We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Howbeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Howbeck
Ranked #12 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rowley Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We would highly recommend staying at this beautiful hotel. We stayed in the Windergill for four nights which was lovely. There is lovely attention to detail all around the hotel and the staff are lovely and very welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent and we would recommend dining there every night if you can, as it is as good as any of the restaurants in Windermere and Bowness if not better and great value for money! The rooms are cleaned everyday, the choice you have for breakfast is brilliant. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be suitable, noise level very low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Suzanne, Thank you for publishing such a fab review following your stay with. It is extremely rewarding to be awarded 5/5 in all categories and also to receive such warm, kind comments.

Your comments regarding the staff and our food will be shared with all of the team, who I'm sure will be very grateful.

Thank you, and we hope to welcome you both back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    127
    52
    19
    16
See reviews for
47
718
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My lovely boyfriend booked a weekend away for us at The Howbeck for my birthday treat! It was a little surprise, which he thought his satnav sadly ruined for him as it gave away the destination ;) However I was still as surprised as ever! Especially when I saw the lovely guest house we were staying in.

The room we stayed in was beautiful and the bed was so big and lovely. The bathroom was decorated in a lovely modern way, I was surprised how well decorated and furnished the guest house was, having worked in an establishment of a similar size before - it was definitely excellent value for money! It was also a nice touch to have dvd players in the room and dvds in the communal room downstairs for guests - which perhaps could be utilised on those rainy days.

However, we were blessed with glorious sunshine during our stay. The location of the guest house is superb. A short drive down to Lake Windermere, or you could even take a walk down if you fancied it, as it really wasn't that far... So many lovely activities to do and lots of lovely restaurants and bars to keep you entertained... plus the added bonus of numerous ice cream shops ;) perfect pit stops in sunny weather.

We had such an amazing stay, we have decided that the Lake District will probably be our new weekend getaway place, now that we are both relocating to live in Manchester. I am certain we will stay at The Howbeck again when we visit as it was such a lovely, welcoming guest house; with friendly and attentive staff. I would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting the Lake District. Perfect! Thank you for making my birthday weekend such an enjoyable one! :)

Room Tip: we stayed in the Deepdale room - lovely decor and huge comfy bed! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Hannah, it's sounds like your boyfriend came up trumps with your birthday surprise (or not such a surprise in the end) and we would like to thank him for choosing The Howbeck. It's so lovely to know that you enjoyed your birthday and found your stay to prove to be great value.

The Lake District is beautiful all year round, but the sunshine certainly does help, so we are pleased it stayed fine for your stay.

Good luck with the move to Manchester and we look forward to welcoming you both back - maybe for your next birthday!?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just stayed 1 night earlier in July and were booked into Windergill. Lovely room, attention to detail excellent and the finish on the décor was really pretty. We were welcomed into the guest lounge with tea/coffee whilst they went through the checking in and were shown to our room. Staff were very attentive, helpful and polite. Breakfast was also lovely, very well done as we chose the night before and then it was all very smooth in the morning.
Its situated literally 3-5 minutes walk from the centre of Windermere which is a lovely little town, so easy to go for a wander for a drink or to eat out. We also wandered into Bowness which is about 15-20 minute walk and very easy to do.
Overall an excellent place for a romantic stay for a couple in lovely surroundings and great service. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Look at their website to see the choice of rooms as you can usually choose the options of which room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lish_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guests, it seems that you really enjoyed your stay in 'Windergill', one of Luxury rooms, and we are all so glad that you had such a lovely time. Your review is full of such kind comments and is also very informative for perspective guests - Thank you! We hope you will find the time to visit us again in the not so distant future. With thanks from all at The Howbeck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We would highly recommend The Howbeck, we had a fantastic weekend. The staff were really helpful and friendly. The room we stayed in, Meregill, was a beautiful room, and the cooked breakfast in the morning was delicious.

The location was excellent and I would definitely recommend a stay at The Howbeck.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guests, it's fabulous to receive feedback of your, "wonderful weekend", and in particular to receive full marks in each of the feedback areas - Thank you! We're all so pleased you enjoyed your stay in 'Meregill' one of our Luxury 4 Poster rooms, and hope to welcome you back to The Howbeck in the future. Thank you once again for such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights in The Howbeck and we loved it. The location was great and the staff were very helpful and friendly and full of recommendations for restaurants and things to do in the local area. Although our room (Lingmell) was right at the front of the property and near the road, the traffic noise was not a problem and the room itself was perfect. We ate breakfast at the hotel both mornings and service was both prompt and polite and the food was tasty.

We would definitely go back for another stay and recommend that others do the same.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashgodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guests, thank you for your lovely feedback following your stay in 'Lingmell', one of our beautiful Superior rooms. We are so pleased you felt we were well located and that you found the staff both friendly and knowledgeable. Thank you also for commenting on our award winning breakfasts. We are always grateful when people recommend us to others, and even happier when we know they plan to return. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here before and enjoyed our stay we recently took advantage of one of their winter offers for a 2 night stay inc dinner. We stayed in. Luxury 4 poster room Windergill. Wow, great room, decor and very clean. Dinner was good home cooked fare with friendly service.

Can't recommend the Howbeck enough and we will be back in summer for more

Thanks !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guests, "Amazing", what a wonderful, effective title for a review. We are always so happy to welcome you back and are already looking forward to seeing you both on your next visit. Thank you for returning to The Howbeck and for all of your kind words. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

All staff were very attentive and helpful , the rooms are in excellent condition my wife and I stayed bed and breakfast and the breakfast was great.
I can truly say that I cannot fault this hotel, the hotel is very closely located to the town centre,the rooms are very well decorated and clean , the staff cannot do more for you.
I would highly recommend The Howbeck.
There is car parking to the rear of the hotel and room for about 3 cars at front.
This hotel is ideal for young couples or mid age or elderly people who just want a quality break.
The hotel is situated on the main road therefore you can go left to go into the town centre or take a short walk left to the lake itself.
All staff are well presented in staff uniform and all staff are very approachable.
The hotel décor is very nice it reminded me a bit like a stately home.
I would say that our stay was very enjoyable and would recommend to anyone who wants to stay there.
5 star service. well done to all

Room Tip: The hotel has a varied of rooms of which are of high quality most rooms are of four poster bed,i wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guests, we truly value all feedback, but of course it excites us in particular when we receive reviews like this one - 5/5 awarded in all areas - Thank you! To say that you can't fault us is such a fantastic compliment and we are grateful for all of your kind comments. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to the Lake District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Property: The Howbeck
Address: Howbeck New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing