We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra special suprise stay”
Review of The Howbeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Howbeck
Ranked #19 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extra special suprise stay”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Booked the windergill luxury room for 1 nights stay which already looked beautiful and on arrival my mum had secretly (with help of staff) upgraded us to the 'retreat' room. The very helpful and lovely receptionist Roberta showed us to our room, explaining about breakfast, keys, mood lighting etc. She is an asset to the team!
Only thing I would say if I had any niggle was the mood lighting control - no idea how this worked so maybe best to show guests.
Room was huge, walk in wardrobe, mini bar, huge bed covered in rose petals plus a bottle of wine and chocolates! lounge area and table where we were served an amazing breakfast the following morning.
The choices were great and so much! We couldn't finish it all.
Bowness on windermere is about 15 minutes walk so we went to explore during the day and then got a taxi back down to the restaurants and bars on the night time which costs about £3.50. Lovely pubs and restaurants. We had drinks in bodega tapas bar-fab cocktails and nice atmosphere with lovely open fire! Went to the village inn and the manager was very rude to me so we quickly left there and went to Vila postiano for italian food. Lovely welcome and considering this was a Tuesday in February the place was packed! Great food and value for money.
Recommended to so many people already who asked about it from my photos on Facebook! Will hopefully return in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny1186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, General Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review of your stay here with us at The Howbeck. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay so much in our Retreat suite, it is such a lovely room and it's nice to hear you think this too. Our chef is very pleased you enjoyed the wide choice of our breakfast options and hopefully you will return soon to sample more delicious options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    130
    56
    20
    18
See reviews for
50
742
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Our daughter bought us an overnight stay through living social. We booked on our wedding anniversary which happened to be on a Monday. when booking the receptionist was extremely helpful in advising on room choice / restaurants etc and when we arrived it was beautiful. Welcoming reception stunning room with four poster bed, big jacuzzi, wine, whiskey, tea/coffee, rose petals, robes - it was fabulous. We went to use the spa facilities at a hotel about 15 min walk and they too were great, it was so quiet we actually had the spa to ourselves most of the time and the next morning at breakfast (which was also delicious and great choice) we found out we were the only guests in the hotel too. Would highly recommend very friendly, immaculate, and will definitely return. Only little negative comment was when I went to toilet downstairs I somehow managed to trap my finger between the door and the sink which is still throbbing now so be careful when shutting the door.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Adskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, General Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for such a kind review of your stay with us. I am very pleased you were impressed with all areas of our guest house from the staff to your room and breakfast. I do apologise for your throbbing finger due to our door, thankfully it has not happened before and hopefully won't again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We went up for a romantic break for my birthday. The staff were very friendly and welcoming from check in to check out, which made for an enjoyable stay. We stayed in Meregill with the kingsize four poster bed and spa bath which were both much appreciated after a days walking in the hills. The Cumberland breakfast was lovely. Ideally situated near the town centre

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, General Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you very much for such a kind review of your stay with us and lovely comments about the staff.
I am very pleased you liked your room and that the bath came in handy after exploring our beautiful surroundings. Hopefully we will see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Howbeck and read the reviews prior to our visit as they all sounded superb. Given this was a 5 star rating I was expecting a lot more than I got.

I'll start with the positives though, very friendly staff, good breakfast and huge bed with rose petal heart on (fake petals). On the downside the shower head was broken, biscuits and water for one, no full length mirror, a tiny tv and the cheapest bottle of wine imaginable left us seriously questioning how this was 5 star.

This sounds harsh but considering you're potentially paying more than £200 per night it's simply extremely poor value for money.

Ohh and if you're staying in a room on the front you can hear the traffic whizzing past.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We took advantage of a winter offer and stayed in the Windergill room. Included in the price we had some nice extras, which were lovely. However the chocolate dipped strawberries had been forgotten, as had the "welcome door plaque." Jess was most apologetic and sorted us some out without charge, which while most appreciated did sort of spoil the original intention. And the missing door plaque was also provided - I'm not sure what I imagined (some small thing to take home I suppose) but a giant cowbell shaped metal heart that should be hung on the door on arrival, and then taken away again, for the cost of £3 wasn't what I had in mind. Again though, we weren't charged for it.

Having been asked to order the meal well in advance so it could all be ordered in fresh, we did so 3 days previously, only to be told on arrival that my meal wasn't actually available. Having ordered the lamb and not fancied anything else at all I was a little put out to then have to sit and choose again, ending up with both the smoked haddock starter and the smoked haddock pie.

The food was lovely, as was the service. The free white wine in the room and with dinner was a £3.50 bottle from Asda but having said that was so drinkable we bought several more on returning home. not sure what that says about our palates but there you go.

The room was clean and warm, the bed comfy. I would stay again but only at the price the offer was, I think full price would be a stretch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squishycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a couple for my husbands birthday on 31st January 2014. From start to finish everything was exactly as we'd hoped. From the excellent service as we checked in, too the care taken with the room to make it special and not forgetting the high standard of the food, we were most definately impressed. We will be back & hopefully for longer next time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MummyB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, General Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review, I am pleased everything met your expectations when you stayed with us. If you wish to book again please let us know you have stayed with us before and we will offer you our best rates for your next stay. We look forward to meeting with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at the Howbeck for our anniversary after receiving a gift voucher from family for a break. The Howbeck is certainly deserving of its 5* rating and all staff involved provide a friendly and helpful service to maintain this standard. Our room and the guesthouse itself where decorated to a high standard and spotless. The evening meal served in the restaurant was excellent, as was the breakfast. The location of The Howbeck is also another big positive. We will deffinitley return to The Howbeck and will not hesitate to recommend this establishment to our family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LozGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, General Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us here at The Howbeck. It is great to read you would recommend us to others as you enjoyed your stay so much, as this shows us all our hard work does pay off. I am glad you enjoyed both your evening meal and breakfast which you kindly praised us on. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Property: The Howbeck
Address: Howbeck New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing