We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay”
Review of The Howbeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Howbeck
Ranked #27 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and The rooms were very clean and had a nice decor. The breakfast was lovely and there was a good choice. The hotel was in a good location between Windermere and Bowness. Overall our stay was pleasant, however it seems that the rooms were overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmistry7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2011

Dear guests, thank you for puplishing your view for others to see onTripadvisor. It's great to hear that you 'loved your stay' and hope this means you will visit us again. We're sorry you thought the rooms were overpriced, but we price ourselves competitively with other 5* establishments in the area, which agreeable may be more than in other areas in the UK, but we have to remember what a desirable and beautiful place The Lake District is! To catch a late bargain, check out our special offers on our website!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 963 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2011 it was a very last minute hotel booking and we found a great package on expedia for £355 for 3 nights with breakfast.

The B&B is lovely its has about 9 rooms. We stayed in the ground floor room near reception called Lingmell room. We were worried about being right near the front door or by reception initially but it is fine. The room is lovely and compfortable.
When you check in you are given a slip for every day your having breakfast and you have to return that to reception the night before to ensure you get a cooked breakfast. On our last day we decided we will just have some tea and so did not fill in the form. The hotel staff was amazing they said they noticed we didnt submit our order and are happy to make breakfast for us. We just asked for Tea and helped our self to the cold breakfast buffet.

The staff is amazing , it was quite humid in the lake district and so the room got a little warm at night so we requested a fan (Carol at reception) and while we were out a fan was put in our room.

Highly recommend this hotel for comfort and good service.

This B&B has a sister B&B a few doors away called Windermere Suites and that is lovely also and has won best B&B of year with regards to design as its very funky. This was my first choice but not available at the time so went with Howbeck with no regrets

Thanks to The Howbeck Team

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear guests, the whole team would like to thank you for writing such a great review. Your comments regarding the staff and service provided are particularly appreciated, as we do all strive to make all our guests stays as enjoyable, comfortable and memorable as possible. It sounds like you received a great package deal, but would like to remind potential guests that's it's always a good idea to check our own special offers on our website before booking, or call to get our best price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We were given some gift vouchers as a wedding present from our friends, and we loved it so much we then recommended it as a present for others.

It was a lovely little place, with a personal touch. Breakfast was delicious, even the veggie option and the lady at reception (her name escapes me) went out of her way to be helpful even when on her lunchbreak. We stayed in the Deepdale Room.

We loved our time in the Lakes and will hopefully be back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_bug786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear guests, we are so pleased to read such another fab review. To receive 5/5 for service makes all the hard work feel worth while, as we put alot of effort into training all our staff, in order to provide our guests with outstanding service. We're glad the gift vouchers proved to be a great success!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here for a second time and it was better than the first time. All the rooms are extremely comfortable and the Staff are more than helpful. It is also very well placed for walking everywhere so you can just leave your car in the spacious car park and relax for the whole of your stay! And the breakfast here is ti die for!! All in all an excellent break, we will be back for a third time!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNAN16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

Dear Sarah, thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We're glad your second stay with us was enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back for a third stay in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We visited the Howbeck for my wifes birthday. The staff were friendly and attentive, the breakfasts were wonderful and varied and the room was spotless and spacious (we have the Deepdale room)
Great location for Windermere, though I would recommend avoiding Bowness which is now ridiculously touristy. The Howbeck has it just right - full recommendation

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulbutler267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

Dear guests, we are thrilled that you both had such a wonderful time, and we appreciate that you chose to stay at The Howbeck to celebrate your wife's birthday. Maybe she'll return the favour for yours!? We would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed in the Howbeck for 4 nights. For most of the time our experience was wonderful. We were made to feel very welcome by Roberta from the moment we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very quiet and the shower was fantastic. Our first day's breakfast was great but unfortunately things went wrong on our second day, the 20th July. We, and some of the other guests waited for over 30 minutes for our cooked breakfast. When my scrambled eggs and smoked salmon eventually came, the eggs were completely overcooked and inedible. Obviously there was some problem with the breakfast service that day, so let's hope it was an isolated incident. Certainly the next day the breakfast was excellent again. Leaving aside this one problem I can thoroughly recommend the Holbeck and we are very likely to return

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

Dear guests, the team at The Howbeck would like to express our thanks after reading your review. We're glad you had such a lovely time staying with us, and hope you will return. Also I would like to apologise about the problem with the breakfast service on the 2nd day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We checked in here and were absolutely bowled over by the welcome. The rooms are great, very well furnished and lots of space. high quality breakfast with a lot of choice. Excellent. We will go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry_White270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Dear guests, we would like to express our thanks after reading your review. We strive to make our guests feel welcome from the moment they step through the door, so your regarding your welcome is greatly appreciated. We're thrilled you enjoyed our award winning breakfast, and are glad to hear that you plan to return. Many thanks, from all of The Howbeck team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
319 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Windermere Suites
Windermere Suites
#34 of 107 in Windermere
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#60 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 107 in Windermere
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Address: Howbeck New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $137 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing