We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic homely hotel”
Review of The Willowsmere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Willowsmere
Ranked #9 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights on the buy 2 get a night free offer with my partner. very friendly hotel in lovely windermere. well worth the money to the fact i would pay the same price for 2 nights. friendly staff lovely rooms and FANTASTIC food will definately be booking again very soon x thank you... louise and jeff

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loubylou1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Hi Loubylou1011, I'm so glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us so much! We love what you say about The Willowsmere, we certainly pride ourselves on our breakfasts so it's always good to hear we've hit the mark! Also great to hear you thought we were great value for money - the 3 for 2 offer continues until 25th March if you book on our own website so still time to enjoy the Lakes and a bit of a bargain too! Look forward to seeing you again at some point, until then many thanks for posting a review, very much appreciated, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 412 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

Got caught out in the snow so pulled in here and stayed the night rather than sitting in the car for hours on end. Nice bedroom,nice public areas,garden looked good but was under a foot of snow. Breakfast was excellent.The owners are super friendly,on the main road towards Ambleside but pretty quiet. 5 minute walk into town. Couldnt fault the place really.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireManinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Hello Yorkshiremaninblack (great name btw!) - many thanks for the review, much appreciated! I know you selected us mainly because of our 'Vacancies' sign and our position on a very snowy road (!!) but I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay - it would be nice to see you back here at some point in the future. Thanks again, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great b&b in very convenient location - very handy for walking but just a short stroll from pubs and restaurants in Windermere. Excellent breakfasts too. Great advice on local restaurants, walks and things to do - We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Hi rmwp and many thanks for posting a review of The Willowsmere! I'm delighted to read you enjoyed your stay so much and found us to be conveniently located, well informed and purveyors of fine breakfasts! Hope to see you back here soon. All the best, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed at this b&b twice now and felt we really had to write a review. We stayed here first in July 2012 for two nights for our wedding Anniversary. We enjoyed it so much and only wished we had stayed longer. We were greeted by Anthony himself who was so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble at all. We had a beautiful traditional room with four poster bed and stunning views of the spectacular garden. The champagne and flowers ordered were of the best quality and we loved the beautiful dressing gowns provided in the package. Anthony gave us great advice an walks, lakes and restaurants in the area. The breakfasts were amazing! my husband loves a good English and he reckons this is one of the best ones so far! No grease just really nice quality bacon, sausage and all the works cooked beautifully...perfect start to the day. All in all we can't praise The Willowsmere and all it's staff enough. Jason was great too, so friendly and really made you feel welcome. We went back mid December for a Christmas break and again we were not disappointed. Beautiful Christmas decorations really got us in the Christmas spirit. We will definitely be going back in 2013!

Room Tip: Great to know this b&b also has a well equipped disabled room which will be a real plus as we ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yenaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Hi Yenaks, and thank you for such a lovely review!! We're all really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It's lovely to receive such positive feedback and know that our efforts are appreciated. We really hope to see you returning to The Willowsmere in the future. Thanks again and best wishes for the New Year, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I don't normally post reviews on hotels. In general they provide an adequate place to rest when away from home for business or pleasure. Frankly they don't excite me. I'm making an exception for The Willowsmere as it is an exception. Rather than seek to keep customers content, Anthony, the new proprietor is doing his level best to provide a home from home and make them happy. There really is a clear difference. Whether its the obviously high quality ingredients for an excellent breakfast or the Kendal Mint cake amongst the normal teas and coffees in the large and comfortable rooms or (in our fortunate case) the kind offer of a glass of champagne to celebrate New Years Eve, Anthony is making the extra effort to succeed in such a competitive environment. I liked the whisky selection too and can only hope that he finds the time to restock the hole that I made in it prior to my next visit! This was a great find and I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear ChrisT - wow! Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review. I'm obviously delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and that you noticed the little touches that we hope will set The Willowsmere apart from our many counterparts. We are about to embark on a programme of refurbishments to continue to improve what we offer and hope that when you return you notice further improvements. Thanks again for your lovely feedback. All the best, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We love the Lake District and must say this was one of the best places we've yet stayed in. The cooked breakfasts were fantastic and the host Anthony was extremely friendly and helpful. Although we know the Windermere area quite well, he was still able to direct us to some new undiscovered 'gems' in this lovely area. Overall, great location, super host, fabulous breakfasts. Will certainly go back very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Hi Steve B, Happy New Year and thank you for your review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much! Good to hear I helped uncover a few hidden gems for you in the area - I'm certainly making new discoveries in the area on a daily basis! I was also really pleased you appreciated the breakfasts, we certainly take pride in our breakfasts and use only the best local ingredients. Great to hear your planning to come back soon - we'll look forward to seeing you again. All the best, and thanks again for taking the time to post a review. Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights from December 14th and would certainly book again. My single room was small but cosy, with an extremely comfortable bed and lots of treats which were replenished each day. The reception rooms were very much in keeping with the house. High quality linen and towels, 4 star breakfast and a very warm welcome made this a very pleasant stay. My thanks go to Anthony, who arranged a mountain goat (mini bus) tour for me on the Saturday and also had many suggestions for places to visit/eat etc. All in all, a memorable stay in a well cared for establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NannyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Hi NannyBeach and thank you so much for taking the time to post a review - always appreciated and especially so when they are so positive! I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - I am very aware that we are a primarily a Bed + Breakfast establishment, so my main priorities are to ensure our guests get a good night's sleep and an excellent breakfast and sounds like we succeeded with you! I'm also glad my suggestions were useful as I think this is the other element that B+B's should be able to provide, good local knowledge and advice! Thanks again for the review, and we look forward to welcoming you back here in the not too distant future. All the best, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
533 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
607 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
719 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#23 of 107 in Windermere
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willowsmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willowsmere

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $95 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Willowsmere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willowsmere is a grand Victorian residence built in c1850 from traditional Lakeland stone. All bedrooms are en-suite with either bath and/or shower facilities. All are double glazed, centrally heated and come complete with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, hair driers, radio alarm clocks, free WiFi, fluffy towels and superior toiletries. They have views either to the front toward Orrest Head viewpoint or to the rear over looking the award-winning garden.The Willowsmere has two guest lounges and a private garden where guests may enjoy a drink from the honesty bar or from the growing malt whisky selection. Full English breakfast is included and there is an additional buffet style breakfast too. The guest house has free WiFi, ample off street parking and all guests have complimentary access to nearby leisure facilities less than 5 minutes walk away with indoor swimming pool, sauna and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Willowsmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willowsmere Hotel Windermere
The Willowsmere Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing