We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply the Best ! We had all weathers but were...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Beckside-lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded and tranquil Beckside Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
47 reviews
Secluded and tranquil Beckside Lodge
Bright and Airy living
Modern kitchen with dishwasher and fridge/freezer
One of the many things to enjoy at Beckside Lodge!
Family bathroom
Twin bedroom 1
Twin bedroom 2
Secluded decking with barbeque
Private garden
Beck side
From the private garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Keith P
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the Best ! We had all weathers but were able to enjoy ourselves”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Location brill , well equipped cabin like home from home, actually better than home !!! :-) Got to go back xx

Date of stay: December 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2015
Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased when guests like yourselves appreciate Beckside lodge as we do try to make it feel your home for your stay. I am certain you are going to stay again and we will look forward to hear from you. Your returning guest discount awaits!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jools2010...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge in idyllic location”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Myself,three daughters and two grandchildren ( 8 and13) stayed here 26-29 September. I found this lodge by chance and booked directly with the owner.
We were all amazed when we arrived at both the presentation of this superb lodge and its private position between the two streams. The lake and marina is literally a few minutes from the lodge. It contained everything we needed and exceeded our expections. The owners attention to detail and cleanliness were first rate and we made good use of the games and DVDs provided. We will most definitely return next year.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving for home!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your time in giving us your positive feedback.
We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and found both the lodge and facilities met more than your expectations. We do take every effort in ensuring our guests have a wonderful stay and a great sign when they want to return.
Hope to see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GODRobbie...
St. Helens
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Lodge - No Wi-Fi or Mobile phone Signal”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Beckside lodge in August 2014. One of the main reasons for booking the lodge was for the Wi-Fi Internet access. I have just started my own business and I required this facility to help me run the business during my holiday period. Unfortunately the Wi-Fi internet access only appeared to work for a couple of minutes each day. This along with the lack of a mobile phone signal caused me endless problems.
With regards to the lodge I can say that it is a lovely lodge with adequate space throughout for a family of 6. However the lodge does require updating around the edges. When we took the cover off the BBQ it was full of water and grease from a previous occupant plus the BBQ utensils were on the floor and looking rather sorry for themselves.
We also had a few issues with the decking. Part of the decking was very slippery and dangerous during the wet weather it was also rotting so much so that part of it fell on the dogs head when the dog touched it. I believe this was because the decking had not been adequately cleaned and was gathering moss. We also had issues with regards to the cleanliness of the lodge. When we arrived on site we were advised by the not very helpful receptionist that we could not enter the lodge until 3pm. We accepted this and went for a walk around the site. During our walk we took a look at the lodge and noticed a car parked outside the lodge with name of a cleaning company on the back window. We naturally thought that the cleaner was inside the lodge cleaning the lodge. Approximately 1 hour later we returned to the lodge and noticed that the cleaners car was still parked outside the lodge. At that moment another car parked next to the car outside the lodge and a chap got out and then let himself into the car that was parked outside the lodge and then drove off. We then assumed that the lodge must be ready and we then let ourselves in. It was obvious that someone had cleaned the lodge, however they had not done a thorough job as the TV cabinet was still covered in dust and we had issues with the floor near the TV being full of crumbs and the cutlery not being clean. Despite all this we thought that the lodge was a nice place to stay however we would not stay again as we thought that the lodges were too close to each other which restricted your privacy.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of privacy
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. I am surprised somewhat at some of your comments. The internet access and mobile phone connections are something which as you are aware are not lodge specific and totally out of our control. The park has made recent changes to the wifi output on the park and is something which has improved greatly this year, but we have never noticed it only working for a couple of minutes per day.
With regard to the BBQ, unfortunately this is something we hope our guests clean after use. We have a sign in the lodge which clearly asks our guests to clean it for incoming guests. We cannot think of another way of policing this request?
The decking issue is a surprise. Although we do have a couple of boards which have weathered there is certainly none which have rotted as you have stated. The decking boards are cleaned and treated with fungicide at the beginning of the season and also during Autumn.
I cannot comment on your 'unhelpful' description of the receptionist at the park only to say this is something I have never found to be the case, in fact I have always found them to be extremely helpful and courteous to my guests in the past. Your confirmation letter clearly stated that check in time is 3pm and it is their responsibility to ensure this remains the case.
The cleaning company may well have parked at the lodge but ours is not the only lodge they clean on the park so it is possible that parking there is central to their tasks and easier for them. Our cleaning team have had excellent comments in the past and this too is a surprise. They take immense pride in their duties and devote as much time to cleaning as it takes. Our lodge, if you read previous reviews, has been described as 'spotlessly clean', 'very clean and homely' etc.
???? I am totally surprised at your final comment about being overlooked and too close to other lodges as this is far from the truth with Beckside lodge. The closest lodge decking area is approximately 50 metres away!
I am sorry your stay at our lodge was not to your liking but if you would have contacted me during your stay we would have reacted immediately to any of your concerns.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C5878DKma...
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at lodge for 3 nights 4 adults and 1 child aged 5. We found the lodge very comfortable and not at all overcrowded. We could relax when our child played in the garden and she loved crossing the beck over the pipe. In a great location lovely to sit on the decking on a afternoon with the sun on you. Very central between Ambleside and Windermere. Overall a great stay here. Would love to return and the fresh roses in a vase on table when we got here shows that the owners care about their guests.

Date of stay: August 2014
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2014
Great! Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We agree that the lodge is perfectly positioned both on the park and in the Lake District.
The garden is a great place for children to play and for adults to relax and enjoy the sun and sounds of the 2 becks. We would love to welcome you back to 'Beckside' sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham E
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything it says in the brochure”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Easy booking process by 'e' mail, with plenty of additional information supplied by the owners.
It's a clean, well equipped lodge in a central but quiet location on a well maintained holiday park with excellent facilities. The lodge was an ideal base to relax after some challenging but memorable Lakeland walks. A swim in the excellent indoor pool, followed by a meal in the beer garden or at one of the many local inns also helped us unwind.
The park is close to the popular scenic towns of Ambleside, Windermere and Bowness, which are easily accessible by car, bus and boat, ensuring there was always plenty to see and do. Further afield, its central location also makes an ideal base for exploring the rest of the Lake District.
Although it was ideal for the two of us and our dog, a party of 6 adults may find the co-joined kitchen, dining and lounge area a little bijou.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Was a good quality 'dog friendly' accomodation
Liked least: Small dining area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Trying to make your stay as comfortable as possible is something we strive to do at Beckside lodge. We are so pleased you loved the quiet location on the park and the location of the park within the Lake District.
Many thanks once again for staying with us and we look forward to you returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ela_Don50
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge in a great location”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely weekend staying with friends at Beckside Lodge. Very much a home from home and located on a great site. We were given great recommendations for eating out from the owners, and also enjoyed eating 'al fresco' on the lovely decked area surrounding the lodge. Within easy driving distance of both Ambleside and Windermere/Bowness and walking distance to the local hotel for good food and a friendly welcome.
A great choice for a lake district getaway!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and comfort of the lodge
Liked least: only one shower in en-suite (overbath handheld shower in main bathroom)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2014
Wonderful!
Many thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review of Beckside Lodge. We are so pleased you and your friends had a great time exploring the area and taking up on some of our recommendations. We would love to welcome you back sometime in the future to enjoy more of the stunning Cumbrian scenery and hospitality. Thank you once again for booking with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic family weekend”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

stayed at beckside lodge for the first of our planned anual family weekends
the lodge was clean on arrival with that wonderful feeling of arriving home
it was well equipped and had every thing we needed and more
the en-suit shower was powerful and refreshing (just the thing after a long day out with the grand children and the dogs, there where five adults and two children aged 4 and 9 , and 2 dogs but found plenty of room inside and out side , the children loved to climb the tree in the garden.
the onsite amenities were well provided clean and well run and staff , helpfull and curtious.
the location is perfectly positioned for exploring windermere and the surrounding area.

we love the lakes in particular windermere (GODS COUNTRY)
We would not hesitate to use beckside again, and are already planning a return visit in 2015.
we would have no hesitation in recomending the lodge to any party , large or small
HAPPY DAYS

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and fresh with every thing that was needed
Liked least: it rained for half a day
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2014
Thank you very much for a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to Beckside Lodge and I know you will return to us again after speaking to you recently. There is a wonderful feel about Beckside and comments about it being like home great to hear. We do try and make our guests stay as comfortable as possible with homely touches all around the lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back next year with an added bonus of you receiving a 'returning guest' discount. kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing