We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay with Exceptional Value for Money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Ranked #39 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay with Exceptional Value for Money!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The title says it all but let me try to sum up our stay at Laurel's Cottage.

We arrived from Manchester at Windermere by train and took a long walk around lugging two suitcases and a travel bag. The walk was almost 10 minutes up and down some streets and finally with the help of GPS and Google Maps we reached Laurel's Cottage (we found out later that there is a smaller way to the station through the town center or through the supermart next to the station).

Wayne welcomed us at the cottage and helped us with the luggage to our room. We were the given Room Number 5 which was right on the top of the cottage. It was a nice comfy room with ample space for our cases and bag. We dropped off our luggage and planned to run off to the town center for a little evening exploration. Wayne provided us with our key for the main door. We roamed around the town center and came back a bit late after dinner and went off to sleep. We woke up in the morning for our breakfast (8:00 am to 9:00 am) with the specials. The breakfast was very good with fresh bread, excellent eggs (rumble and tumble) with a good coffee and tea to wake you up. We met Alison at the breakfast table who was our hostess at the cottage and had a lovely conversation with her. We went back to bed and probably slept till evening which is a testimonial to what happens when a good breakfast and a comfy bed collide! Wayne met us and provided us with some maps to explore Bowness. The piers at Bowness are almost 1 mile walk from the Cottage and the town center is a 2-4 minutes walk from the Cottage as well. We came back to the Cottage quite late and slept in to wake up to another lovely breakfast where we had pancakes which was STRONGLY recommended. We went around for a walk in the hills around the bowness lake and came back early evening to sleep in early and in another day or so left for Edinburgh after saying goodbye to our lovely hosts, Alison and Wayne and their dog!

Just to sum up the experience. The room we stayed in was excellent value for money. You may find it a little small with no seating area but after a walk around the hills, you just want to sleep. The beds were very comfy and although tap water is drinkable we still bought some mineral water to avoid any tummy issues. The bathroom was well accessorized with natural cosmetics. The airconditioning was not required but at night the radiator in the room worked perfectly well. A tip to remember is not to mess with the thermostat on the radiator as I did and it stopped working. A better idea is to bug Wayne and tell him to work out the temperature. The breakfast is more than brilliant as it is fresh and well made and applause is due for Alison's serving skills. and although we stay Wayne in an apron, I am still skeptical on who makes the breakfast! Both Alison and Wayne helped us be comfortable and made us feel at home. We had a great time at Laurel's Cottage and would strongly recommend it to couples looking for a home to stay in Windermere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonWayne, Owner at Laurel Cottage Windermere, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you both for such a lovely review, its great that you enjoyed your stay with us. the room you were in has since been redecorated, new pics are now on tripadvisor and will be on our website soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
147
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
I hate cities
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I almost don't know where to start, but suffice to say Wayne and Alison were wonderfully genuine and warm hosts. Our stay was an absolute pleasure and they always succeeded in doing all they could to make our 4 day break as good as it could possibly be.

Wayne's enthusiasm for the Lakes is highly infectious and he's a mine of information for things to be doing during your stay. Forgotten your map? - no problem, Wayne lent us one for our stay and suggested some great things to do. Have a dog? - no worries, we have a greyhound and she got the warmest welcome and was treated like a member of the family. Into good food? - no worries, Alison's homemade cakes are ace and Wayne's breakfast specials made me happy in the mornings even though I'm a hopeless morning person. My girlfriend mentioned she's vegan when booking and we're used to bringing a carton of soya milk with us - no need, Alison made sure there was soya milk and spread for toast.

If you're looking for a grand place with a pompous lobby, faceless staff, a lift and a pool and all the amenities and vacuous frills then this is not the place for you.

The other reviews have already mentioned how good the rooms and location are and we'd certainly agree.

Laurel cottage is a real gem and Wayne and Alison are stand out hosts. We felt truly welcome and totally relaxed in the house. Lisa and I couldn't help but smile one morning when Alison excused herself briefly to wave the kids off to school. It was a real privilege to meet the family and stay for a few days. We can't wait to go back. See you soon.
Steff and Lisa from Bristol x .........and Kyte the greyhound

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steff_Christmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonWayne, Owner at Laurel Cottage Windermere, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Wow , what an epic review. Thank you both so much for the kind things that you have said about us. Alison and I are always pleased when someone has enjoyed their stay with us. we certainly enjoyed meeting you and hope that we will see you all again in the future, Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

First visit to Lakes - Windermere did not disappoint and the Guest House was lovely. Wayne and Alison provide a relaxing atmosphere with a wealth of tips on local walks. Thank you for a lovely stay, will definitely return and recommend to friends and family. Best wishes Jill and Steve (Rotherham, South Yorkshire).X

Room Tip: Discuss with Alison and Wayne direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonWayne, Owner at Laurel Cottage Windermere, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review , so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from a weekend at Laurel Cottage. The B&B is situated in a quiet residential area just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Windermere. Opposite the Cottage is a lovely playground that would be ideal for any visitors with small children. We stayed in room 2 which had a Super King Bed. The room was very comfortable, nicely decorated and well equipped. The breakfast options were terrific with a specials board, a selection of cereals and fruits and also the ubiquitous full English breakfast. The full English was superb and just what was needed before a day out walking. Wayne and Alison were great hosts who were warm, friendly and always willing to help. All in all, I would recommend Laurel Cottage to anyone who wants a peaceful get away from it break but still within easy reach of the tourist attractions of Windermere and Bowness.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonWayne, Owner at Laurel Cottage Windermere, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
thank you for a lovely review, we do try and give a large selection for breakfast and are pleased that you enjoyed it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Cottage with its beautiful garden. We enjoyed the breakfast served especially the specials which we preordered the evening before. Our room was nice, bright and cheery with good toiletries and our hosts Alison and Wayne, were the most hospitable people one can ever meet.
The location was perfect for us and, we could park our rented car along the road just outside the Cottage.
I hope to return to the Windermere soon and to bring my 80 year old mum to stay at the Cottage, I am sure she would love the place.

Christine Cheng

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a friend and prefer to have single beds, you will have to book early as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheng c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our family of 4 have spent 4 nights at Laurel Cottage in August in room 4. The B&B is in a quiet residential area of Windermere, only a couple of minutes away from the centre, and a few minutes drive from the more lively Bowness on Windermere. The room was the right size for our family, and was extremely neat and clean. Attention to detail was impeccable. Breakfast was great too, with Alison and Wayne seeing to every (shall I say odd) request my boys had. They were always ready to chat and suggest itineraries for the day, breakfast was always a highlight of our stay. You're doing a great job Alison and Wayne, keep it up and thanks for having us.

Room Tip: We had room 4, which was a very good size for a family of 4. The only slight drawback was that we (I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinNaxxar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

4 of us have just spent 5 nights here.

We had room 4 & 5. Room 4 is bigger. Rooms were both clean and tidy.

Would definitely recommend this b&b. Good value for money.

Breakfast was cooked to order, with cold options also and a daily special.

The b&b is a short walk to Windermere town centre.

Wayne and Alison are excellent hosts and able to offer advise for where to go, eat, visit routes etc.

Thanks

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junior_patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonWayne, Owner at Laurel Cottage Windermere, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review , we enjoyed meeting you all and hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.0 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#27 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadfoot Guest House
Meadfoot Guest House
#46 of 108 in Windermere
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#22 of 108 in Windermere
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#30 of 108 in Windermere
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ivythwaite Lodge hotel
Ivythwaite Lodge hotel
#40 of 108 in Windermere
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage Windermere

Property: Laurel Cottage Windermere
Address: 8 Park Road, Windermere LA23 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Cottage Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please consider contacting us direct for possible discounts. Laurel Cottage offers you a warm & friendly welcome to this beautiful Victorian guest house built in the 1890s from local stone which has been sympathetically renovated & modernised for your comfort, yet has retained all its character & original features. It is peacefully situated just three minutes' walk from Windermere village centre & all its amenities. There are 5 comfortable en-suite rooms with TV, DVD and WiFi access. There is a guest fridge on the top floor for drink and food. WE DO ACCEPT DOGS IN ROOMS 1 and 2. Please contact us re your pets before booking, thank you. CONTACT US DIRECT should you wish to book or want to know any offers or further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Laurel Cottage Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Windermere Hotel Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing