We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“s grant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southview Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southview Guest House
Ranked #25 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“s grant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This guesthouse is a great place to stay we could not fault it in any way and are planning to revisit soon Kate and Barry are really good hosts and the breakfast is nice and varied the swimming pool alone is well worth the visit

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    70
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
285
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
189 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Nice little cosy 7-room guesthouse.

Modern fittings, spotlessly clean, small swimming pool (!), private parking, close to station (+its bus stops - great for one way walks) and they serve kippers for breakfast. Hosts are also a fine source of information about local walks. What more could you want ?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My now fiance and I stayed here the weekend he proposed!! It was the perfect romantic getaway and was the second time we had been. We will certainly be returning many times, we love it here and Kate and Barry are so lovely and really do their utmost to make you welcome!! They even gave us home made carrot cake on arrival and after hearing about our engagement, left a little bottle of bubbly for us to enjoy :-)

Loved every second!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuziJayne88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

What a lovely welcome from kate and barry, we had just trudged the last mile and a half through a snowstorm after abandoning our car.Kate showed us to our room and also showed us the pool.The room was spotless clean and very cosy.The pool was great which we used after we had been out walking.The breakfast was very good lots of choice and plenty of it.All in all a lovely cosy friendly place to stay thanks Barry and Kate........ Brian & Julie Etherington (BRADFORD)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and received a very warm and friendly welcome from Barry who kindly offered to help us with our bags and showed us to our room. On the way he showed us the pool which looked nice although we did not use it. The room was lovely - very modern, lovely furniture and decor and very clean. There was a flat screen TV and DVD player and there were some DVDs available to borrow. The bathroom was also very nice, we stayed in room 11 and had a jet bath. In the room were tea, coffee and hot chocolate making facilities and we were told to help ourselves to the different types of teas available downstairs and if we wanted fresh milk rather than UHT we only had to ask. We were then offered some carrot cake which Barry brought to our room with the fresh milk. He really did go the extra mile and it was appreciated!
Breakfast was great - help yourself to cereal, fruit and juice. Served tea, coffee and a hot breakfast. We were then given some advice on some interesting walks to do around the area. We decided to walk up to Orrest Head which is very close to the guest house and has a lovely view of lake windermere. Windermere itself is limited in terms of places to eat in January, a lot seemed either quiet or closed. However, there are 3 pubs which were nice to drink in and Bowness on Windermere is only a mile away where there is a greater choice of restuarants. The guest house also has a bar, where we got 2 alcholic drinks at a very reasonable price.
We were very pleased with our stay and would definately recommend the guest house to anyone. Thank you for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tink1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Barry n Kate couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was excellent great choice n speedy. Pool was lovely after doing walks n bedroom warm clean and very cosy. I would defiantly recommend for value and service.
Thank you Barry and Kate
Mr & Mrs Blinkhorn (DONCASTER)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallaballoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sassenach
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Decided to stay here after reading about the pool. A great choice, we had room 10 and it was an excellent room and extremely quiet. The pool was fine and we used it every day. The carpark is small and testing, but space is short in windermere so it is an added bonus to have offsite parking. Hosts are very friendly and they certainly serve a good breakfast. easy walk to Windermere. All in alla they do a very good job and would recomend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 10 was well appointed and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenRinnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#16 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jerichos Guest House
Jerichos Guest House
#11 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#17 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#6 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#8 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southview Guest House

Property: Southview Guest House
Address: 27 Cross Street, Windermere LA23 1AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southview Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Windermere, Southview offers charming 4-star guest house accommodation and a heated indoor swimming pool. The railway station is a 3-minute walk away.Each en suite room is individually decorated, featuring an LCD TV and a DVD player. Superior rooms have an en suite spa bath or a body jet shower. The Bar/ Lounge is a relaxing place to enjoy a drink. The hosts are friendly and welcoming and speak fluent Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Southview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southview Guest House Hotel Windermere
Southview Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing