We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My Girlfriend and I stayed for a couple of days over my birthday last week and greatly enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and the room was spotless and cosy. The highest praise has to be saved for your chef though. The meal we had the first night really was first rate.

I'd highly recommend the hotel & restaurant and I have a hunch we will be coming back :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Glenburn. I will pass your lovely comments on to the chef. Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 587 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just returned from a short stay after New Year before returning to the daily grind! What a lovely little place. Slap bang in the middle between Windermere "town" and Bowness. Spotlessly clean, lovely cozy little lounge area and a great full English to boot. For what we paid I thought it was really good value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJW65555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Glenburn Hotel over new year for two nights. The staff here were very friendly and it was a good overall atmosphere. We also enjoyed the breakfast, you could choose between hot and cold or both! The hotel room wasn't the biggest we have stayed in however we loved it! It was such a cosy room with a lot of character and was nicely decorated. Was easy to find as on the main road, parking spaces available in a car park at the back of the hotel. It is also in a good position, only 10 minutes walk into the centre of bowness! Overall we had an enjoyable stay and would recommend to our friends. Thanks!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

My first review of 2013 and a very nice one too. Thank you so much and i am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Glenburn. Happy New Year to you both and we hope you will come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We came here to celebrate my parents Ruby anniversary. There was 6 adults and 3 kids over 3 rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were big, clean and comfy. We had dinner the first night and even though we had to order from the menu early on, this meant that we knew we were getting freshly prepared food and you could certainly taste it. The breakfasts were very good. Will hopefully be staying here again.
It was very easy to find and certainly had a lot of car parking. It was also in a great location and within easy walking distance of the shops.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMCDESIGNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

One among the many. There are dozens of similar hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere. The Glenburn is half way between Windermere and Bowness, so each are within walking distance. That's handy. Good hotel and adequate in every way. Good parking at the front. Easy to find – it’s on the main street. Breakfast was good with wide choice. Helpful staff. When you walk down to Bowness detour on "Sheriff's Walk".

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A group of us from work decided to book a mini holiday in the Lakes. Looking at the pictures of the River Cottage on the website, we thought it looked really nice and decided to book it. It was phenomenal!! We all jointly agreed that there's no other place we would rather have stayed. Hotel staff are very friendly, welcoming and always willing to help especially Jackie.

The cottage is very well spaced, clean and facilities are just brilliant. We also had access to the fitness centre and the spa was wonderful.

Room Tip: The Cottage is amazing and has a brilliant view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olufemi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Myself and two friends booked this hotel via bookings.com at fairly short notice. We took a three person room (double and single bed) for two nights which cost £210, so that was £35 each on a weekend (Fri/Sat) for B&B.

The cooked breakfast was pretty average, not exceptional but quite satisfactory and was only served from 8.30am onwards, which was too late for us as we needed to get out fellwalking before that time. The plus point is that if you don't wish to take breakfast the chef will make you up a splendid packed lunch and so we took this option on Sunday morning.

The bedroom was adequate, with comfortable beds, it was clean and had a small en-suite shower room.

The hotel has plenty of parking either to the front or the rear.

There is a bar with draught beer and lager, which we took advnatage of. The charges were simply added to our bill and were reasonable.

The proprietor of the Glenburn lives in Kendal and the hotel seems to be run by East European staff who multi-task very very well, one of whom is Marta, who went beyond the call of duty to make sure we were comfortable in the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for Marta.

We also spoke with the chef who asked us what we would like for our packed lunches, and they turned out to be fresh and appetising.

I give the hotel a "very good" rating of 4 which I feel is very positive. We were all treated by the staff like gentlemen, offered drying facilities for our wet walking gear and generally felt extremely well looked after and special.

I don't usually leave tips for hotel staff, but on this occasion it was warranted. I would certainly stay here again if I go back to Windermere.

Final comment - it was difficult to access the free wi-fi in room 14 on the top floor at the rear of the hotel, but wi-fi access was fine in the lounge bar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirewalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you for your kind review guys. I agree you won't find better staff anywhere they are brilliant. I will pass your comments on. Always happy to oblige with a packed lunch for hikers wishing to leave early. Thank you for the four star rating hope we see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Craig Manor Hotel
Craig Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
613 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $96 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing