We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay, just gets better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Howbeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Howbeck
Ranked #14 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Far East
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great stay, just gets better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

This is our 4rth stay at the Howbeck, its our favourite having tried other local hotels, service and staff are 1st class, especially Roberta who seems to work 24 hours a day!

As always we opted for a room with a spa bath to soak our bones after a day on the fells, and spending time at the spa and pool, had some good weather too, good food across the road at Hooked and also in Bowness at Jacksons, going back in Oct.

Room Tip: Look at the special offers page on the web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomsfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear guests, we would like to thank you for another wonderful review. It's great to hear that you are returning to our guesthouse time after time, and to read that 'the service and staff are first class' is fabulous. We look forward to welcoming you for your fifth visit and hopefully many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    127
    53
    19
    17
See reviews for
47
727
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

We had a great time in the Lakes. A main reason for that (apart from the beautiful weather) was definitely the Howbeck. I planned a romantic weekend with my girlfriend and the Howbeck was the perfect venue for this. The service was always superb, we got great recommendations for local restaurants, they helped us planning our walks in the area, there was a great range of free DVD's to borrow - everything was just perfect.

In addition to the luxury room we also got Spa passes for a beautiful wellness area and a gym where we could relax after the long walks.

Save the best for last: the breakfast.
Every morning we woke up already being excited about the breakfast. Fresh fruits, freshly baked bread, meat, cheese, cereals, different fruit juices, tea, coffee, scrambled eggs, egg benedict, full english breakfast... Literally everything you can imagine!

I can highly recommend the Howbeck and I'm sure I will definitely return for my next holiday in the Lakes.

Thank you for a great time!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchMackes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear guests, we would like to thank you for the excellent review you have published. To hear that we were the perfect venue for a romantic break is lovely to hear and we are always happy to provide those special little touches that make it all the more enjoyable. Its wonderful to hear how impressed you were with the service, facilities and food, and even better to hear that you will return to The Howbeck in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Bought my wife here for her 45th for a couple of days and would highly recommend to anyone. Rooms are comfortable,functional and clean (I'm sure my wife has OCD, so this is praise indeed). Breakfast really excellent too, served by friendly staff.

A pleasant walk down the road to Bowness where there's plenty of opportunities to wine and dine.

In the words of Arnie "I'll be back"

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg911P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear guests, thank you for taking the time to publish such a great review. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially as it was for a special occasion (we hope your wife had a fabulous birthday). We love to hear such possitive comments regarding the accomodation, staff and food, and would be very pleased to welcome you back to The Howbeck in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

A lovely clean hotel with well presented rooms and welcoming staff on hand to ensure a pleasant stay. Fantastic breakfast!!Had everything you could want. We were also lucky with great weather. All in all a great weekend and would love to return!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear guests, thank you for taking the time to publish your great review. We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and it's great to see that you 'would love to return'. Thank you from all the team at The Howbeck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

We wanted to celebrate 2 years together in a special way, and chose this luxury hotel in the Lake District based on a personal recommendation. The hotel has different rooms/suites available, and we chose the Retreat. The decor is very high quality, and the bed was huge, but the best feature was the airbath/jacuzzi with TV. Breakfast is delivered to your room, so you don't have to get changed and go to a dining room for it. The hotel is located in the centre of Windermere, within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Bowness is a bit futher away, about 5 mins in the car.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmo1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear guests, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay in our luxury suite 'The Retreat' for your 2nd anniversary. It's always great to read such lovely reviews, and we are glad that you had such a wonderful time celebrating. It's also great to hear how much you enjoyed the luxurious bathroom. We sincerely hope that you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

From the moment that we entered The Howbeck we felt that we were amongst friends.
The welcome was fantastic and set the tone for a very pleasant stay.
The owners of The Howbeck are a lovely couple, very customer orientated and very hands on in all aspects of the hotel.
Their enthusiasm and drive inspires every member of staff, which means that the visitor will receive high quality, professional and amazingly friendly service.
The Howbeck is ideally situated. Two minutes walk from Windermere and very accessible for the M6.

Room Tip: Leave your tranquillizer's at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webbing11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear guests, we would like to thank you for submitting such a great review. We firmly believe that a warm welcome provides a great start to a holiday, and we are therefore pleased to hear you comment on your greeting. It's also wonderful to hear you compliment the staff and the service received. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

My partner & I stayed at The Howbeck this weekend just gone & we were really fortunate to have beautiful weather for our stay. We travelled by car & the hotel was easy to find. On arrival we were offered a tea / coffee which was just what we needed after a 4 hour journey. We were showed to our room where our champagne & chocolates were waiting for us......which was part of the package; although we weren't given our passes to the spa (which was also part of the package)........this however wasn't a problem as no was no time for pampering ourselves not with all the beautiful views the Lake District has to offer.

The staff were all very friendly which created a warm welcoming atmosphere. Overall the hotel was beautifully decorated & in a great location for Windermere & Bowness - on - WIndermere by foot / car. There's a wide range of places to eat in Windermere: cafe's, fish restaurants, tea rooms, italian, indian, british pub......something for everyone.

If returning to this part of the Lake District I wouldn't hesitate to stay at The Howbeck again!

Room Tip: Superior room was comfortable & good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyJo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear guests, thank you for publishing your great review after staying in one of our superior rooms. It's great to hear that you 'wouldn't hesitate to stay again', this is exactly what we aim to acheive. If you do return in the future and wish to use the Spa passes, these are kept at reception as we only have a limited number, so please ask. Once again, thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Property: The Howbeck
Address: Howbeck New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing