We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Willowsmere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Willowsmere
Ranked #6 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great stay over a 3 night break. Ant & Jay very welcoming and helpful. very good standard of accommodation and breakfasts are superb. Rooms spotless, warm and welcoming. Plenty of easy parking and situated close to many good restaurants. Will return soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taekwondo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi Taekwondo1000, thanks for taking the time to post a review, much appreciated! Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we'll look forward to welcoming you back here sometime soon! All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    44
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
210
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I took my girlfriend to the willowsmere as an xmas present and was my first time at the lake district, ant and jay (the owners) knew this and made our stay as memorable as possible, breakfast was fantastic, rooms were small but very cozy and accomidating and the reading room with its 'honesty bar' was so peaceful. Jay and ant both knew we were novices to the walking world and they helped us pick some brilliant walks. I have never felt so at home and relaxed in any bnb/hotel i have ever stayed in. We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed an extra night. It will be one of many stays at the lakes and at the willowsmere, your stuck with me im afraid. Mark from Newcastle

stayed on the 1st to the 4th of march 2013

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_from_Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Mark from Newcastle, I'm really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us so much and found The Willowsmere to be so relaxing and homely - that's certainly what we try to offer, a home from home atmosphere if you like. I'm really passionate about The Lake District, I've loved the place since childhood and I can't help myself from helping visitors make the most of their stay because I want them to love to the place too! You commented that the room you stayed in was small so I just wanted to highlight to those reading this review that you booked our "cosy" double room that is sold at a discount to our larger rooms. Thanks again for taking the time to post a review, it's very much appreciated. Cheers, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife Julie and I where overwhelmed with our very friendly welcome received by Anthony, you made us feel like we were old friends revisiting, you don't get that sort of welcome very often.
Your hotel has to be one of the best we have ever had the pleasure to stay in, it was very clean, the bedroom was perfect and the bed was just LUSH its 3 of the best nights sleep I have ever had if i'm honest. Breakfast was also just perfect with a cracking choice of meals to choose from and also a great service.
Thank you Anthony for a great stay at our first ever visit to the Lakes, WE will be coming back, if you'll have us. Thanku.
Mr Paul Wright - 7th Mar, 2013

Room Tip: We had a superior room, really good choice the bed was a Queen bed and sooooo comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi Paul, many, many thanks for posting such a lovely review! I'm so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay so much and rated us highly on all the key areas. It's particularly heartening to hear this was your first stay in The Lakes, I'm really pleased we have contributed to a good first impression! Hope to see you back here in the not too distant future. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Willowsmere with my elderly parents. I had a more than adequate deluxe single room whilst my parents were in the ground floor disabled room, both were spotless. Jay and Anthony could not be more helpful, Jay greeted up with a welcoming cup of tea on arrival and offered tips on where to go to eat etc. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice. As we were unable to go out at night we particularly liked the lounge with the honesty bar, a brilliant idea. I would highly recommend the Willowsmere to anyone looking for a short break in the Lake District and I definitely will stay there again in the near future.
Pam Stockton

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi Pam, thank you so much for such a lovely review - we're all delighted to hear how much you and your parents enjoyed your stay with us - music to our ears! Thanks again and look forward to seeing you back here soon. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

From the moment we walked in through the door, both Jay and Anthony made us feel completely at home. Nothing was too much trouble and the whole experience could not be faulted. We were treated to such a friendly welcome by Jay with a lovely cup of tea and a run-down of the best restaurants around, as recommended by the boys and their previous guests. Our room was on the top floor at the front of the building and after being a little concerned about possible road noise my fears were soon allayed as a moderate rush hour passed and peace descended.
There were so many lovely touches in the room; apart from the usual tea and coffee, we had hot chocolate sachets, sherry, orange squash, water, biscuits, a large TV and fresh robes on the bed! There were also lovely fluffy towels in the bathroom with quality complimentary toiletries in dispensers. If I have any criticism it would be the slightly dated bathroom and loo but it was all scrupulously clean and fresh. Our four-poster bed was firm but comfortable and blankets were to hand in the cupboard which was very handy as when we were there it was chilly. However, we could just have turned up the heating.
The breakfast choices were lovely and I particularly enjoyed the scrambled egg with salmon. My husband had the full English breakfast which he said was delicious. I would also recommend the eggs benedict.
There were some special touches downstairs including a comfortable guest lounge which held an honesty bar, free WiFi in both the lounge and the alternative seating area in the large hallway, a file of menus from local restaurants and a welcoming fireplace during the day.
The Willowsmere afforded us a delightful spot to base ourselves while visiting an elderly relative and although we have been holidaying in the Lakes for years, we felt we made a truly lovely new discovery.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickitickiturvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello Nickitickiturvi and thank you so much for posting such a thorough and lovely review of your recent stay at The Willowsmere! We're all so pleased to see feedback like this, makes it all worthwhile! Thanks again and hope to you see you here again in the not too distant future. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Went up for a wedding in a nearby country hotel. Really Nice guys who run the place...great breakfast, helpful. Nice touches in the rooms. Honesty bar is nice. And great location. Would use again. Cheers Anthony. Good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylanfan10, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Ian, many thanks for taking the time to post a review - much appreciated! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much, hope to see you up here again - there are some great running routes so you can mix work and pleasure very easily! Good luck with the training. Cheers, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

A decent size carpark, adjacent to a lovely old house constructed of Cumbrian slate. On arrival we were welcomed by Jason with a cafetierre of fresh coffee who then sat and chatted with us about what we hoped to gain from our visit. Having never been to Windermere before we were keen to explore the surrounding area whilst relaxing and spenidng time together. He then showed us to a very nice, newly decorated double room at the front of the property. Jason tells us they take the oppertunity in the low season, to decorate the guest areas. Our room was very nice with tea and coffee making facilitiues and a wall mounted tv with freeview. We had a large bathroom with bath and shower and complimentary tolietries where supplied.
Jason manages the hotel and it is owned by his cousin Antony. They both had a detailed of knowledge of the area, suggesting walks of varying degrees of difficulty and cycle routes. They were also able to give us details of nearby restaurants and cafe’s also local restuarants which he, which they and their partners had visited and had a folder with menus from each.
There was a variety of breakfast available each day , the full English was delious being locally sourced, and the smoked salmon and scrambled eegs was exceptional.
We would throroughly recommend the Willowsmere, Jason and Antony made us feel very welcome and we would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fisio311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylanfan10, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Fisio311, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, obviously much appreciated and really great to read your comments. We're all thrilled you have enjoyed your stay, the hotel, the facilities, the service, the advice and of course the breakfasts so much! Hope to see you back here sometime soon! All the best, Anthony, Jay and Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willowsmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willowsmere

Property: The Willowsmere
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Willowsmere 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willowsmere is a grand Victorian residence built in c1850 from traditional Lakeland stone. All bedrooms are en-suite with either bath and/or shower facilities. All are double glazed, centrally heated and come complete with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, hair driers, radio alarm clocks, free WiFi, fluffy towels and superior toiletries. They have views either to the front toward Orrest Head viewpoint or to the rear over looking the award-winning garden.The Willowsmere has two guest lounges and a private garden where guests may enjoy a drink from the honesty bar or from the growing malt whisky selection. Full English breakfast is included and there is an additional buffet style breakfast too. The guest house has free WiFi, ample off street parking and all guests have complimentary access to nearby leisure facilities less than 5 minutes walk away with indoor swimming pool, sauna and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Willowsmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willowsmere Hotel Windermere
The Willowsmere Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing