We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Ranked #39 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

myself and my wife stayed here for the great north swim weekend as my wife was swimming the 1 mile wave with some friends, from the moment we arrived we were made incredibley welcome, we had booked room 3 with the 4 poster bed and the room was huge, warm, lovely and clean and a pleasure to stay in,

the breakfasts here i have to say are easily the best breakfasts ive had in a b&b, loads of choice and a specials board, the hosts couldnt do enough for us

all in all a lovely place to spend a few days away with friends

would hghly recommend and hope to be staying again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonWayne, Owner at Laurel Cottage Windermere, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you so much for the great comments, we enjoyed meeting you and hope that you will consider us in the future, maybe when you do the swim again,
thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 240 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband, our adult daughter, & I stayed at Laurel Cottage May 4-7, 2013. We loved Laurel Cottage! Wayne & Alison were so nice! They made reservations at a restaurant in advance for us, led us to Mountain Goat Day tours, & continually helped us. All the breakfasts were delicious! Wayne is a wonderful cook. Alison made her amazing pancakes for us our last morning. We highly recommend Laurel Cottage to anyone traveling to the Lake District. Thanks, Alison & Wayne!!! You were awesome! NJ, JJ, & NJ

Room Tip: We had rooms 1 & 2 at the back of the house. Even though we had people next door, the rooms wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonWayne, Owner at Laurel Cottage Windermere, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the lake district.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My fiancé and i stayed for two nights over the weekend in Laurel Cottage in room 3 (four poster) We were far from disappointed. Prior to booking, I felt that the pictures of the decor was far superior to many places of higher price. When we first entered, we both commented on how large it was inside; very grand and impressive. The building seems to go on forever!
Our welcome was top notch. Extremely friendly and helpful. We chatted to Wayne about suggestions of places to eat that evening and he was only too happy to explain in detail how to get to restaurants and which ones are the best. We took his suggestion and were not disappointed.

The room was simply beautiful. Spacious yet cosy with beautiful decor. The bed is an absolutely divine nights sleep and there are several nice touches like homemade biscuits on the welcome tray, a hair dryer, iron, a mini fridge and a lovely fluffy carpet which felt especially nice after a long days walking!

Breakfast was superb! Good portion size and a selection to choose from on the buffet including homemade cakes. There is a specials board....choose the pancakes. A taste sensation!!! Particularly impressed that both Wayne and Alison asked if we had dietary requirements and didn't mind adjusting our breakfasts to not include the things we didn't like. They both took the time to chat to us for some time at breakfast about many random topics and help us with our plans for the day.

Location is perfect. A 2 minute walk to Windermere centre. Fifteen mins to bowness.

Overall an amazing stay. Couldn't have asked for better hosts and a perfect place to stay. Definitely recommend!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank Kara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonWayne, Owner at Laurel Cottage Windermere, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you both for your epic review , room 3 is a popular room, loads of space and a monster bed.
It was great chatting to you both and we hope that we see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Last year me and my partner stayed at Laurel Cottage. We were so satisfied that we returned this year, this time with friends. Once again we had a lovely stay!

The room was lovely and clean. The owners, Wayne and Allison are great hosts and very helpful. The breakfast is excellent and the daily specials are a treat. The B&B is located in a quiet part of Windermere and provides an excellent location to discover both the town and the Lake District.

I would highly recommend Laurel Cottage and will return in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanMoorsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this B&B. The care and hospitality of the owners is very high. The rooms are neat and tidy and get an every day upkeep. With an every day fresh made special on the breakfast menu it is a great and lovely start of each day. The B&B is located on a few minutes walk from Windermere and on a 20 minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere.

I highly recommend this B&B and no doubt we will ever get back there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StefanHalfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonWayne, Owner at Laurel Cottage Windermere, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review , we appreciate your kind words and hope that we see you again in the future, glad that you enjoyed the specials during your stay here, where always trying to think of new ideas,
thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My first time staying here after looking for a dog friendly place on trip adviser. The experience was lovely with the host Wayne and Alison looking after you. The location is good with lots of parking on the main road outside with a large park opposite. 5 mins walk to the center of Windamere and 15 walk down to Bowness. The room were of a great standard with a large shower and en-suite bathroom. A nice choice for breakfast with a extra choice on the special board by the front door you could sign up for. We had not really come prepared with too much info for our walk and they gave us a map with an excellent printed directions for a lovely walk up the local fell. They pretty much planned our day walk for us which I thought was a great touch. A lovely first time experience of Windamere and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El-Cleggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonWayne, Owner at Laurel Cottage Windermere, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

thank you for a great review, we are in a convenient location for some local walks with some of the local ones written by us on the website.its nice being opposite the park with the dog, never far to go. glad that you enjoyed it here and we hope that we will see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Laurel Cottage for a 2 night stay and paid extra for the four poster room. It is located a 5 minute walk from Windermere, and probably a 10 minute walk to Bowness. The room was of an excellent standard and the bed was very comfortable with views across to the park. Alison and Wayne were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay, with suggestions for bike rides, and also helped to store our bikes. Breakfast was excellent. All the ingredients for the cooked breakfast were of fine quality in addition to a buffet with cereals and home made cake and granola (plus a specials board!). It even has a good wifi signal which in Windermere is particularly useful. We would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trotter20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonWayne, Owner at Laurel Cottage Windermere, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

thank you for our lovely review, pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast, we like the granola and cake too. there are lots of maps now for cycling as Cumbria tourism have just printed new cycle routes for the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,511 reviews
1 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#29 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#9 of 107 in Windermere
396 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 107 in Windermere
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#31 of 107 in Windermere
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage Windermere

Address: 8 Park Road, Windermere LA23 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $94 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Cottage Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please consider contacting us direct for possible discounts. Laurel Cottage offers you a warm & friendly welcome to this beautiful Victorian guest house built in the 1890s from local stone which has been sympathetically renovated & modernised for your comfort, yet has retained all its character & original features. It is peacefully situated just three minutes' walk from Windermere village centre & all its amenities. There are 5 comfortable en-suite rooms with TV, DVD and WiFi access. There is a guest fridge on the top floor for drink and food. WE DO ACCEPT DOGS IN ROOMS 1 and 2. Please contact us re your pets before booking, thank you. CONTACT US DIRECT should you wish to book or want to know any offers or further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Laurel Cottage Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Windermere Hotel Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing