We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Geeat veiw from the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orrest Head

Orrest Head
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Geeat veiw from the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Thanks trip advisor, wouldn't have found this hidden gem with you. It was well worth the 20 min walk to top and costs nothing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan2029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    876
    209
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
171 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great view, minimal effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a gentle walk for about 20 minutes butat the top one feels a little guilty for having such amazing views for so little effort!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ripplevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Little effort for a grand view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The walk up to Orrest Head is an easy one. From the foot of the hill, one can choose two paths - a trek through the forest, or just follow the bitumen road up. I chose the latter as it had been raining, and I had my parents (already 70) with me. It's an easy walk, about maybe 30 minutes of relaxed strolling uphill. The final part involves a tiny bit steeper climb on an unpaved path but nothing difficult, even for my parents. A couple of guys that arrived about the same time as us took the other way and reached the peak right after us, so I assume that way isn't much harder for the young and fit.

On reaching the top, you are rewarded with a beautiful panorama of the town, surrounding farmlands, and of course, the lake. As I said, it had been raining so there was mist hanging above the lake but it was lifting as we were up there. Absolutely heavenly. There were a few people up there but it wasn't crowded and was pretty quiet, so it's wonderful to just sit, breath in the cool air, and take in the view at your leisure.

This is an easy walk suitable for all ages. Easy to find and extremely accessible, as it is right in the town of Windermere, which is where most tourists will arrive and stay - in fact, the starting point is just a stone's throw away from the train station. I'm sure there's plenty of other rewarding walks around the area but for the ease and accessibility of this place, it's definitely one to do if you're just spending a weekend with the family.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chiselstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing spot worth the easy walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have visited Orrest head many times and to be honest it is one of my favorite spots in the lakes.
Great views and a well worth walk to see the delights at the top, Just love this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Dont miss this view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fairly short walk but the BEST view in the lakes when you get to the top. Do not miss the opportunity

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orrest Head also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Orrest Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing