We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Glenburn Hotel in Windermere was certainly a very good find on the internet. The staff running the hotel in the absence of the proprietors were very friendly, courteous, extremely helpful and impressively efficient. Our compliments to the Chef whose delightful and mouth watering meals were hard to resist. The service and presentatiion of meals was excellent and there was plenty of it too! Service, with a capital 'S' - they certainly made customers feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Attic room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 587 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We made a last minute decision to go to Windermere for a short break and couldn't really have picked a better hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They couldn't do enough quite frankly as we made last minute dinner reservations at the hotel, extended our stay twice and asked for apple juice in addition to orange every morning. Every request was treated with a helpful smile. The room was comfortable, breakfast beautifully cooked and the two meals we had reasonably priced and tasty. My husband said the best steak pie he had ever had. Road noise at the front of the hotel could potentially be a problem if you were a light sleeper and needed the window open, but the location is very useful being 10 minutes down the road from Windermere and about 15 minutes up the road from Bowness. This means the car can stay safely ensconced in the hotel's free car park. Wi-Fi appeared difficult as I couldn't get it at all on my laptop but again the lady on reception offered me the option of using her computer if needed. To be honest it was nice to get away from the world of technology for a few days and just enjoy the wonderful scenery, good food and wine and luckily for us - the good weather. We will be back and will have no hesitation in staying here again. Thank you very much for a relaxing and welcoming stay. 10/10 for hospitality!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent place to stay and certainly worth more than it's a current 2 star rating. Double Room at the front of the hotel all well sound proofed and very comfortable indeed. Evening meal was excellent and the breakfast was exactly what you would expect in a nice country hotel. This is well worth a visit if the Lakes are your holiday or business destination.

Room Tip: Ask for a choice of rooms and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for this review. Unfortunately stars and ratings are a sore point with The Glenburn. Criteria has changed over the last couple of years and 2* is the highest rating we can achieve as a "small hotel" which is probably the equivalent to a 4* guest house. Hopefully one day they will relax the rules along with the do's and dont's and we will get the rating we deserve. The moral of the story is don't judge a book by its cover it's whats inside that counts. Thank you for bringing this to the attention of other visitors who read reviews before booking. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Although we weren't staying at the hotel (we were next door in a B & B) we ate there on 2 consecutive nights the food and the service were excellent and very reasonably priced, the warm friendly atmosphere along with the superb food means we will definitely be back - thoroughly recommend the homemade sticky toffee pudding its the best I've ever tasted thank you for a truly delicious meal

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We have many guests from other hotels dining with us now and we are very gratefull. It is quite a long walk for many to the nearest restaurants and the Glenburn is a great midway stop and yes we do make the best sticky toffee pud ... my own special recipe which is delicious.. thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

For the first time for many years, I decided to take a break away on my own. Having not long retired, this was quite a step to take! However, I should not have worried. The hotel room ( a double) was very clean and beautifully decorated, the en-suite modern and clean. Jackie, the owner, is very friendly, as are Martha and Justine. In fact they could not have been more helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble, making me feel very welcome. The breakfasts were excellent as were the evening meals. A lovely lounge to relax in after dinner completed the evening. I would highly recommend The Glenburn and hope to make a return visit in the Autumn. Thanks to you all!

Jane E

Room Tip: Very useful to be able to take a 360 degree tour of each bedroom on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have the you stay at the Glenburn. We have lots of single guests and we realise that sometimes sitting alone in a restaurant is difficult for some so we do our best to make it a relaxed visit. I will pass your comments to the girls. Look forward to seeing you again. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the Glenburn Hotel for four nights in May - chosen after reading the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and having a central location between Windermere and Bowness. I also liked the idea of the hotel having its own restaurant just in case the weather was not great!

I'd booked a small standard double room via Booking.com and on arrival we were actually offered room 11 on the second/top floor which was slightly larger than the original room we were going to be allocated.

We were provided with a map of the area of Windermere and Bowness (which was really useful) and we were given some ideas of places to drink and where to go during our stay.

We had booked into the restaurant for the evening of our arrival. We were given the menu so we could chose our meals - all food is freshly cooked so they like to have menu options in advance (usually by 1730).

The room itself was fine, clean and of a decent size for two people. But like the rest of the hotel, there seemed to be a lack of attention to detail...

On closer inspection of the room, the window was difficult to close properly... the TV had poor reception at times and when we complained to Reception they were aware of the problem and fixed it straight away... the bathroom door didn't close properly... the complimentary shower gel wasn't replaced daily although the empty bottles were removed... the carpet was a bit grubby and wasn't vacuumed... grouting was missing from the tiles in the bathroom... there was some mold in the corner of the shower... water pressure was a bit erratic... the light switch for the en suite was cracked... all little things but things that would really improve the quality of the room and are easy to rectify.

Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of cereals, fruit and yogurt. Toast, tea and coffee is provided on request and orange juice is provided on the table. The cooked breakfast is made to order and is just right. The service at breakfast was great - the waitress was friendly and efficient and made sure we had everything we needed.

The Glenburn is in a very good location - it's in between Windermere and Bowness on the main road and each town can be reached in about 10/15 minutes on foot.

We didn't use the bar or lounge area on the ground floor but did have a good look around as the hotel was quite quiet for the majority of our stay - a bit more attention to detail would really improve the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littleferrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Good news .. All the TV's are being replaced with 26" & 32" Digital TV's this coming week so any hazy pictures should disappear. Utd Utilities were working on the street during your visit so this could answer the erratic water pressure in shower ..beyond our control, i am sorry... the B & B next door had the same problem. The toiletries are complimentary in all rooms but we have extra supplies at reception free of charge. The light switch will be replaced imediately if it is cracked. Bathrooms are to be refurbished in the winter but my staff are very concsious of any mold which may appear and hoover rooms each day. The window is a new double glazed one so there should be no problems with it but we will check this.
Thank you for all the good points. I hope the small things did not spoil your stay too much and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just come back from a trip to the lakes for the weekend , we didn't actually stay at the Glenburn but we were looking for a place to eat . We were very happy with our meals and the staff were very attentive and welcoming . The food was so good we went back for a second night , again very nice . We then asked Jackie the owner if we could view a room , which was no trouble and agreed that we would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel in the near future .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Craig Manor Hotel
Craig Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
613 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $96 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing