We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“leisure facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 17, 2007

We have just returned from a walking holiday and as part of our deal with the agent of our cottage (---) we had membership to the Low Wood leisure club.
If you are someone who, like me, could sit in a jacuzzi/hot tub all day, you will love this place. They have an indoor jacuzzi and an outdoor hot tub as well as indoor sauna, steam room and a well equiped gym if you are that way inclined!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,767 - 1,773 of 1,834 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2007

INCREDIBLY disappointing!!! Having driven up from London to visit the lakes, we found the room to be expensive, small and although the bed was reasonably comfy, it was surrounded by what looked like cheap furnishings and fittings, add to that a single-glazed small window which needed to be opened to prevent condensation in the room but needed to be closed to prevent fumigation from the car fumes then you are in an impossible situation. I was woken at 7 by the rumble of a motorbikes low engine outside the hotel. The buffet breakfast firstly had run out of plates and on examining the food, decided that toast would be all I would have for breakfast. Forgive me for thinking that I was in Butlins of old.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Hotel was excellent, particularly great friendly service from start to finish. We stayed in a lovely room at the back of the hotel with excellent large clean bathroom and kingsize bed and were never troubled by any noise.

Service was friendly and efficient from start to finish, and we had a nice restaurant meal on the 2nd night of our 2 night stay.

We will definitley stay here on our next visit to the Lake District. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TheAardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Admittedly just stayed one night and therefore this review may not carry much weight.
We stayed in one of the refurbished rooms at the back which was clean, roomy and very quiet.
I did insist on a room at the back away from the busy road.
The leisure facilities are good with an excellent hot tub outside with glimpses of the lake.
Breakfast was great with lots of choice and in a lovely room looking out to the lake.
The hotel has lots of lounge areas and is pretty trendy inside.
Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DirkDigglerWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2007

We had already booked our last minute break, and then we read the reviews! However we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel. Decor excellent, staff really friendly and helpful. Food in the main restaurant and in the bistro of a good standard. Pool and leisure facilities were great. On a slightly negative note, our room (41) was small but we did have everything we needed and it was certainly a room with a fantastic view over looking the lake. All in all we had a lovely short break and would certainly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonpetegriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

For our 5th Anniversary, we spent last weekend (6th July to 8th July 2007) at the Low Wood Hotel.

When we arrived I was satisfied by the outside of the hotel. It was very pretty and is faces the Lake - Although there is a busy main road right in front.

The reception/lobby area is very classy and tasteful, but as you travel away from that, the carpet begins to get shoddy..... at one piont on some steps, duck tape was holding the carpet together. Not a 4 star hotel standard.

Our room was OK. We had no reason to complain but as I say - We really did expect more, especially for the £145 per night we paid.

The restaurant is very nice, but not big enough for all residents. Breakfast was quiet on the Saturday morning but very busy on the Sunday. Staff were rushed off their feet and took 15 minutes to serve us tea and toast.
The hot buffet was delicious and piping hot, so no complaints there what so ever.

Overall, I wouldn't go back. There are dozens of hotels in the area which looked far nicer than the Low Wood. And apparantly this hotel won Cumbria hotel of the year 2005/2006....????

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Meganjrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2007

Thinking of "treating" yourself to Low Wood? Don't bother...

Despite paying 140gbp a night, me and family were put in a miserable little box room that stank of smoke to the point of it stinging your eyes! the radiator was broken, meaning it was very noisy throughout the night, and im sorry but as far as the "beautiful lakeside" goes, our window faced the back of building and part of the roof - great...

We complained on the first night and were told there were no others rooms, so we put up with it (it's 9pm, we're tired, and dont fancy driving round the town looking for a hotel with the kids in the car...)

The 2nd night was better as the room as bigger and didnt smell, infact it also reinforced how miserable our first room was!

Despite discussing this with the manager, and emailing the area manager, there has been no refund, no contact, not interested in repeat business it seems...

A few weeks later we stayed at a bed and breakfast for 50gbp and had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Greenpython
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
535 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#15 of 20 in Windermere
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $189 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing