We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!”
Review of The Howbeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Howbeck
Ranked #28 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the howbeck on the 6th August for two nights for our wedding anniversary,The hotel is in a great location, a two minute walk from Windermere centre and a fifteen minute walk to the centre of Bowness.On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful.They showed us around, then took our bags to our room for us whilst we enjoyed a much needed pot of coffee in the lounge after a long drive.The room was lovely and beautifully prepared with rose petals,champagne and chocolates.The four poster bed was extremely comfortable and made up with good quality linen.The bathroom complete with spa bath big enough for two,was complemented by thick fluffy bath sheets and bath robes.
The staff always had a smile and were always very cheerful. If you need anything just ask and they are willing to help. Breakfast was lovely, with a wide variety to choose from, whether it be full English, Eggs Benedict(which we can recommend)or choice of cereals,fruit,cold meats etc.
We would recommend The Howbeck to anyone wanting a relaxing,short break away in luxurious accomodation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2010

Dear Mr & Mrs Herd,

We wanted to say a big thank you for your wonderful review left following your recent stay with us at the Howbeck.

All the staff work very hard at ensuring our guests stays are perfect and we are so glad you enjoyed yours. Thank you again and we do hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to the Lake District.
Kind regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

846 - 852 of 965 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed in capelcrag. The room was nice but a bit small to warrant the pricetag in my opinion.

Again, the breakfast was decent but certainly nothing out of the ordinary.

The staff were excellent and the welcome and general service was top notch.

Overall I would reccommend.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2010

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate all feedback we receive for the Howbeck. I would firstly like to thank you that you would recommend us as this is very important to us.

I'm so please you thought the service overall was top notch as this is what we pride ourselves on at the Howbeck.

I'm sorry you feel the room was overpriced due to the size, however we feel the quality of a room is very important and the attention to detail we apply in every aspect of a guests stay is essential. We would also like to point out that all room descriptions and photos are all kept upto date and can be found on our website, and you can always call us should you wish to know more details about a room as each one is indiviually designed.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future, and look forward to it.

Kind regards
Rachel
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

a fantastic place to stay, total luxury, relaxtion, privacy everything you could want. well kept and maintained throughout. food was fabulous and plenty of it. everything from the furniture to the shower and oversized air bath was splendid. please try this hotel well worth it. i assure you of that.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2010

Dear Alison,
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay in one of our luxury suites. We are so pleased you have recommended us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future and maybe you can try one of other fabulous suites.

Kind regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

This is the first time staying at The Howbeck and my wife and I were very pleased with everything. We would highly recommend this hotel as the staff were very accommodating and made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helpinghand19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2010

Thank you for your lovely reveiw of your stay with us here at the Howbeck. We are very happy you had a wonderful time and all the staff here pride themselves on making sure everyones stay is enjoyable.

Thank you again and hopefully you will return in the future so we can make another stay as enjoyable as the first.

Kind regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We only stayed here one night--it was conveniently located to the car hire we were going to go to the next day. But we were pleasantly surprised--it turned out to be a very comfortable and excellent choice. The staff is very helpful and friendly (especially Rachel), the room nice, and it is quiet. The breakfasts are very good with good service. The only downsides are the location on a busy street (but we had a room toward the back and it was quite quiet and we slept well) and while the internet in the room was free, it was iffy and we had to go the lounge to get a good connection.A good choice for Windermere.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2010

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review for us. We loved having you stay with us during your trip and hope the rest of it was as good as your night here with us at the Howbeck.

We look forward to welcoming you back if you choose to stay with us on your next visit to the Lakes and very pleased you would recommend us.

Thank you
Kind regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This was our second stay in the Howbeck the first stay been in December 2007. It was great to see the B&B has kept its high standard since our first stay with some of the rooms been refurbished,
Rooms were really clean and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We stayed in the Windergill room which was a nice size and had a great spa bath perfect after a day walking. There is loads of choice for breakfast with the choice of cereals, meats and bread and a full english cooked to your order. B&B is in a central location just 2mins walk from Windermere centre and 15 mins walk from Bowness.
Would def recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2010

Dear Mr & Mrs Owens,

We all wanted to say a big thank you for your lovely review and what a plesure it was having you stay with us at the Howbeck. We are very pleased you were so impressed with the room and service as this is what we pride ourselves on for every guest.

We hope you visit us again and very happy you will recommend us.
Kind regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I organised a hen party for my friend including altogether a group of 10 late forty, fifty somethings (and one in her twenties!). I was very nervous as I had not visited the hotel before and felt the weight of responsibility. I was absolutely delighted with my choice as were every other member of the hen party. The rooms are beautiful and spotless, the location is ideal and although on the main road through from Windermere to Bowness, no-one complained about traffic noise. The staff are delightful, very friendly and courteous, and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very well organised, with a good choice and well presented. Although I am from the area and not likely to need accommodation in Windermere again, the rest of the party are considering future stays at the Howbeck.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2010

Dear Adrienne,
We are so pleased all of your party enjoyed your recent stay at the Howbeck. We wanted to make sure every part was perfect and so glad you were not disappointed.

I have made sure your comments have been passed onto staff and we look forward to welcoming members of your party, family and friends back in the future.

Thank you again.
Kind regards
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#60 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
0 mi away
Windermere Suites
Windermere Suites
#35 of 107 in Windermere
522 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 107 in Windermere
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Address: Howbeck New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $140 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing