We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Lake District Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Lake District Hotel”
Reviewed July 28, 2010

This Hotel is absolutely amazing. I have stayed here three times this year so far with both my daughter and my husband. They have some of the most amazing special offers which you can take advantage of which are available throughout the year. Their attention to detail in making your stay special is paramount to them and this shows in every way. The staff are so friendly and polite they are a credit to the hotel. The advantage of having an on site spa with pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, and an outside hot tub just add to the relaxation that Low Wood provides. The lounge areas are very peaceful looking out over Lake Windermere and dining here is not to be missed. Now we have found such a perfect place to stay in the Lakes we are already planning our next visit. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 502007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2010
Dear Frequent visitor, thank you for taking the time to write such a rewarding review.

I read with interest and pleasure you have enjoyed staying at the Low Wood Hotel on three occasions already this year and experienced on every occasion the same quality of service and attention to detail. We have a very friendly team with three goals, to exceed expectations, take pride in providing a relaxing environment with a friendly smile.

You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors.

Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again very soon, remember to check out our special package deals.

Kind regards Nevil Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    458
    179
    79
    38
See reviews for
416
838
13
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2010

The service was exceptional, all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We were allocated a ground floor room at the rear of the hotel, which was perfect for us travelling with a toddler. The beds were really comfortable, the rooms really clean.

The leisure facilities are great and the childrens menu at the cafe was lovely and the food was great, although a tiny bit expensive.

I would recommend this hotel and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsEEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2010
Dear Mrs E. Evans, thank you for taking the time to write this review, after you family two nights break at the hotel in room 309.

I read with interest and pleasure you enjoyed your stay and found all staff very friendly and helpful. The team are very pleased that you will have no hesitation in recommending the Low Wood Hotel to family and friends. Also ensure they book direct via the English Lakes Hotels web site, that way they also will be able to take advantage of our guaranteed rates and special packages.

I am sorry you found some of the food items a tiny bit expensive during your stay. I will ensure the pricing is reviewed and kept inline with market values and reduced if need be.

You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors, and most importantly corrective action or procedures reviewed as and when appropriate.

Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

The hotel is exceptional, really nice and 4* facilities and breakfast.The leisure club facilities are totally diabolical, I went during the school holidays but it was like sardines in a tin.Have since learnt that the hotel sells loads of passes to local hotels etc..so they get in for cheap compared to what you pay..but you get the crush !! Changing rooms for men are like council baths,come on Low wood, this isnt good !!!!!!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WestYorkshireMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write this review. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors, and most importantly corrective action or procedures reviewed as and when appropriate.

I, along with the hotel team are very pleased you found the hotel exceptional and to four star standard as awarded by the AA auditing body. I read you enjoyed our extensive breakfast buffets almost 42 individual items and still growing.

I am, however, very sorry, you found the Leisure Club not to your liking. I will ensure this information is passed onto the Leisure Club Managers and indeed the director. Investment is paramount to English Lakes Hotels and only last year state of the art gym equipment was installed. During the School holidays the club does get utalised by full paying members and residents of the hotel. However members are restricted to 9am – 4.30pm in many cases, I am sorry this was not explained to you on arrival, during the morning and early evening onward through to 10pm the leisure club is very relaxing.

Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards Nevil Jeffery, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Stayed at the Low Wood for a long weekend in June. Travelled with my husband and dog. The hotel was wonderful, the food in the restaurant was really good, especially the breakfast with possibly the largest selection I've seen in a hotel. The beds were extremely comfortable - the only downside being the noise from the busy road in front of the hotel. The advantage however of having a room at the front of the hotel is the wonderful views of the lake and small marina. All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barsio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for such a rewarding review. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

My Girlfriend booked us to stay at Low Wood as a surprise for my 27th Birthday, we have stayed here once before in November of last year and we enjoyed it so much she thought it would be an ideal treat, which it was!

The leisure facility are excellent, Steam Room / Sauna Room / Jacuzzi (inside) / Jacuzzi (outside!) which we used to the max.

The hotel is less than a 20 mins stroll from Ambelside (5 mins by car) which we walked to on a night and had a few beers at Ambelsides excellent pubs and got a taxi back (around £5 return)

Breakfast is excellent, Buffet style as much as you can eat / Sausages / Bacon / Fried & Scrambled eggs / black pudding / beans - you name it they have it.

Will stay again 5*'s

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_IX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for such a rewarding review especially regarding the food in the Windermere Restaurant, the breakfast selection and the leisure centre.

You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We arrived at the hotel and were informed that we would be receiving a complimentary upgrade to a room with a lake view- fantastic!
The room was absolutely gorgeous with views over a very sunny Lake Windermere. The room is next to the road but the traffic didn't bother us. The spa bath in the bathroom was a lovely way to relax at the end of the day.
We made use of the leisure facillities and particularly enjoyed the hot tub outside looking over the lake.
Breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We left the hotel sad that our break was over but we will be back very soon!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhe1189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for such a rewarding review, we are glad you enjoyed your free room upgrade, and that you made the most out of the hotels leisure facilities. I will pass on your kind comments to the team regarding their friendliness. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We had our wedding reception at the low wood. It is a great setting and a lovely hotel. All of the staff were friendly and helped to make our big day extra special. We will be returning for wedding anniversaries for many years to come, we couldn't have asked for more.

Cheryl and Richard

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardspeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
Dear Mr. Speight, thank you for your review and the fantastic comments about the hotel and the team. It was a pleasure to host your wedding and welcome your family and friends to enjoy with you your special day.

I will pass on your comments to Gemma our wedding coordinator and to the team, we do pride ourselves on our team and comments such as yours are greatly appreciated. You may also be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to our directors.

Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We very much look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel to enjoy your first wedding anniversary in May 2011. Once again congratulations. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,033 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing