £80 for a family room for 3 adults...this included breakfast and was only 5-10 minute walk down the hill to the lovely bowness town. The rooms were basic and small but by no means luxury (not like I expected it to be). The breakfast was nice and im sure a few more smiles in Sue and Eddy would be most welcome. I will definitely recommend this B&B for those who look for a place to chill after enjoying the days most spent out anyway.

Sue / Eddy, May I also recommend considering forwarding calls received to the B&B to your mobile phone as it was quite difficult to get through to you both at the time of trying to follow up the booking and also when I tried to call you to inform you that we will be getting late. we were quite nervous that we'd not be able to get the first night's stay as we could not get through to you on the phone. However, they had very kindly kept the keys in an envelope for us to pick up with a message with instructions.

If anybody is looking for a luxury stay, don't go to crompton house, if you wish for value for money and location, this is it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sherveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night. We arrived late and hence had little contact with the owners (Eddie served us breakfast - we didn't meet Susan) which doesn't particularly bother us but was quite unusual for a B&B. Our only complaint is that we feel the website is a bit misleading. We paid £65 for our stay and expected our room to be modern (as described on the web pages). The rooms look very modern on the website but I have to say ours was very tired and in much need of some redecoration. The bathroom was very shabby - I have never seen a shower as old as that. Incidently, the shower was not clean - the hairs weren't ours! The carpet in the bedroom was stained and very old. We don't mean any disrespect to the owners - I'm sure they're honest enough people but unless the other rooms are very different to the one we stayed in, this is not a modern B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kez040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
350 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
324 reviews
2.7 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crompton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crompton House

Address: Crompton House Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $90 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crompton House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crompton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crompton House Hotel Windermere
Crompton House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing