We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous bed and breakfast in the lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Willowsmere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Willowsmere
Ranked #7 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
1 review
“Fabulous bed and breakfast in the lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast in October. I always look for somewhere traditional and with character when I stay in the lakes and I was not disappointed, the building was very original , the gardens beautiful and the rooms were very spacious, much better than I expect from a b&b. There was also lots of parking, enough for a car club to visit if they wanted! The host Anthony welcomed us with a drink and took lots of time to explain the best walks, restaurants and pubs close by... Thanks for the tip on the Thai Anthony, it was lovely! All the staff couldn't have been more friendly and Anthony as a host surpassed our expectations. I also loved the minibar, there was a choice of more than 10 local beers and Anthony also has a fantastic collection of whiskys, ideal for a nightcap! All in all, I couldn't have been more pleased, everything was perfect and the price was fantastic too. I will definitely be coming back, get the kettle on....

Room Tip: We had friends staying and I have to say that all of the rooms were lovely, but there are several lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi Danny L, thank you so much for such a lovely review, I'm almost blushing!! It's great to hear that you really enjoyed your recent stay here, and that the service and some of the little touches we provide to try to make any stay here as close to perfect as it can be were both noticed and appreciated. You were a lovely group and it goes without saying we'd love to see you back here again, hopefully in the not too distant future. All the very best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    44
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
214
31
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west drayton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned from a 2 day break at The Willowsmere in Windermere, we were both welcomed with a pot of tea and biscuits, from Anthony who made us feel very welcomed, as we had a long drive. Willowsmere is a lovely period B&B with beautiful period fittings, we stayed in the Four Poster Roon this was very comfortable the added decanter of sherry was a lovely touch to the room. Anthony was very informative for all the surrounding areas i,e; Restaurants, Bars, Shops, walks.Evenings walked in to town, only 10 mins too some excellent restaurents recommeded by Anthony. Breakfast was excellent, Eshter was very attentive and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Would definatey reuturn....

Room Tip: we stayed at the front of the B&B, I did not have a problem with the road, windows very good and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Manager at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi Karen L, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay whilst a guest at The Willowsmere! Thank you so much for posting a review, it's really appreciated by everyone here. All the very best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night with daughter. As previously said the stay was made by the hospitality of Anthony, mine host. Great to receive cuppa as soon as you have arrived after long drive. Lots of tips and hints about where to eat. Try Lazy Daisies, 10 minute walk, great food! Room was very clean and bathroom spacious. Lounge area was lovely and breakfast spot on for start of day. A real find so give it a try you won't be disappointed. Good luck to Anthony for future. CB.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DustyB321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hi DustyB321 (love the user name by the way!) and thank you for posting a review. Really pleased you enjoyed yourselves while staying at The Willowsmere and always glad to hear my recommendations proved to live up to expectations! HOpefully we'll see you again next time you are visiting your daughter, all the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed at the Willowsmere recently for some well needed R&R. The hotel was comfortable and well situated, the breakfast excellent, but best of all was the friendliness and helpfulness of the owner, Anthony - you couldn't wish for a more hospitable host! Will definitely be coming back

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BrianPHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hi BrianTHughes, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here so much! It's always great to hear feedback from guests, especially when it is so complimentary! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, it is very much appreciated! Hopefully New York city was a little cooler for you when you returned. If you are ever back this way again it would a pleasure to see you back at The Willowsmere. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Met up with some friends to do a bit of cycling and walking. Weather as always a little changeable in Lakes so pleased we went for a b&b. Anthony gave us a very warm welcome and had a host of great recommendations for places to cycle, walk, eat and drink. After a hard days cycling followed a very nice meal at one of the recommended establishments in Windermere it was nice to round things off with a malt whiskey at the Willowsmere, Laphroig my favourite. Had a good nights sleep and woke up to a Full English breakfast, perfect fuel for a days walking in this spectacularly beautiful part of the country. Whatever your reason for coming to the Lakes I would say the Willowsmere is the place to come.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidT719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hi David T, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, really appreciate it and so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your weekend at The Willowsmere. Just in case any other cycling enthusiats are reading this I'll just add that I have now bought a mountaining biking guide to add to my collection of guides and maps that are available for all guests to borrow, oh, and I have 2 locking sheds that guests are always welcome to use for cycle storage. Thanks again David T, hope to see you back here sometime in the not too distant future. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding with my sister and have to say that the service, food. and accommodation were very good. A good hearty breakfast cooked to perfection with plenty of choice. A wonderful place to stay while visiting the Lake district. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackamelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hello mackamelbourne and thank you for taking the time to post a review - it's really appreciated. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay at The Willowsmere, and whilst I appreciate it is a long way from home I hope we'll see you back here at some point in the future. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have just spent 2 nights in a very friendly and homely Guest House, We were made to feel welcome the minute we stepped through the door, with freshly made coffee and good information on the local area. Room was lovely and quiet with large comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked, nothing was too much trouble for Anthony and his staff. We will definitely be returning the next time we visit the Lakes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Owner at The Willowsmere, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi Mechelle H, thank you so much for posting such a lovely review! I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and I know the staff will be delighted to hear their efforts don't go unnoticed! Really look forward to welcoming you back here at some point, hopefully in the not too distant future. All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#5 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willowsmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willowsmere

Property: The Willowsmere
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Willowsmere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willowsmere is a grand Victorian residence built in c1850 from traditional Lakeland stone. All bedrooms are en-suite with either bath and/or shower facilities. All are double glazed, centrally heated and come complete with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, hair driers, radio alarm clocks, free WiFi, fluffy towels and superior toiletries. They have views either to the front toward Orrest Head viewpoint or to the rear over looking the award-winning garden.The Willowsmere has two guest lounges and a private garden where guests may enjoy a drink from the honesty bar or from the growing malt whisky selection. Full English breakfast is included and there is an additional buffet style breakfast too. The guest house has free WiFi, ample off street parking and all guests have complimentary access to nearby leisure facilities less than 5 minutes walk away with indoor swimming pool, sauna and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Willowsmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willowsmere Hotel Windermere
The Willowsmere Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing