We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is the most friendliest hotel where we ever stayed in. The staff, the owners were very nice. Nothing was too much trouble. Dinner was perfect especially the Sticky Toffee Pudding. We will definitely stay again! I would give this hotel 4 stars!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
There are newer reviews for The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 587 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed for a weekend break, to celebrate his bthirthday 25th-27th jan.I booked the fourposter room 13 which was lovley. We arrived early due to the bad snow forcast.






we have just returned from a weekend break 25th-27th jan.I booked it for a birthday treat for my boyfriend.I choose the fourposter room 13 which was lovley. We were allowed to check in early on the friday as we had set off early to miss the snow which had been forcast as severe! how glad we had.The lady on reception showed us to our room. We were not dissapointed nicespotless,there was a lovley spa bathroom and shower.Plenty of tea and coffee, bottles of water and nice clean white towels! wall mounted tv. We headed out for a 10 mins walk to the village, ideal location.plenty of coffee shops and restaurants to eat and quirky shops. And then boy did the snow arrive,it didnt spoil our weekend it mad it lovley and so picturesque. We had a great time. The owners and staff were very friendly,great breakfast and fast service.The only dissapointment was the shower not enough pressure,but we enjoyed the spa bath instead! would recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamayal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We just got back from a 2 night break at this hotel 18th-20th Jan. My husband had booked it for a bithday break for us both. We chose a four poster room and we thought it was lovely. Room number 7 at the front. We were allowed to check in early on the Friday as we had set off early because of the snow. The room was lovely and clean with a nice big bathroom with a spa bath ( I would never use one of these myself in a hotel). The shower was good and the water was hot. There was plenty of tea & coffee in the rooms, and 2 sml bottles of sparking water on arrival. Nice clean 'soft' white towlels. Wall mounted tv and two lovely big radiators in our room.
We also saw room 2 this was a standard double with a shower and toilet but was just as nice as ours but not as spacious.
The Lady on reception when we arrived was lovely (polish i think) she was also the lady who waited on you at breakfast and she remembers what type of eggs you like and how you like your bacon cooked which is a lovely touch we thought. This lady was also the one who cleaned our rooms yesterday. She is an assett to this hotel and we would like to think that she gets alot of credit from the owners for her long hours as she does deserve it.
Yes there is alot of rules, but if you don't have them someone will take advantage of it not stating this. I would say to the owners take some down off the walls and just put them all in the welcome pack. The one in our room did need replacing as it was spilt so why not update instead before you put another one in.
Strong smell of cigarettes last night and early this morning off last nights arrivals, naughty naughty.
Food & DRINK
Windermere - I would recomed MELA Indian Restaurant, it was lovey £10.95 winter special menu.
LAZY DAISY - also in Windermere, everthing we had in there was lovely too. It was very very busy but well worth the little wait you had for your food.
TO AVOID - Windermere - The little Chippy - food was not the best at all in there never again for us our our tummy!!! But i will leave it at that.
DRINKS - Go out of the hotel turn right and there was a working mens club on the end (large white building) that said visitors welcome so we went in , it was free to get in and all the staff and locals were all friendly with us and it was 'Club Price' drinks which was great and it was warm and great to walk to and get back while it was snowey and cold.

Yes we would stay here again no problem, and will happily recomend it.

Room Tip: Room 7 was lovely and was front facing
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NolaWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and posting the nice photographs of the room. We do appreciate our staff very much and they all multitask in a small hotel but the young lady mentioned is very happy in her work and a great asset. We finally tracked down the mystery smokers and charged them accordingly , not that we get pleasure in doing so but rules are rules and it is ilegal to smoke in a public place and the room now has to be totally deep cleaned throughout but some people just won't accept that. It seems by your comments card you thought we had no draft beer on the bar but we do have lager and bitter on draft. Lovely review thank you again and hope to see you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My Girlfriend and I stayed for a couple of days over my birthday last week and greatly enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and the room was spotless and cosy. The highest praise has to be saved for your chef though. The meal we had the first night really was first rate.

I'd highly recommend the hotel & restaurant and I have a hunch we will be coming back :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Glenburn. I will pass your lovely comments on to the chef. Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just returned from a short stay after New Year before returning to the daily grind! What a lovely little place. Slap bang in the middle between Windermere "town" and Bowness. Spotlessly clean, lovely cozy little lounge area and a great full English to boot. For what we paid I thought it was really good value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJW65555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Glenburn Hotel over new year for two nights. The staff here were very friendly and it was a good overall atmosphere. We also enjoyed the breakfast, you could choose between hot and cold or both! The hotel room wasn't the biggest we have stayed in however we loved it! It was such a cosy room with a lot of character and was nicely decorated. Was easy to find as on the main road, parking spaces available in a car park at the back of the hotel. It is also in a good position, only 10 minutes walk into the centre of bowness! Overall we had an enjoyable stay and would recommend to our friends. Thanks!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

My first review of 2013 and a very nice one too. Thank you so much and i am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Glenburn. Happy New Year to you both and we hope you will come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We came here to celebrate my parents Ruby anniversary. There was 6 adults and 3 kids over 3 rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were big, clean and comfy. We had dinner the first night and even though we had to order from the menu early on, this meant that we knew we were getting freshly prepared food and you could certainly taste it. The breakfasts were very good. Will hopefully be staying here again.
It was very easy to find and certainly had a lot of car parking. It was also in a great location and within easy walking distance of the shops.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMCDESIGNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Craig Manor Hotel
Craig Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $104 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing