We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous get-away. Loved it!”
Review of The Howbeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Howbeck
Ranked #14 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Gorgeous get-away. Loved it!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I had such a lovely weekend away. The rooms were spotless, bathroom was very clean and food was amazing! Would recommend it to anyone! The staff were so lovely too. They made me feel at home and were so helpful! I would definitely return every week if I could! Loved the trip!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyPears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you so much for such a kind review of your stay with us at The Howbeck. We appreciate your kind words about our staff as we are constantly aiming to develop on our customer service skills and it is very rewarding for us to hear such positive comments about our work.
We all try our best to make guests feel welcome and at home when they stay with us, providing hearty breakfasts to start the day. We hope you will visit us again soon and would finally like to thank you for your recommendations to friends about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    128
    55
    20
    17
See reviews for
48
732
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Howbeck for 1 night. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The friendly receptionist offered us a complimentary coffee in the lounge. Our room was lovely. Lovely decor and feel throughout the whole place. We didnt dine in the restaurant but next time we will. Breakfast was super and again we were greeted by a friendly member of staff. The Howbeck is also in a great location. We would love to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review regarding your stay at The Howbeck.
We are very pleased that you reviewed our staff in such positive way and liked our decor as we aim to make The Howbeck a warm and welcoming place whilst keeping it modern and clean.
Hopefully if you return you will sample our dinner menu so you can see that the high level of our food is continued from breakfast, right through to our evening meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed for a birthday treat for 2 nights in the mickleden room, easy to find with plenty of parking nice and close to Windermere. Lovely room! Lovely building! Lovely breakfast! Lovely staff! Lovely location! In fact all round lovely stay! Will definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 141173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic review.
We are very pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at 'The Howbeck.'
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding the staff and breakfast.
We hope to welcome you both back sometime in the near future.
Please remember to let us know you have stayed with us before and we can offer you our very best rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Howbeck for 3 nights last week and it was fantastic !!! The staff are all very friendly and efficient, nothing ever seemed too much trouble for them. The whole place is spotlessly clean with lovely decor. We stayed in the Mickleden 4 poster room which was perfect for what we needed, it wasn't huge but ample space for a short break. The guest house is perfectly located to both Windemere town and Bowness. We ate at the hotel the first night and the food was brilliant, particularly given it was only £19.95 each for 3 courses !!!! The breakfast was also very nice, especially the salmon & scrambled egg on bagel !! The only negative for me was the mattress, it was incredibly soft and as I have a weak back I didn't get a decent nights sleep but I certainly wouldn't knock the hotel for that, it's personal preference !!! All in all we had a very relaxing break, taking in the stunning scenery and exploring lots of outlying villages ! The Bluebird cafe at Coniston lake and The Village Inn bar & grill were two of our favourite places !!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at The Howbeck.
We are really pleased that you find the room prefect, spotlessly clean with lovely decor.
We apologies for the mattress to been to soft, wee will look into that.
We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

This was a gift for me and my partner. Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely receptionist, who showed us to our room, who instantly made us feel welcomed! :) We stayed in the Deepdale.. Absolutely beautiful room. Very comfortable, warm, relaxing and trendy! We had our tea there to. I would recommend you eat there..The food was amazing!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay..I was sad to go!! :-(

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at The Howbeck. And also for posting such a nice image of the hotel. We are delighted that you had a great stay and really hope that you can "escape" your busy lives and come back soon.
Thank you again for such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We booked through 'Secret Escapes' so had high expectations. Cannot fault the staff or the food at breakfast - both were top-notch. However, our room was tiny. Very nicely decorated but very small. The bathroom was nice but the shower was a bit of a disappointment. It looked amazing but didn't deliver on the promise (!). And the water was not that hot. The spa, advertised as part of the 'package', was wonderful but we had the impression it was nearby and it's actually about a mile down the road. Worth the effort to go to though! We stopped off at the Langdale Chase Hotel for a drink, on the way home one night, to experience their 'Best View in England' in the bar, and found out their rooms are £100 a night at the mo for B&B ... we paid more at the Howbeck and would defo go to the LC next time! No award winning views at the Howbeck. Having said all that, the room was spotlessly clean, the staff were truly wonderful and the food at breakfast was really, really, delicious. If only the room had been bigger we'd have nothing to whinge about!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you check what room you're getting before you confirm your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HIS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Owner at The Howbeck, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Hazza888

Many thanks fir your review. We would like to address your review as follows

Firstly the room you booked through secret escapes is our superior en suite with shower and these are smaller than our luxury rooms with spa baths and our suites which where also available to book The price you paid of £119 did inc wine chocolates and other goodies in the room totaling aprox £50 of value which we doubt the 3 star Langdale chase would include and they too do not have pool facilities. Granted they do have a good view but the award they refer to is self proclaimed as the best view. In fact the award was awarded by Conde Nast Johansens to the Michelin starred Holbeck Ghyll elevated above their hotel which cost considerably more than £100 per night and our rooms are more in line with Holbeck Ghylls rooms

We are a AA 5 gold star rated guest house

We were not aware of any water temperature issues as you did not inform reception who could have helped at the time however we have never had temperature issues on water

We do clearly advertise on our web site and any promotion the leisure facilities are a short drive away in by the lake and not on site

With regards to our rates please bear in mind when you book through an agent the commissions charged by them are substantial which they deduct from our payment so you will always get the best rates booking direct

We are pleased you rated our service cleanliness and breakfast top notch

If you would like to discus this further please do contact myself personally

Colin Monk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in a superior room which was of average size with a very comfortable bed. Many aspects of this guest house are indeed luxurious - very stylish decor, high quality furnishings, towels and bed linen. However, we felt they skimped on the little things, e.g. providing a single small bottle of mineral water and a single packet of 2 biscuits per double room, poor quality all-purpose toiletries (when we were expecting White Company) - very different to the generosity of other 5 star establishments we have stayed in.
We found the staff were pleasant, welcoming, and more than helpful. A minor issue with our room was resolved very speedily. Cleaning was carried ou to a very high standard. Breakfast was tasty, hot, plentiful and attractively presented. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for one of the higher grade rooms if you want true 5 star luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnmeHols22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Property: The Howbeck
Address: Howbeck New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing