We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Beckside-lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded and tranquil Beckside Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
47 reviews
Secluded and tranquil Beckside Lodge
Bright and Airy living
Modern kitchen with dishwasher and fridge/freezer
One of the many things to enjoy at Beckside Lodge!
Family bathroom
Twin bedroom 1
Twin bedroom 2
Secluded decking with barbeque
Private garden
Beck side
From the private garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sammyjosm...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Beckside Lodge for a week in July/August 2016 and then for 3 nights at the end of October 2016. The lodge is in a great location on White Cross Bay and has a lovely private garden to the front, with the stream on both sides.

The lodge is comfortable, cosy and well equipped, with everything you could possibly need. The lake and pub/playground/swimming pool are all just a short walk from the lodge. There is plenty of parking space for 2 cars.

The decking area is great and a brilliant size, although we did not get to use the BBQ! Our 2 boys loved the lodge and we were all sad to leave!

The owners, Kevin in particular was extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend this lodge for families and couples.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catriona...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect autumn break”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing weekend we have had at Beckside Lodge! None of us wanted to come home and could have easily spent the rest of the week there. The lodge is the perfect setting to admire the changing colours of Autumn. The kids loved the pool at White Cross bay. We paid £15 for a pass for the 4 of us and never had any problems using the pool. The lodge is in a great location, near to the facilities. It was very peaceful and we never felt over looked. Inside the lodge there was everything we needed. The ramped access was great for our son who is a wheelchair user and inside there was plenty of space to get around. All of the beds were very comfortable - loved the fact the main bedroom had a kingside bed! We ate in and found the kitchen to be fully equipped for self catering. The lounge area was comfortable and cosy with a great selection of DVD's. Just what we wanted after our days out in the fresh air! Overall a great place to stay and we all hope to return. Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home holiday accommodation that all the family loved
Liked least: Having to come home
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review. We are so pleased you and your family had a fantastic holiday at Beckside lodge and enjoyed all the comforts we have introduced.
We are so pleased that you found the ramped access a great help. I can understand the need to stay at the lodge for a longer break, as the lodge and area really helps to unwind and recharge the batteries.
I am certain you will return to the Lakes and spend more time enjoying this truly magnificent county of Cumbria. Many thanks and looking forward to hear from you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Locality
Liked least: Cleanliness of lodge
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2016
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to review the lodge even though I am somewhat bemused. Unfortunately, due to the very nature of a central heating boiler, water passes through it, and we cannot legislate for a seal failing. I did send the plumber as soon as I was informed.
With regard to the cleanliness, or lack of it, this comment does surprise me. Reading through our previous 29 reviews the common factor is how clean and cosy the lodge is, so I am surprised to say the least.
And I really don't know how big you wish a 3 bedroomed log cabin to be? I can assure you that I have not photoshopped the images on our website. Thank you for your comments all the same
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marklisa2...
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation shame about the swimming”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent a week at Kevin lodge and all I can say is it was fantastic the lodge was in fantastic condition when we arrived and managed to get in at 2 pm there is everything you need in the lodge,the tv reception is to be desired but who sits in and watches TV all week.the bbq is a excellent idea and we used it 2 times. Once we cleaned it as last guests didn't. The park is good for exploring but the swimming is on a booking system we tried to book swimming on the Wed we tried booking but was told there is no room for 3 days to swim and we paid for this £15 the week and swam twice waste of money. Overall a excellent holiday and one other thing to see Kevin come and change the brolly outside that was broken we didn't expect him to drive 2 hrs to do this but but he did outstanding service. we will be back soon. Even better if hot tub fitted lol. Booking next year

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Hiya!
Thank you so much for taking the time to right such a great review. I am very concerned you had trouble with the facilities which are organised by the park. I will be bringing up the obvious problem with park management. I am sorry the previous guests failed to clean the BBQ but I can do no more than leave a cleaning box and a note instructing guests to clean it after use. Sorry!.
We are so pleased you had a great holiday at Beckside Lodge and we do hope we see you and your family returning to us again in the future. Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStar...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just stayed at Beckside Lodge for a long weekend and have really enjoyed our stay, The lodge is very practical, It is of good size, well equipped kitchen may be a good idea to bring dishwasher tablets we went out and bought some, we ate out on the decking we used the BBQ and washed it after use unlike the people before us! We loved the idea of eating outside in the nice weather, Plenty of games and DVDS to play, Bedrooms of a decent size, Park is quiet compared to other parks which was fine as we can do either, Swimming pool is small and a bit cold! Jacuzzi and steam/sauna warms you up, Gym, Big bar with a beer garden, play park, tennis courts etc, We have had a lovely time Thank you

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
Hi
Many thanks for taking the time to review Beckside Lodge. We are so pleased you had a great time. We are sorry to hear about the dishwasher tablets not being at the lodge for your stay. This must have been an oversight on behalf of our cleaners for your stay. We do have a sign on the BBQ and have a cleaning kit in the lodge asking guests to clean the BBQ after use but alas not everybody can be as responsible as yourselves. We hope this did not diminish your enjoyment of eating al-fresco as it is in a wonderful tranquil setting.
Thank you once again for your booking and we do hope to hear from you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenfai...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent pet friendly lodge”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a wonderful midweek break at Beckside lodge. The lodge was immaculate and extremely well equiped. The owners have thought of everything to make it a home from home. The position of the lodge on White Cross bay is outstanding with a lovely triangular garden with becks running down each side. The decking area gets the sun all day and is lovely for eating alfresco or for sitting reading a book. It is only a short walk to the lake or the reception and swimming pool, clubhouse etc. White Cross bay is well situated for getting around the Lake District and the park staff are very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this lodge and will be booking again soon!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2016
Hello, many thanks for a wonderful review of Beckside Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to submit it. We do try to make the lodge as welcoming and homely as possible for all our guests and it is nice for the kind comments we get from guests, like yourselves, who appreciate the little touches we do. We are so glad you enjoyed the charming garden and decking to appreciate the peace and quiet and enjoy our outside rooms. We do hope to hear from you in the future and thank you once again for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyroger...
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed October 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed here from Monday through till Friday, would have loved to have stayed longer. Lovely cabin, has everything you need, good location and very peaceful. If you have a car there is some lovely little villages just a short drive however if you don't drive there is some lovely walks to go on. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Beckside lodge. We are pleased you enjoyed your weekend and has given you a taste to stay a little longer next time to explore the wonderful Lake District. We look forward to hear from you again. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing