We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 night Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Willowsmere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Willowsmere
Ranked #6 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“3 night Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Haviing just returned from a 3 night stay for my partners surprise 50th Birthday, even though the weather was not at all kind to us, our stay at the Willowsmere was perfect. James was very informative on his knowledge in recommending 3 eateries - The Lamplighter Dining Rooms, Lazy Daisy's and The Golden Mountain Chinese, all of which were excellent!. James also recommended places to walk and visit, which we did and thoroughly enjoyed. The Willowsmere was spotless throughout, our bathroom was beautiful and our room extremely comfortable. The breakfast was second to none with all ingredients of the highest quality. All in all a perfect break away. Thank you so much James

Mandy and Richard

Room Tip: Excellent location within easy walking distance to the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi Amanda B, I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with so much and that you found the tips and advice you received so helpful! We can't hope for more than to hear a guest describe us as the perfect break so I'm thrilled by your comments. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your new bathroom, we are currently replacing the last 3 bathrooms so from February we will have 10 brand new bathrooms, not bad in less than a year! Finally, I'm also pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts, we certainly take pride in them and spare no expense when it comes to ingredients so it's good to know it is appreciated. Both Jason (not James!) and I hope to see you back here at some point in the future. All the very best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    44
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
210
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Together with our son, we stayed at Willowsmere enroute to Durham - my son's university. We had extra luggage and Anthony was really helpful in letting us store the extra luggage in his shed so we did not have to carry the extra luggage up to our rooms. The rooms were really clean and comfortable though my son's single was quite small.
The Breakfast choices were excellent.
Minor complaint were the taps - separate cold and hot taps at the wash basin- not mixer taps.
Would recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frostztea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Frostztea, many thanks for taking the time to post a review, much appreciated. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and feel able to recommend us to the TripAdvisor community. Also pleased you found us to be very clean and offering a great choice of breakfast options. With regard to your comment about the taps this is quite a common UK system, we do have mixer taps in most bathrooms but not all as yet. Thanks again for your review. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent... What more can I say.
Anthony was fantastic and very welcoming. 1st time in the lakes for a long time so appreciated the tips on places to visit.
Our room (2) was great, the most important thing... The bed, was very comfortable and we slept really well. Someone commented that the decor was a little dated, that might be true but it suits the building and made our room feel extra cosy.
Breakfast ***** and extremely filling, we didn't need lunch.
We will certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florie_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hi Florie_Bee, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on The Willowsmere with TripAdvisor readers. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the breakfast so much - and the bed for that matter - they are the 2 main things we do (bed and breakfast!) so they are our rightly our main priorities. In terms of the décor we are continuing to upgrade the fabric of the building, the key priority has been bathrooms, we've replaced 7 so far with a further 3 planned for January (including the room you had, room 2). Our WiFi system has also been upgrading to give complete coverage in all areas and all bedrooms. I'll continue to invest in upgrades but I am planning to return the place back to its Victorian splendour so there will continue to something of an old fashioned theme, but deliberately so! Thanks again for taking the time to post a review. Look forward to seeing you back here at some point. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Enjoyed a fabulous last minute break at The Willowsmere Received first rate hospitality from Anthony and his team. Superb breakfast and perfectly located. Bedroom was to high standard and the renovated bathroom a credit to the owners. Cant wait to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d_tyrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hi d_tyrer, many thanks for taking the time to post a review, really appreciated! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much, really pleased you had a good break! Many thanks for your compliments about the new bathroom, this has been quite a mission for me since I took over The Willowsmere last year. So far we have completely refurbished 7 bathrooms and the final 3 are planned for January (the new suites are already in my shed!). I'll be pleased to move on to something else! As always I'm delighted you thought the breakfast was superb - I certainly believe we do a breakfast that is hard to beat! Many thanks again, and hope to see you back here at some point. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I would recommend this fine, very clean and peaceful guest house to any person travelling and wishing to visit the beautiful Lake District, which we are very lucky to have in our fantastic country. The staff on arrival are very helpful in familiarising you with the facilities and the surrounding areas. After a brief induction with the staff, you are left to your own devices without any person bothering you during your stay. The property itself has quite dated décor, however this adds to its character and is kept to a very high standard of cleanliness. I can’t fault the comfortable rooms and the little extras that are on offer. The breakfast was great, with enough options to suit all requirements. I would definitely consider staying at The Willowsmere again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hi Peter S, firstly many thanks for leaving a review, I always appreciate getting feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found us we offer a clean and peaceful retreat in the heart of the Lake District. We set our standards really high and try to deliver a 5 star experience to every guest so I'm a little disappointed we fell a little short with you. There are many areas I am looking to update but my priority has been the bathrooms, by February 2014 we will have completely updated 10 bathrooms and refurbished 2 others which it quite an achievement in 18 months. But I know there are other areas to address next and I am already planning what we will be tackling over the next winter period. Thanks again for your feedback, and I hope to see you back here at point in the future. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
206 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

My favorite part of our stay here was definitely breakfast, which was included with our stay. (We traveled with Special Group Tours, which was AWESOME.) You get to order what you like and there are also items like fruit and yogurt put out for you to munch while you wait. We also enjoyed the French press coffee, as well as the goodies on the tea tray in our room. (Believe it or not, I'm not overweight--yet) :)

The owners were SUPER hospitable and friendly.

I loved the view from our room and also from the lobby. The gardens were gorgeous. We enjoyed walking to dinner each night, as it's a pretty area. (There was one steeper climb though, so if you're not used to walking too much, maybe take a car.) There's a place that's not too far with the best fish and chips I've ever had. Ask the owner, as I can't remember what it's called. Or you can ask Ambrose at Special Group Tours. He's the best tour guide around, by the bye.

Out of all the places I've stayed in the UK, this was my favorite.

As a perk, if you need a last minute gift for a woman in your life, they sell handmade jewelry in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Nicole R, many thanks for posting a review, really appreciated! After reading your glowing comments I have to admit I'm disappointed we fell short of the 5 stars! Seriously, if you do have any feedback that would help us move the needle up a notch it would be really appreciated! I'm so glad we made it the top of your list for places to stay on your tour, and I'm particularly pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts, we like to think they're hard to beat! Oh, and I think the fish and chip shop you are talking about is Vinegar Jones, a Bowness institution!! All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent 5 nights here in early October on our recent trip abroad. Having read the reviews we decided on this place and were not disappointed. We were met by Anthony who over the now legendary coffee gave us his insights into this spectacular area. We followed his recommendation of the Queens Head pub in Troutbeck where we had 2 brilliant meals.
Our room was on the top floor but the stairs were easy to negotiate, the room itself was well appointed and right for our needs. The breakfasts were a great way to start the day. The breakfast room and the two lounge areas provide comfortable additional space. The ample parking and the easy walk into Windermere also make this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DemonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi DemonJohn! Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, it's very much appreciated! Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much - great to hear! Delighted to hear our welcome coffee is now taking on legendary status!! I know it's a long way from Melbourne but if you ever get back over this way it'd be great to see you here again. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willowsmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willowsmere

Property: The Willowsmere
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Willowsmere 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willowsmere is a grand Victorian residence built in c1850 from traditional Lakeland stone. All bedrooms are en-suite with either bath and/or shower facilities. All are double glazed, centrally heated and come complete with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, hair driers, radio alarm clocks, free WiFi, fluffy towels and superior toiletries. They have views either to the front toward Orrest Head viewpoint or to the rear over looking the award-winning garden.The Willowsmere has two guest lounges and a private garden where guests may enjoy a drink from the honesty bar or from the growing malt whisky selection. Full English breakfast is included and there is an additional buffet style breakfast too. The guest house has free WiFi, ample off street parking and all guests have complimentary access to nearby leisure facilities less than 5 minutes walk away with indoor swimming pool, sauna and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, LateRooms, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Willowsmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willowsmere Hotel Windermere
The Willowsmere Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing