We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howbeck”
Review of The Howbeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Howbeck
Ranked #14 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Howbeck”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Comfortable room, and quite stylish. Professional helpful and very friendly staff. Superb breakfasts. We would go back. Spa deal was good and we used it twice - in another hotel in Bowness, 20 min walk. Windemere is OK, but quiet and limited for pubs, although does have some reasonable looking restaurants,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandS319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guests, thank you for reviewing your stay at The Howbeck. We are truly appreciative of your kind comments regarding the comfort, staff and breakfasts. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards from all of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    128
    55
    19
    17
See reviews for
47
732
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We came just for one night using a living social offer and I would be upset had a paid full price as simply not worth it. Nothing outragiously horrid just very very average and forgettable sadly. The room was clean, but far too small to house a four poster and some of the furniture way past its best. The bathroom was quite smart but lacked just little touches of toiletaries. My main complaint would be that of rules that benefit no one. Each table has a little room sign on at breakfast and that has to be your table. so... ..heres the thing..... there were two couples crammed into a dingy dark corner where one chair is touching the chair from the next table and we cannot speak privately and neither can they and there are two beautiful tables at the window with a view and some room around them... but they belong to another room.....and they are either not actually there or are still in bed. The benefit of this rule is??? Breakfast ordering the night before is not our thing either and i really wanted something different to what i had ordered but hey thats the rules. There are much better places to stay and I doubt I would ever return.

Room Tip: rooms on the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are truly disappointed that you were not entirely satisfied and only graded us a 3/5 specially as the last 35 reviewers have classed us as 'Excellent' or 'Very good".

We would like you to know that we take all feedback very seriously and we would like to address the points raised;

Firstly, we believe (from seeing your profile)that you may the guests that stayed in 'Meregill' earlier this week, however we can't be entirely sure as the complaints listed were not raised at any point during your stay (we log all issues if guests raise any and nothing has been logged). If complaints are raised at the time, we can address them or compensate.

Statistically 'Meregill' is one of our most popular rooms, so we are extremely surprised to read that you felt it was too small and that you found the furniture 'past its best'. We are continually updating our rooms in order to keep them looking fresh, however furniture/ walls are occasionally banged/ damaged.

With regards to breakfast; we generally find that the system works very well, so we are sorry that you didn't feel entirely comfortable. The tables are labelled to prevent guests wandering around the restaurant weighing up which table they would prefer - This is not practical when we are serving hot meals. Also, if guests are staying with us for more than one night, we think it is more comfortable and relaxing if they have the same table each morning. The window tables that you mentioned are never left empty, the guests using these tables just hadn't arrived for breakfast yet.

If we are not fully occupied, we do space out the rooms at breakfast, however we can't always offer guests total privacy during breakfast, some guests will be in earshot of others. If two rooms arrive for breakfast at the same/ similar time, there is the chance they may be seated nearby, however this is merely coincidence.

Our restaurant has a high ceiling, a large bay window, two large chandeliers and two large mirrors which reflect light and was also redecorated in January. We therefore find it unfair and unreliable that you use the words 'dark' and 'dingy' to describe the corner where you were seated.

With regards to ordering breakfast the night before, we do this to create a more relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant and to ensure that the food is both freshly cooked and piping hot for each guest. Many other hotels or guest houses may prefer the hot buffet option, however, we much prefer to cook to order, and feel that this contributed to the decision to award us an AA Breakfast Award. As we have such an extensive menu, and pride ourselves on being environmentally friendly as much as possible, the pre-ordering system also avoids excessive wastage (which we have been praised by Cumbria Tourism for).

We are always sorry to hear/ read that guests were not entirely satisfied with their stay, and we hope that you still enjoyed your time in the Lake District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay over the bank holiday weekend. The hotel is located a 2 min walk from Windermere village and about a 15 min walk from the lake and Bowness. Windermere has enough to entertain for one evening but there's not really a lot going on there, Bowness is a lot busier but is very commercial and not like typical Lakes towns.
The hotel itself was beautiful. We were created by a very friendly, helpful member of staff on arrival who showed us to our room. The room (Kilnhow) was a little on the small side but was spotlessly clean and provided all the necessary amenities. The en suite bathroom was equally spotless with a fab shower. Breakfast orders need to be filled in the day before and offer a great selection of choice. Breakfast was tasty both mornings and the waitress was very friendly and attentive. All in all a great hotel of you like the area of Bowness/Windermere.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandypandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review. We are very pleased that you found the room adequate for your stay, and that you have commented on positively about our staff.

We do like to pride ourselves with our breakfasts and to offer a variety for our guests to enjoy, so we are very glad that you did enjoy our breakfasts and have commented on them.

We hope to welcome you to The Howbeck in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were greeted by a lovely friendly staff member, unfortunately didn't get her name. She was very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Hotel was very quaint, nice to only have a few rooms. We booked on a living social deal and on arrival were upgraded free of charge to the Windergill room. Breakfast was beautiful, we ordered the night before what we would like for our cooked breakfast so the food was freshly served to our table. Only a 15 minute walk down to the lake. Lots of restaurants in the area. I would say it was on the expensive side and would probably only book again on voucher deal as before. However you do get what you pay for....would definitely recommend

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xPeachx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear guests, thank you for reviewing your stay and for leaving such kind comments. We continually strive to make guests feel welcome from the moment they walk in the door, so thank you for noting this.
When there is availability we always try to upgrade guests, so we are pleased you appreciated and enjoyed your luxury 4 poster room.
Thank you for recommending us to others and we hope you will find the time to visit us again in the future.

Please note that we ALWAYS recommend booking directly with ourselves as we always strive to price match/ beat third party booking agencies/ promotional sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

1st class room, 1st class service. We entered our room to find rose petals all over the bed, a free bottle of wine and some chocolates. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay there again and would highly recommend a stay there.
Very friendly & helpful staff
10/10

Room Tip: We stayed in The Deepdale & managed to sneak a look at the other rooms available, as when we sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadGerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear guests, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay, and for describing the room and service as, "1st class", how lovely to read. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked a weekend stay here for my wife's birthday.

First of all, the hotel (and especially Dominique) were exceptionally good in re-arranging our stay twice due to the adverse weather conditions. We were very unlucky with the weather but they really made it easy for us to re-arrange which was great.

The service and cleanliness around The Howbeck is flawless and the food we had on Saturday evening was fantastic.

This is one of the best all round places I have ever stayed which reflects its value for money.

Book without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di5coStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guests, we are all so truly thrilled to read about how much you enjoyed your stay; we hope your wife had a fabulous birthday! We will always do our utmost to accommodate our guests wishes, and should there be any problems, such as the need to change dates, we always try to be as flexible as possible.

Your kind comments about the service and the cleanliness are warmly received - thank you!

We're pleased you feel we offer great value for money, and hope to welcome you both back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked The Howbeck as a Honeymoon break. We found the room to be in an immaculately clean condition, with complimentary cherry in the room on arrival. We had a four poster bed with spa bath which was lovely. The breakfast was hot and served by the very polite and friendly staff. We took advantage of the off-site Pool, sauna, steam room and had a back, neck and shoulders massage. The Hotel will write out a pass so you can use the facilities.
Overall experience was excellent. Only one small complaint about one of the day staff who was miserable. I phoned before we set off to The Howbeck to ensure the booking had been made and was rudely interrupted to be corrected twice within one phone call. (I can only assume she was having a bad day).
The help and generosity of the second (assuming night shift staff) easily helped us forget about the rudeness of the first person, She advised us on a great place the eat, directions and arranged Taxi's for us.

We will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your honeymoon break with us at The Howbeck. We are sorry that you found one of our staff members miserable, but we are glad that our evening staff helped with restaurant choices and taxis.

Thank you for commenting on our breakfasts and the staff that served your breakfasts.

We do hope that you do decide to stay with us in the future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Property: The Howbeck
Address: Howbeck New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing