We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little guest house - perfect setting for a lovely weekend”
Review of The Howbeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Howbeck
Ranked #19 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely little guest house - perfect setting for a lovely weekend”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We were given some gift vouchers as a wedding present from our friends, and we loved it so much we then recommended it as a present for others.

It was a lovely little place, with a personal touch. Breakfast was delicious, even the veggie option and the lady at reception (her name escapes me) went out of her way to be helpful even when on her lunchbreak. We stayed in the Deepdale Room.

We loved our time in the Lakes and will hopefully be back one day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_bug786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear guests, we are so pleased to read such another fab review. To receive 5/5 for service makes all the hard work feel worth while, as we put alot of effort into training all our staff, in order to provide our guests with outstanding service. We're glad the gift vouchers proved to be a great success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    130
    56
    20
    18
See reviews for
50
741
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here for a second time and it was better than the first time. All the rooms are extremely comfortable and the Staff are more than helpful. It is also very well placed for walking everywhere so you can just leave your car in the spacious car park and relax for the whole of your stay! And the breakfast here is ti die for!! All in all an excellent break, we will be back for a third time!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNAN16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear Sarah, thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We're glad your second stay with us was enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back for a third stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We visited the Howbeck for my wifes birthday. The staff were friendly and attentive, the breakfasts were wonderful and varied and the room was spotless and spacious (we have the Deepdale room)
Great location for Windermere, though I would recommend avoiding Bowness which is now ridiculously touristy. The Howbeck has it just right - full recommendation

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulbutler267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear guests, we are thrilled that you both had such a wonderful time, and we appreciate that you chose to stay at The Howbeck to celebrate your wife's birthday. Maybe she'll return the favour for yours!? We would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed in the Howbeck for 4 nights. For most of the time our experience was wonderful. We were made to feel very welcome by Roberta from the moment we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very quiet and the shower was fantastic. Our first day's breakfast was great but unfortunately things went wrong on our second day, the 20th July. We, and some of the other guests waited for over 30 minutes for our cooked breakfast. When my scrambled eggs and smoked salmon eventually came, the eggs were completely overcooked and inedible. Obviously there was some problem with the breakfast service that day, so let's hope it was an isolated incident. Certainly the next day the breakfast was excellent again. Leaving aside this one problem I can thoroughly recommend the Holbeck and we are very likely to return

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear guests, the team at The Howbeck would like to express our thanks after reading your review. We're glad you had such a lovely time staying with us, and hope you will return. Also I would like to apologise about the problem with the breakfast service on the 2nd day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We checked in here and were absolutely bowled over by the welcome. The rooms are great, very well furnished and lots of space. high quality breakfast with a lot of choice. Excellent. We will go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry_White270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear guests, we would like to express our thanks after reading your review. We strive to make our guests feel welcome from the moment they step through the door, so your regarding your welcome is greatly appreciated. We're thrilled you enjoyed our award winning breakfast, and are glad to hear that you plan to return. Many thanks, from all of The Howbeck team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This is my 2nd time staying here. This time I brought my mum, cousion & friend & they all loved it just as much as me.We had a lovely girly weekend,the breakfast was great(lots of choice) so were the staff & the rooms are lovely & very clean.Location is great just a few mins walk into Windermere & about a 20min walk into bowness.Cant wait to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Dear guest, we are so pleased to hear that you and your relatives enjoyed your stay with us at The Howbeck. It's always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests, and we hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2011

super can't wait to go back ! super place great staff. fantastic friendly everything you could wish for.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_mosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Dear guests, we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us...Another 5/5 across the board. Many thanks from all of The Howbeck team, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
376 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,155 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Property: The Howbeck
Address: Howbeck New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing