We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruby Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ruby Wedding”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived in the Lake District and had booked a different hotel, when we got to the hotel they had no electric and running water so they couldn't let us stay. We had traveled 5 hours as we live in Norfolk, so we had to find suitable accommodation and stumbled across the Glenburn hotel.
Everything about this hotel was excellent.
My sister and her husband were celebrating their Ruby Wedding and the hotel decorated the table for us. Thank you Glenburn for decorating the dining room at such short notice.We will definitely be staying there again.
Food was delicious, rooms spotless.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xander123Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Many thanks for the great review. I was delighted when your sister asked me to decorate the table and it was a lovely surprise for you. You must be very proud being together for 40 years. It is my turn next year I hope we enjoy ours the same way. Thank you and I hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    190
    36
    14
    16
See reviews for
94
350
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A very clean and welcoming hotel with polite staff and very good food, we do thank you. We stayed on the 26th and 27th Oct (Room 7) with 4 poster bed and jacuzzi bath very clean and well presented. No hot water on Saturday morning for a time (staff very apologetic) but these things happen. Overall a joy to stay there, it will be first on the list when we want to stay in Windermere again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank deavonvitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Great review thank you very much. It is a hoteliers worst nightmare when there is no hot water or the heating stops working and it always seems to happpen over the weekend during our busiest time. Fortunately my husband solved the problem and it was only for a short time. These things do happen but not every one is as understanding as yourself ...thank you and look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england uk
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

very nice hotel,staff lovely.The breakfast is great ,very clean and tidy.we stayed for three nights on the 22 oct on arrival at the hotel the owner up graded us to a room with a spa ,this was a lovely gesture and it made my stay special. Helen L Liverpool

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laffoEnglandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review. It was my pleasure to upgrade you on your return visit to the Glenburn. If an upgrade is available I will always oblige. I am so pleased this made your stay with us extra special. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Really nice hotel, stayed 20th and 21st oct in room 4 with a 4 poster bed and jacuzzi bath, very clean and comfortable, nice little touches of sparkling mineral water and guides of windermere. Breakfast was very nice and fresh (inc in room price) more than i could eat ;-). Staff were all excellent very friendly and polite. I would like to say a very BIG THANK YOU to the lovely owner (sorry forgot your name) who searched the room for my rings after we had checked out, i would reccomend this hotel and would love to return very soon, xxx

Room Tip: room 4 lovely double 4 poster and jacuzzi bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaineyD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was a relief when the rings were found as my husband thought he may have bundled them up wiith the laundry. He would never have found them on top of the glass. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again at The Glenburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just got back from spending a lovley time at the Glenburn Hotel, was looking for a bit of R&R for myself and Girlfriend as had a crap 12 months with family issues and needed a bit of time away to re-charge battiers and found the Glenburn website rooms looked lovely so off we went.
Stayed there for one night on 22nd October in room 4 a four poster deluxe which was excellent good finishing touches jaccuzi bath lovley tilled bathroom flat screen tv clean and very well maintained.
Booked DBB (dinner bed breakfast ) food was to a good standard fresh well presnted a little heavy on balsamic on my starter which was tempura batterd prawns as it had sweet chilli sauce with ..didnt really need balsamic my girlfriend had goats cheese tatlet which was lovley homade tatlet cheese nicely glazed and both starters nice and hot.
For mains i had the lamb shank which was a good size present on a bed of creamy mashed potato with a lovley mint gravy was cooked to perfection , my girlfriend had the sirloin medium rare with pepercorn sauce a nice side dish of seasonal vegetables cooked perfectly still with a bite and broccoli green and not over cooked.
For dessert we had the sticky toffee pudding which was very good just the right amount of dates and seeped in a lovley toffee syrup very good winter comfort food service was very good the waitress who had only been there 3weeks was very polite and efficient only one thing puzzeled me thwere was butter on tables but know bread rolls offered.
had a good nights sleep in a very comfy bed room a little warm but turned heating down to control this and made a plesnt atmosphere.
Breakfast was good a nice size prtion with cunbrian sausage and served hot and was not swiming grease very well presented and a good selection of from the cold buffet again was the same waitress as the night before very good service.
I would re-visit the Glenburn and recommend this Little Gem in the lakes to my friends and family

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review it must have taken you a while. Thank you for the great description of the food, you even had my mouth watering. Got to admit the Sticky toffee pud is lovely. It comes from a special recipe which was given to me a long time ago by the head chef of a well known hotel on the shores of Ullswater ... I was told to keep it a secret of course. Sorry about the bread rolls don't understand why you were not offered. I love the words " Little Gem " makes the hotel feel so special. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Turned up on spec looking for twin room for 2 nights - B&B originally booked was unsuitable. Shown to lovely airy, bright clean room with modern fixtures. Very reasonably priced. Very friendly and informative staff. Had a lovely weekend. Would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you ladies for your kind review. It was a delight to have you both stay with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here after deciding to go on a last minute one night stay to the Lakes. The hotel was one of the few that allowed a one night stay rather than the minimum 2 night. On arrival the 2 ladies on the desk were very informative, polite and hospitable. We stayed with our 4 year old daughter in a family room. The room was clean. Breakfast was very nice with plenty to choose from. The hotel does have lots of stairs so it may not be the place for you if you have mobility problems. Lovely position to walk into Bowness and Windermere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamSmith2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing