We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great looking guest house, with very helpful staff and comfortable room.”
Review of The Howbeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Howbeck
Ranked #14 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great looking guest house, with very helpful staff and comfortable room.”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was convo entry positioned less than 5 minutes walk to Windermere village and a good 15 minutes walk to the lake. Breakfast was preordered and was tasty. The room had a very cosy four poster bed, fantastic sized jet bath tub, the room was a medium size which was more than enough for a couple. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful to offer advise on the local area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upton311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    128
    55
    19
    17
See reviews for
47
732
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic "mini-moon" in the Lake District after a whirlwind 7 months of wedding planning. The staff at Howbeck are wonderful and no request was too much for them.

We did think the room was pretty small when we first arrived, but soon relaxed into it and found it to be very comfortable. The jacuzzi bath was wonderful and we made good use of it :)

It was very warm while we were in the Lake District so it would've been nice to have a fan or something to cool us down at night.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Meregill" on the 1st floor. Overlooks the car park - which we preferred as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillibit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night on the Red Letter experience. The hotel was lovely and clean and the staff very pleasant and attentive, but I would not have paid this price myself and I don't think it was particularly good value for money. We then went on for 2 nights stay in a B&B in Keswick for the same price and both stays were on a par; re-emphasising that I think the Howbeck is over priced. The hotel was easy to find just off the main road through to Bowness and only 5 mins walk from the centre of Windermere. The room was very nice and the breakfast was good. Would recommend the hotel, just not the price tag.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Popet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Firstly we would like to thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed you're stay with us. We would like to point out Red letter days as an agency who sell rooms on a commission basis of close to 30%. We always encourage guests to book direct with us so we can pass these heavy charges directly onto our guests as a saving.

To make things right we would like to offer you another stay in the future by booking direct we will give you a 20% discount and combined with our lowest on line rates means you will be staying for close to half what you would pay through red letter days.

Please call and ask for Ben our manager when you are ready to book and refer to our offer here

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

From the moment that we arrived, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious, spotless and quiet. Extra touches, such as complementary coffee on arrival and wine and chocolates in the room, made this a memorable way to spend a landmark birthday. Good food and attentive service completed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marjg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowbeckWindermere, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review, I am pleased everything met your expectations when you stayed with us. If you wish to book again please let us know you have stayed with us before and we will offer you our best rates for your next stay. We look forward to meeting with you again. Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

What a wonderful break this was.....From the moment we arrived the service was brilliant, professional and friendly. There were lots of special touches that made huge difference. Nothing was too much trouble for the helpful staff. The restaurant served good honest tasty food and was excellent value for money. The décor around the hotel was warm and tasteful, with lots of character. Each of the eleven bedrooms are individually decorated and designed to a high standard and the bathroom was fantastic, being smart, modern and very clean. The bed was large and comfy. A lovely touch the hotel offer is to be able to select and book the room of your choice. You can do this by viewing the different rooms on the hotel website. We will most definitely be going back and staying longer this time!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Brit
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This small hotel is situated in a very accesible part of Windemere. There is plenty of parking around so that was not an issue. Our room was well decorated and the bed was very comfortable. We had an evening meal that was tasty and well presented. Breakfasts were cooked on order so everything was fresh. The staff were attentive and freindly. I would definitely make a return visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are very well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlorenceNorthernBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateshead
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for my boyfriends birthday! its situated right in the middle of windermere. We had the Meregill Room, Which was beautiful, four poster bed, tv, and spa bath. Rose petals on bed, wine and chocolates on arrival, the room was gorgeous! We had dinner which was restaurant quality, as was breakfast. staff were all really efficient and friendly. Would use again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Property: The Howbeck
Address: Howbeck New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing