We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Competent all round but excelled in nothing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Competent all round but excelled in nothing.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, the Glenburn will satisfy you if not blow you away. Breakfast is fine, though to describe the standard full English as "Hearty" was an exaggeration of biblical proportions. Decor throughout ok, our bathroom (Rm17) tiny but clean - metal "sleeve" around shower hose completely fallen away to reveal grotty old plastic tubing underneath. Plenty of hot water though. Never saw the owners, hotel staffed by pleasant young Eastern Europeans, all in all, adequate to good though never going to set the world on fire. Which pretty much sums up the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyhailsfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for this review .. My staff remember the guests very well especially at 2 in the morning ..4 rooms booked i believe. Unfortunately i was away on business. The Glenburn does not tolerate guests who have no consideration for other guests. We are a well respected hotel with very satisfied customers which is why we have 89% on trip advisor and ...we don't really want to set the world on fire. The hose in the shower is fine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    193
    38
    14
    16
See reviews for
94
355
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

On arriving at the Glenburn it offered a welcoming approach, we were directed through a small archway to a rear car park, built around existing rocks. The hotel was very clean, light and airy and the staff member who welcomed us and checked us in (Justina) was lovely, she showed us the facilities, lounge, dining and then took us to our room personally. The room was delightful, a four poster with full sized ensuite bathroom and shower; again very clean and very comfortable, plenty of room to move about. The lounge and bar area had plenty of seating which was considerate to everyone having a range of different styles. On our first arrival I was slightly concerned about traffic noise as we were on a main road, however once inside the hotel was quiet. We dined in the hotel both nights of our stay and the food was tasty and well cooked. The menu was the same both nights but there was plenty of choice and reasonably priced for a hotel in June. The bar was also priced in accordance with a popular holiday area, but you we choose to stay in the hotel rather than go walking to alternative bars (there was a CIU club up the road. Breakfast was also very good, lots of choice with fruit, cereals, yogurts, cooked foods and drinks, all prepared freshly.

Altogether we had a very pleasant and comfortable stay, the three staff members who looked after us were all polish and couldnt have offered more help if the tried, they were very interesting and had learned the local area advising us of where we were and what was round about, I would recommend the Glenburn Hotel to others, if you have mobility problems I am not sure if the hotel has facilities on a ground floor, we had to go up some stairs to our room, but we werent particularly looking.

There was also the use of a Leisure Club at another hotel but we never checked this out.

We loved the peace and quiet, freshly prepared foods and friendly service a this hotel.

Room Tip: The only thing I noticed was that the stairs were quite steep so people with mobility problems ask b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate it very much and i will pass your comments to the staff. Future guests reading your comments will have a good view of what to expect. We all work very hard to keep standards high at the Glenburn and it is good to hear such great comments. Hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Glenburn Hotel in Windermere was certainly a very good find on the internet. The staff running the hotel in the absence of the proprietors were very friendly, courteous, extremely helpful and impressively efficient. Our compliments to the Chef whose delightful and mouth watering meals were hard to resist. The service and presentatiion of meals was excellent and there was plenty of it too! Service, with a capital 'S' - they certainly made customers feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Attic room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We made a last minute decision to go to Windermere for a short break and couldn't really have picked a better hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They couldn't do enough quite frankly as we made last minute dinner reservations at the hotel, extended our stay twice and asked for apple juice in addition to orange every morning. Every request was treated with a helpful smile. The room was comfortable, breakfast beautifully cooked and the two meals we had reasonably priced and tasty. My husband said the best steak pie he had ever had. Road noise at the front of the hotel could potentially be a problem if you were a light sleeper and needed the window open, but the location is very useful being 10 minutes down the road from Windermere and about 15 minutes up the road from Bowness. This means the car can stay safely ensconced in the hotel's free car park. Wi-Fi appeared difficult as I couldn't get it at all on my laptop but again the lady on reception offered me the option of using her computer if needed. To be honest it was nice to get away from the world of technology for a few days and just enjoy the wonderful scenery, good food and wine and luckily for us - the good weather. We will be back and will have no hesitation in staying here again. Thank you very much for a relaxing and welcoming stay. 10/10 for hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent place to stay and certainly worth more than it's a current 2 star rating. Double Room at the front of the hotel all well sound proofed and very comfortable indeed. Evening meal was excellent and the breakfast was exactly what you would expect in a nice country hotel. This is well worth a visit if the Lakes are your holiday or business destination.

Room Tip: Ask for a choice of rooms and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for this review. Unfortunately stars and ratings are a sore point with The Glenburn. Criteria has changed over the last couple of years and 2* is the highest rating we can achieve as a "small hotel" which is probably the equivalent to a 4* guest house. Hopefully one day they will relax the rules along with the do's and dont's and we will get the rating we deserve. The moral of the story is don't judge a book by its cover it's whats inside that counts. Thank you for bringing this to the attention of other visitors who read reviews before booking. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Although we weren't staying at the hotel (we were next door in a B & B) we ate there on 2 consecutive nights the food and the service were excellent and very reasonably priced, the warm friendly atmosphere along with the superb food means we will definitely be back - thoroughly recommend the homemade sticky toffee pudding its the best I've ever tasted thank you for a truly delicious meal

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We have many guests from other hotels dining with us now and we are very gratefull. It is quite a long walk for many to the nearest restaurants and the Glenburn is a great midway stop and yes we do make the best sticky toffee pud ... my own special recipe which is delicious.. thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

For the first time for many years, I decided to take a break away on my own. Having not long retired, this was quite a step to take! However, I should not have worried. The hotel room ( a double) was very clean and beautifully decorated, the en-suite modern and clean. Jackie, the owner, is very friendly, as are Martha and Justine. In fact they could not have been more helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble, making me feel very welcome. The breakfasts were excellent as were the evening meals. A lovely lounge to relax in after dinner completed the evening. I would highly recommend The Glenburn and hope to make a return visit in the Autumn. Thanks to you all!

Jane E

Room Tip: Very useful to be able to take a 360 degree tour of each bedroom on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have the you stay at the Glenburn. We have lots of single guests and we realise that sometimes sitting alone in a restaurant is difficult for some so we do our best to make it a relaxed visit. I will pass your comments to the girls. Look forward to seeing you again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing