We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic room, lovely bathroom but small noise from room downstairs”
Review of The Howbeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Howbeck
Ranked #14 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Basic room, lovely bathroom but small noise from room downstairs”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visited this hotel for my birthday weekend , we were in the smallest room in the hotel the lowthwaite. Room was small but bathroom was tiny, although it was ultra modern and we liked the modern bathroom . We found the hotel to be in a good location, but the problem was in the afternoon after long walks in the lakes we came home for a lie down but the noise from the room below (who appeared to play very loud music every time when they went into their bathroom) was terrible. . When we complained we we told it would spoil the other peoples experience and the room below had paid for their holiday! This happened 3 times over our weekend and we felt like second class citizens to the expensive room below! Breakfast had to be sent back as the eggs were cold too. Also no bar in the living room or offer of a coffee when we sat in the living room for ages was very disappointing. The sister hotel looked better down the road!
We did however enjoy the use of the hotels spa nearby only wished we had stayed there too!
The lack of service let this place down.

Room Tip: The lowthwaite is obviously the worst room as it was very noisy as the " romantic suite" w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrandmrs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guests, many thanks for providing us with feedback following your stay. We are extremely disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. 'Lowthwaite' is our smallest room, this we try to make clear when people book directly with us over the phone. When people book through third parties, it is hard for us to match which room is best suited to the guests (all of our rooms are individually designed).
We are pleased that you liked the modern bathroom which was fitted last year, however we are sorry that you didn't feel it was spacious enough. Many of our other rooms have larger bathrooms, but because of the lay-out of the building, some bathrooms have to be more compact.
Our main concern is that you were unhappy with the service received. Looking through previous reviews, we are almost always praised for our levels of service. We are therefore highly disappointed that you feel you did not receive the service we pride ourselves on. For this we sincerely apologise. Furthermore, we do not prioritise any guest over another, so we are sorry you felt this way.
Please be assured that the issue with the noise levels from below are being looked into. We regret that your complaint was not handled efficiently and in the professional manor in which it should have been. This too is being examined.
We do offer a fully stocked drinks service until 10pm each evening. The lounge area is accessible 24hrs a day, and any drinks to be consumed after 10pm, can be purchased before reception is closed.
We are sorry that you were not offered a coffee whilst sitting in our lounge. We are an extremely busy establishment, so we are not always aware when guests are sitting in the lounge. If a member of staff is not at reception, the 'attention bell' can be used throughout the day until 10pm should anyone require a beverage.
Once again, we are extremely sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    128
    55
    19
    17
See reviews for
47
732
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I spent only one night there but it was really enjoyable. When we arrived there was rose petals on the bed with wine and chocolates to enjoy- all free. The wine was a decent Australian Chardonnay as well. The staff were so friendly and could not do enough for us. The evening meal was delicious and the breakfast had a really good choice. We both had eggs benedict which was a nice change from the "usual". I was between that and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Would I go back-in a minute!

Mick K

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guests, thank you on behalf of all the team for such a lovely review. We are thrilled to read that you both enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding the food will be shared with the kitchen team, who will be extremely grateful. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just enjoyed a one night stop at the Howbeck. Good location away from busy Bowness but, unfortunately, there is not much in Windermere. Could not find a decent pub. Our room, Mickleden, was adequate - spotlessly clean but starting to look a little tired around the edges. (Some loose wallpaper and old bracket for TV still on the wall). Bathroom is quite small and some grouting between the floor tiles is loose and discoloured.

On the positive side staff were charming, friendly and efficient. Wine and chocolates are a nice touch but rose petals on the bed unnecessary.Food was excellent. First class dinner with good quality wine and not at a silly price. Breakfast also was top class with lots of fresh fruit and nuts but unfortunately the orange juice tasted like it was from concentrate which, sadly, let the breakfast down a little.

All in all this is a top class B&B but not quite up to the standard it is trying to portray on it's website. Would not take a lot to bring it up to scratch. Would certainly consider going again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123StillGame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guests, many thanks for reviewing your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, would consider returning, and rate us a 'top class B&B'.
We are sorry to read however, that you were not entirely satisfied with your room. The summer season has been extremely busy, so a bit of wear and tear is unfortunately inevitable, this however is not an excuse. The bathroom floor, has now been completely re-tiled, and we are undergoing further refurbishment/ decorating over the low season.
The majority of our rooms have undergone refurbishment within the last 2 years, so we would love to welcome you back, maybe for a stay in an alternative room.
Once again we would like to express our disappointment that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay, and hope you give us the opportunity to prove ourselves to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Howbeck and had a fantastic time. Staff are helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. In fact, it was like a home away from home. The food was great, breakfast and evening meal. Great location, rooms were spacious and very clean. Would definately go back again and would be the only place we'd stay in the Lake District. Thank you all for making my 50th Birthday so special. I would highly recommend this hotel B&B. Thank you all once again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptional - we stayed in the Greenburn room and couldn't fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guests, we are extremely pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your birthday break with us in our Mini-Suite, 'Greenburn', and would like to thank you for your lovely, kind comments. To be called 'a home away from home' is highly rewarding and to read that you plan to return likewise. We all look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Howbeck.the staff were very helpful and friendly
really enjoyed the cooked Breakfast .Lovely clean room
Ideally situated ,a few minutes walk to shops and restaurants.
would recommend .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guests, many thanks from all of the team for sharing such a kind review. We are extremely pleased that you liked your room and enjoyed our Cumbrian breakfast. Thank you also for your comments regarding the staff. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the Howbeck at the end on September 2012, we're always hesitant when staying somewhere new as it can make or break a holiday, I can say wasnt disappointed, the howbeck itself is ideally located within a couple of minuets walk to Windermere and a slightly longer stroll to bowness. Our room was beautiful and clean but what truly made our stay was the exceptional service of the staff, they just could not do enough and where a absolute pleasure, we could not thank them enough! I would highly recommend this hotel and will defiantly be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guests, thank you for publishing such a fabulous review and for awarding us 5/5 in each category - what more could we ask for!? We are thrilled to see that you will both visit us again and recommend us to other. We truly look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Without a shadow of a doubt THE best hotel/B&B we have stayed in. The staff are friendly, the rooms just have to be seen to be believed, withawrsome beds and bathrooms. The cooked breakfast is yet to be beaten. Cannot fault the place at all, stayed a few times now and wouldn't even consider any other hotel in the Lakes. Truly a five star experience. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phatalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guests, it makes us all immensely proud to read that we are the best B&B/hotel you have stayed in, so thank you very much. We are really pleased that you continue to book with us when visiting the Lake District, and we all look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Property: The Howbeck
Address: Howbeck New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing