We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful surprise!”
Review of 1 Park Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1 Park Road
Ranked #36 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ormeau, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We are travelling around UK and this is the best B&B we've stayed at. Philip & Mary are very friendly hosts. On arrival we were given tea and cake in the lounge. I certainly enjoyed chatting about the cricket, hopefully next time we stay Australia will build the Ashes! The rooms are excellent with great views and lots of really nice extras. Breakfast is excellent, I loved the home made fruits and jams. It's very well located and everything is a short walk away.
One final note: my wife accidentally left a pair of boots behind. Philip got in contact and posted them to us at his own expense.

Room Tip: Just let them know what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_McAloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipBurton, Owner at 1 Park Road, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi and thanks for the review

Any opportunity to talk to the Aussies or anyone about cricket or whatever is welcome. (Maybe I won't be as confident by the end of this summer!) You'd be amazed at what people leave -we have an interesting collection including mobile phone charges from people who didn't want them back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    66
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
64
299
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We loved that it was within walking distance from the Windermere rail station, the ferries at Bowness, and several bus stations. This made it easy to get to the many lovely hiking trails in Windermere and Ambleside. If we had more time, we would have easily taken the train, bus or ferry to Grasmere, Stavely, etc etc to check out Wordsworth, Beatrix Potter, and ale brewery attractions. The B&B was both cozy and classy. Everything went well, perfect for a relaxing trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipBurton, Owner at 1 Park Road, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review

We are in easy access to the various lakes and good walking country which can be access by bus, electric bike, Sedgeway or bike- there is a wonderful local bike shop who hire out bikes with all the equipment and routes- or you can hire cars locally including a local scheme organised by Cumbria Tourism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've just returned from a superb three-day autumn break and are gutted to be back home!

Mary and Philip are consummate hosts - ensuring our holiday was relaxing, hassle-free and the epitome of short-break luxury. From picking us up from the train station to serving up a romantic evening meal for two - complete with sumptuous meat and cheese platters and fruit beer - they took care of our every need.

We arrived as two drowned rats due to inclement weather, but were dry within a matter of minutes thanks to our toasty-warm and well-appointed room. With a comfy and large couch, TV, DVD player and tea and coffee-making facilities it easily doubled as a convenient and cosy place to relax and unwind at the end of the evening. The bed is large, comfy and conducive to an excellent night's sleep.

Equally inviting is the guest lounge complete with piano, books, magazines and a mind-ruining puzzle which will keep you endlessly entertained.

Breakfast is beautifully cooked and ample (we didn't eat again until the evening on all three nights) and a great conversation with Mary, Philip and fellow guests is the perfect way to start the day.

Location-wise 1 Park Road couldn't be better. We didn't have a car but found it easy to walk into Windermere or Bowness where you can tap into the public transport network.

There is so much to say about this beautiful and lovingly cared-for property, but of all the great things it offers it is Mary and Philip who are the true stars - hoteliers with a genuine passion for great customer service and great company. We cannot recommend this bed and breakfast more highly and we are already looking forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 1, which is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Writer_Gurl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipBurton, Owner at 1 Park Road, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review

We do love meeting people and cooking. We offer 2 or 3 course dinner on a Friday or Saturday..... but but but- we are into pies. Philip has spent many an evening cooking different savory and sweet pies to offer guests- So we now offer a pie served with frites and a glass or port or one of our beer or glass of wine any evening during the week. Give the reputation of the weather in the Lake District what better after a days walking or whatever to come home and have supper in the warmth of 1 Park Road?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is our 4th visit to the Lake District, but my 1st time staying in Windermere as we usually stay in Bowness, but we felt like a change. 1 park Road stood out to us straight away whilst searching for a place to stay, it looked classy, homely and had excellent reviews, and it definitely lived up to our expectations.

Upon arrival it oozed cosiness and we were warmly greeted by Mary, the owner. After giving us a tour of the Boutique B&B, she ensured we had everything we needed and was extremely friendly.

After we had settled into our room, we vacated to the lounge and exerienced a Raspberry Beer and a juicy, full bodied red wine from their vast menu of drinks from around the world, on which Philip, Mary's good humoured husband, is an expert. He is also an expert on crisps and brought us a little bowl of one of his favourite savoury snacks, which we thougt was a nice touch.

The room was very clean, cosy and comfortable and had everything we needed, from an erray of teas and coffee's, biscuits and Kendal mint cake, and his and hers toweling gowns, which I loved after the power shower!

The breakfast was delicious and fresh, with a great choice of cereals and jams. The portions were very generous and filled you up for the day ahead.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and Philip and Mary could not do enough for me and my boyfriend and made us feel really at home and we are looking into booking valentines weekend there already!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danni1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipBurton, Owner at 1 Park Road, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review

Philip does like his crisps and beers from around the world he could write a book about crisps. Many a couple come for a romantic break or maybe just a week end away from the kids- but they do sometimes still bring the dog! We have now got a Duvet Break with breakfast brought to your room served with Bucks Fizz, newspapers at what ever time you want
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our second trip to the Lakes in the space of a year and we decided to return to 1 Park road as we had such a fantastic stay previously. Got to know Phillip and Mary a lot more this time and have to say they are amazing hosts. Phillip has a great sense of humour and I enjoyed having banter with him about our mutual interests in sports! We had the deluxe suite this time which was lovely and comfy. The breakfast is absolutely fantastic and sets you up for the active day ahead. Mary kindly arranged flowers (as an additional service) on our behalf and ensured they were waiting in the room as a surprise for when we returned from breakfast. We will definitely be back!!

Kieran and Charlene

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipBurton, Owner at 1 Park Road, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review and hope to see you again for your third visit

Breakfast is what one guest called a culinary experience. As well as the full cooked breakfast- all freshly cooked to order- there are a variety of fruit compotes, such as prunes soaked in earl grey tea, vanilla pod and a cinnamon stick or fresh yogurt, fresh rhubarb a fruit salad or warm croissants. The breakfast special go down well such as Eggs Benedict or kedgeree.

We do cater for different dietary requirements such as vegetarian or gluten free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 1 Park Rd. Philip and Mary were very friendly and helpful and made you feel completely at home. Our room was a good size, everything was there that we needed and was very comfortable. The breakfast choice was amazing and we enjoyed the after breakfast chats. Location was ideal, very quiet and not too far from the shops of Windermere. A short drive and we were surrounded by beautiful scenery. An ideal location and B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham-Dell-Hook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

1 Park Road was very comfortable and cosy. The owners Phillip and Mary were very helpful. The rooms were a good size and beautifully decorated and had everything you would ever need. The breakfast choice was amazing and freshly cooked. We would have liked to have had more that 1 night there. It is a 2 minute walk from Windermere, there is large choice of good restaurants there. We ate at the Lighthouse, the meals were delicious. Bowness was a good walk from Park Road, not sure how long it took to get down, it was 30 minutes walk back up, mostly up hill. Not a problem for us in our 50’s, my ‘breathless’ mother-in-law, at 79 made it down, but wouldn’t even consider it back up! Great stay and recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tachikara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#37 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#12 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 Park Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 Park Road

Property: 1 Park Road
Address: 1 Park Road, Windermere LA23 2AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 1 Park Road 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Park Road is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel in the heart of Windermere village. A recently refurbished former gentleman's residence that has a wonderful laid-back feel. 6 Spacious ensuite rooms with comfortable beds- three with king sized beds, flat screened TV's, DVD and Ipod docking stations. All rooms have The White Company soaps and bath robes and lotions from Pure Company. There is proper fresh coffee, tea pots and fresh milk- very important. We are fully licensed with an interesting selection of wines and bottled beers from around the world. We offer freshly cooked dinners at week ends and either cold meat or cheese platters the rest of the week- subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your 1 Park Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Park Road Hotel Windermere
1 Park Road Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing