We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We had our wedding reception at the Low Wood on the 11th December 2010, and it truly was everything we had hoped for. From the start of the planning process Gemma was extremely helpful in catering for all our needs and making sure everything went to plan. On the day the staff were all extremely friendly and Craig was brilliant throughout the day! The hotel itself is beautiful and there are wonderful areas to take photos, including the gardens and the view over the lake. The restaurant is beautiful and the food was absolutely gorgeous, it's a great venue for a wedding and we're already looking forward to our complimentary anniversary stay! A truly memorable wedding day! Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_Sloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2011

Dear Guest, thank you for your review and the fantastic comments about the hotel and the team. It was a pleasure to host your wedding and welcome your family and friends to enjoy with you your special day. I will pass on your comments to Gemma our wedding coordinator and to the team, we do pride ourselves on our team and comments such as yours are greatly appreciated.

You may also be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We very much look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel to enjoy your first wedding anniversary in December 2011. Once again congratulations.

Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,756)
There are newer reviews for Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,510 - 1,516 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2011

A really well run lovely hotel. Nothing was too much for the staff who were friendly and efficient. We ate in the Bistro as we had not taken smart enough clothing for the dining room and the food was really nicely cooked and presented. Breakfast was lovely, buffet style but unlike many hotels with limp undercooked food it was all cooked well and seemed really fresh. The pool was lovely, warm and a decent size if you actually want to have a proper swim. Definately would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swifty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2011

Dear Swifty78 Thanks so much for the fantastic review - I am delighted to read that enjoyed your stay from the room through to the food in our bistro. As a team it also pleasing to read you will be recommending us to your family and friends, thank you and happy New Year.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We chose this hotel because it was one of few that we found that didn't ban us from a new year dinner or put us in a separate function just because we had a small child. We had booked a feature lake view room and on arrival were a little disappointed. It was quite old fashioned with an enormous water bed and felt really cramped with all the stuff we had with us. We spoke to reception and they immediately showed us a couple of alternatives and we ended up in a room with a fabulous view, comfy bed and a modern bathroom which was much more our cup of tea! I think that in an old building with such a lot of rooms it can be a bit hit and miss but the staff did everything in their power to find us one that we were happy with. All the public areas are lovely and they were decorated beautifully for Christmas. Some of the other areas, especially some of the corridors were starting to look a bit tired but it didn't spoil it for us.
My little girl loved the pool although it did get busy at times and so is perhaps not as appealing to those who want a bit of relaxation. There are adult only times in the morning and later in the evening for those who want a child free experience.
The food came as part of our package and was fantastic as well as abundant. The breakfasts were especially good and I would challenge anybody to require something that wasn't there.
The highlight of our visit was definately the New Years Eve dinner. It was held in a function room as as opposed to the restaurant as I was expecting, which they had managed to turn into an amazing winter wonderland bedecked in black and silver complete with ice sculpture, snow laden christmas trees, igloo entrance and loads of glitter. The lighting made you feel as if you were in a magical ice cave! All the children were allowed to run around and pretty much amused each other which allowed the adults to have a good time as they didn't have to worry about keeping their kids in their seats. No one minded at all and it was lovely to see them all having such a good time. The food was amazing and the service was the best I have ever experienced! It was done with almost military precision. Everybody on the table got their food at the same time and it was all cleared equally as swiftly. The staff worked their absolute socks off and it paid dividends. It was so slick and professional. Midnight came and went in a shower of champagne and confetti and there were fireworks to round off a truly incredible evening. The only thing that spoilt it a bit was the raging hangover the next morning.
This hotel is in a fantastic location with amazing views. The road out the front of the hotel didn't bother us at all even though it was right outside our window. The view we had more than made up for it. Children are treated as guests rather than nuisances and the staff really are truly amazing. They are efficient, professional, friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble. If you are a family looking for somewhere amazing to take the kids, this is the place. We can't wait to book for next year!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWSNS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2011

Dear MWSNSA Thanks so much for the fantastic review after staying during our New Year house party. Once checked in and reception making alternative room allocation I am please you read the alternative room met with your needs.
Please be advised I will ensure the team receive a copy of your review as with all.
as a team we are so pleased you enjoyed the New Years eve Gala Dinner, especially the effort which we all put into dressing the Lake Suite. It is a pleasure to wow our guests at this very special time of year. Pleased we pulled off the effect of making the room look and feel like the inside of an igloo, this was completely what we were looking to achieve.
once again, thank you for such a rewarding review and from the team and I Happy New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards Nevil Jeffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

What more can you say - a lovely hotel, big enough to cope but small enough to care. Great location, central to just about everything, very nice rooms and hotel is of a high standard with very good helpful staff. was so good, booked for 3 nights, couldnt be bothered going home - so stoped for a fourth!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JULIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2011

Dear Julesmbolton Thanks so much for the fantastic review and we are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. From myself and the Team, we wish you a happy new year and look forward to welcoming you throughout 2011
Kindest regards Nevil Jeffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We have just returned from Christmas at Low Wood Bay. This is the third time we have spent Christmas there and it just gets better. Nevil Jeffery and his wonderful team always go that extra mile. Nothing is too much trouble. Everyone makes you feel part of their family. They even let you keep the log fires burning. Santa arriving on skis whilst snowing on Christmas Day was special as was the reindeer visit. This is one hotel I have no doubt in reccommending. We have already booked for Christmas 2011 and we will definitely return ealy next year to enjoy the area in different weather. Why go anywhere else for Christmas when there is Low Wood Bay.

If you want to be looked after properly then you will do no better than book a stay. It does not matter what time of the year you go, this hotel is not just about Christmas. There is always the friendly welcome from the staff and you know you will be able to relax and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FootiefanTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We love Christmas and usually spend it entertaining numerous family members at home. This year we decided to do things differently and spend our first Christmas away from home and, having previously stayed at a sister hotel, chose the Low Wood Bay's package. What a great choice we made - we can honestly say that we have just had our best Christmas ever.

Everything was so well thought out by the hotel and Nevil Jeffery and his team, Michelle, Craig and Debbie (still laughing about the 'Hungarian' accent!!) to name just three, bent over backwards to make sure that we enjoyed our stay and kept the surprises coming; everything from reindeer to waterskiing santa to snow on Christmas day - memories we will treasure for ever.

Thanks to all - we will be booking for 2011 and using our quiz prize somewhat sooner.

Dave, Jo and Josh Harris

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2011

Dear Davenjo thank you for taking the time and effort to write a rewarding review, after staying with us during our Christmas Package. Which, I read was your first time away from home, making your comments even more pleasing.
Thank you for your personal thanks to Michelle, Craig and Debbie I will ensure they receive a copy of your review personally, and from myself thank you and Happy New year to you both and we look forward to welcoming you back during 2011 and hopefully at Christmas.
Kindest regards Nevil Jeffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

I recently stayed at Low wood for a business conference and will certainly return for a leisure stay with my family.
The public areas were very comfortable with cosy seating areas and log fires. The dining areas were very comforable and the food was exceptional.
The bedroom was very spacious and well furnished, the most comfortable hotel bed in my experience.The hotel was very clean and the staff most helpful and attentive. Attention to detail and the perfect customer experience is very obviously top of the agenda.
The business facilities were very well provided and the room that was prepared for the evening meal and entertainment was purely magical with the decor and ambience.
Thank you to all the staff for such a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2011

Dear Walker030 thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review, after attending a conference at the hotel. We do not get many delegates writing a review which makes your review even more rewarding.
We sincerely hope as a team we will have the please of you returning on business or indeed maybe next time on pleasure.
Kindest regards Nevil Jeffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
440 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,071 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $197 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing