We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Guest House very friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Willowsmere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Willowsmere
Ranked #6 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Guest House very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

Decided to treat ourselves to an extended visit to Windermere. Have never stayed longer than a few hours before. Warm welcome and very friendly keen to show Windermere at its best. Lovely room overlooking the garden, comfy bed and pillows. Husband particularly enjoyed the whiskies on offer at the 'honesty' bar. Lovely Cumbrian breakfast and nothing too much trouble. Will be back

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MAM127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Hi MAM127, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us so much! Thanks a lot for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, really appreciated. We look forward to seing you back here soon. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    44
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
210
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed here a few weeks ago and have only just got around to writing this (sorry) but we didn't want to pass up the chance of saying what an excellent place to stay this is. We had trawled through websites of some other hotels with very mixed reviews and then came across The Willowsmere where everybody gave very positive comments. And how right they were - the staff were very welcoming and friendly, the room and bathroom were very spacious and comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, everywhere was spotlessly clean and the there is also a delightful garden. We would definitely stay here again and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodTime61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hi Foodtime61, I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with so much, many thanks for taking the time to share a review. Many of guests mention our reviews when they are checking in so it is obvious that people appreciate honest feedback as it has helped take some of the guess work out of choosing a place to stay. many thanks again for your lovely comments, we hope to see you back here before too long. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

We came back to the Willowsmere and were not disappointed. The service was attentive, the room was excellent and the breakfast very tasty, I also sampled the available choice of malt whiskies - very nice too.

Room Tip: Last year we had a small room and it was OK. This year we took a four-poster and it was worth the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hi Graham J, it was great to see you back here and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with so much. Our four poster rooms are our biggest and I like to think they are worth the extra so great to hear you echoing that opinion. Well we hope to see you back here soon. Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, much appreciated. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

My wife and I visited the Lake District in July hoping to do some easy walking and exploring. Willowsmere was possibly the saving grace of our visit as it rained over 80% of the time that we were there! The owner Anthony was most welcoming and made some top recommendations for local dining and things to do in the area. Our room was most comfortable with a fabulous victorian bath/ shower and nice views overlooking the gardens. Breakfast was a delight and they even served some of my birth countries best export.. Rooibos tea!

There is ample parking and brochures/ books on local walks and things to do are plentiful. We will definitely stay there again upon our future return to Windermere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donavan_CAPEANDFIELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hi Donavan and many thanks for the review, very much appreciated. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay here and particularly pleased you liked your new bathroom! We can't do much about the weather but most other variables we can at least influence! Thanks again and hope to see you back here. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

When we arrived we were made very welcome and were served freshly made coffee and biscuits , and then had the local pubs and restaurants guide explained by Jay who is a brilliant host .It has a huge car park which is a big plus to us ,you can park the car up and take a 5 minute walk into Windermere itself ,or take a bus ( the bus stops right outside ) or a taxi to Bowness which is quite a lot busier ,After a really good hearty breakfast (there is a wide choice on the breakfast menu to suit everyone ) we used the nearby swimming pool at the Windermere Manor Hotel ,which is free to patrons of the Willowsmere ,you just show your room key for entrance .The staff were very friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay here again and thanks again to Jay and staff .... Sue & Des .M.

Room Tip: we were in room 5 which looks onto the rear gardem and is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Des M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hi Des M, I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us so much! Really nice to get feedback like this! I think I was away at a wedding the weekend you stayed so it is lovely to hear The Willowsmere was in safe hands whilst I was away. We do try to make the place feel very homely so it's great to hear you thought so. Thanks for taking the timer to share your thoughts with the TripAdvisor audience and hope to see you here again. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

My daughter and I spent a really enjoyable week at the Willowsmere in June/July 2014. Whenever you book holiday accommodation for the first time there is always an element of chance. I would say to anyone contemplating booking at the Willowsmere you need have no worries. You will not be disappointed. Anthony and Jason (owner and manager) and their small team work together almost like a family and are dedicated to ensuring the comfort and contentment of their guests. Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice and as much as you want. Our room was nicely furnished, the beds were very comfortable, the bathroom with over-bath shower was, like everywhere else, impeccably clean. The gardens too were well cared for and have won prizes. Excellent all round. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hi Kenneth H, many thanks for your lovely review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with so much and found everything to your liking. I'm glad we appeared to work together like a family as it is partially true! Jason is my cousin, Zaneta my girlfriend and Lynn is officially my second mum!! We really to hope to see you back at some point. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

I have been meaning to do this review since I got back! Apologises for not doing so as this was the best break my partner and I have ever had. The owner Anthony and his family were not only welcoming but they couldn't have done more for us. From excellent service, to gluten free cooked breakfasts for me with a list of recommendations for restaurants and things to see and do. We will definitely be back to stay again. We really did love it. Thank you. Amy and Kal.
P.s. The bathroom was gorgeous!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hi Amy A, well I love to see headlines for reviews like that!! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with so much, to be described as the best break you have ever had is truly great to hear! We really hope to see you back here before too long. All the very best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willowsmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willowsmere

Property: The Willowsmere
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Willowsmere 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willowsmere is a grand Victorian residence built in c1850 from traditional Lakeland stone. All bedrooms are en-suite with either bath and/or shower facilities. All are double glazed, centrally heated and come complete with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, hair driers, radio alarm clocks, free WiFi, fluffy towels and superior toiletries. They have views either to the front toward Orrest Head viewpoint or to the rear over looking the award-winning garden.The Willowsmere has two guest lounges and a private garden where guests may enjoy a drink from the honesty bar or from the growing malt whisky selection. Full English breakfast is included and there is an additional buffet style breakfast too. The guest house has free WiFi, ample off street parking and all guests have complimentary access to nearby leisure facilities less than 5 minutes walk away with indoor swimming pool, sauna and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Willowsmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willowsmere Hotel Windermere
The Willowsmere Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing