We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wedding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We choose Low Wood as our wedding venue mainly because of its superb location and amazing veiws of lake windermere, but actually we were treated to much more than that! The staff were fantastic, really attentive and friendly both leading up to and on the day of the wedding. Every detail was taken care of and they made sure we wanted for nothing. Agreed, some of the rooms could do with a refurb but for such an extensive hotel it is hardly surpising that some of the rooms are a bit tired. However, if you do get the chance to stay in one of the newer rooms - WOW! I would definately recommend Low Wood as a wedding venue and we will definately be going back to celebrate our 1st year anniversay! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2010

Dear Nicolle, thank you for your review and the fantastic comments about the hotel and the team. It was a pleasure to host your wedding and welcome your family and friends to enjoy with you your special day.

I will pass on your comments to Gemma our wedding coordinator and to the team, we do pride ourselves on our team and comments such as yours are greatly appreciated. You may also be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We very much look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel to enjoy your first wedding anniversary in April 2011. Once again congratulations. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,577 - 1,583 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2010

I am very dissapointed that I have had no response from the manager with regards to a serious issue on my part, this has therefore left me feeling very negative about our stay at the Low Wood.
Acknowledgment of my correspondence would be welcomed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUCA-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2010

Dear Guest, I have investigated and reviewed all our comment cards and correspondence received over the past month. We pride ourselves on responding to all correspondence be it critical or indeed rewarding. Please do not hesitate in contacting myself directly and I will be more than happy to discuss any issues you may have had to endure during your stay or visit.

Kind regards Nevil Jeffery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed here for a friends wedding. The B&B price was high, but the hotel was the wedding venue, so we didn't shop around. It's in a beautiful spot; right on the shore of Windermere. I've no idea how this gets 4 stars. The rooms are like an average 3 star lodge - cramped, badly laid out, jaded and with a pretty uncomfortable bed. The walk from reception to the room was so long and tricky that I really could have done with a map. The staff were disinterested - the bar charges were so high that you'd have thought a bottle of rose may have come with an ice bucket, but no! Breakfast was like a world war II battle scene. The staff couldn't care less and the choice was just passable. This place seems to rely on the foreign tourists being brought by coach and it has an air of complacency.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2010

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to post this review, I am very sorry we did not have the opportunity of discussing the above in person during your stay. We have a senior duty manager on duty 24 hours a day and they along with myself are more than happy to resolve issues or indeed offer advise on local attractions. I can but only apologise on this occasion if we did not meet up to your expectations when it comes to room standards. On an annual audit the AA review all aspect of the operation and reward the Low Wood Hotel with 4 star status, these visits are completely unannounced.

I am concerned greatly by the comment relating to staff attitude, we pride ourselves on be a friendly team, I am sorry you experienced the shortfalls in service and staff attitude. I would welcome the chance of discussing this matter in more detail. Please do not hesitate in contacting the hotel direct and ask for Nevil Jeffery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We called on this hotel without a reservation and were offerred a lakeside view room for £98. The room was very comfortable with excellent bed. The only downside of the lakeside room was that it was also on the road and the traffic was a bit noisy.
The food in the restaurant was really excellent and the staff pleasant polite and helpful. Really good leisure centre with pool, spa etc

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chartseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2010

Dear Guest, thank you for a rewarding review especially regarding the helpfulness of our team, the food in the restaurant and the leisure club. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights during the Easter holidays. Booked day before we left and website said the price was at a discount, when we got there we found it was just normal rate but it was a reasonable rate for 2 plus 5 year old. The room we were in was a bit in need of an update but was clean and comfortable. We booked this hotel as it had leisure facilities and we were impressed with them even though we picked a very busy time to go. The outdoor hot tub was great! Breakfast was plentiful and varied, everything you could ask for was there. The staff were helpful and friendly especially Billy on reception who quickly dealt with a couple of queries we had. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will book again for a short break.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2010

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent review. I thank you for your comments regarding the leisure facilities, staff and the breakfast in the Windermere Restaurant, and although the room you stayed in was in need of an update we appreciate your comments that is was clean and comfortable, we do take on board all feedback and having looked into your reservation details I can confirm that the room you recently stayed in is booked in for a refurbishment.

You may also be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We have driven passed this hotel many times on our trips to the Lakes, and always fancied staying there. What a disappointment. I would rate Low Wood as an average 3 star Hotel.
Our room was tired and dated, little better than a good travel lodge.

The leisure centre is also very dated and a little bit grubby in places.

Certainly wont be staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnandSharon62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2010

Dear Guest,
I was very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us here at the Low Wood Hotel. Customer feedback is very important to us and your points will be discussed and actioned by myself and the team.

The team at the hotel are very proactive in dealing with the few complaints that we receive, I am sorry you did not bring your concerns to our attention sooner I am sure that we would have been able to rectify them if we were given the opportunity.

Kind Regards Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We recently decided to have a relaxing break in the Lakes after I had just had a baby on Christmas Eve. We had previously stayed in their sister hotel The Lancaster and thought it to be a lovely hotel and of a very good standard, so expectations for this hotel were high. All public areas were excellent and were definately of a 4 star standard. Unfortunately that could not be said for the rooms. We have 3 children so booked into a large family room which was on 2 floors. When we arrived the room was cold but upstairs was so hot the velux windows had to be opened this in turn made it colder downstairs were the children slept. (It was minus conditions at the time). On a night as the windows were open all we could here was the noise from the kitchens. The rooms decore was dated and grubby including the bathroom and evevn though clean it looked dirty. The rooms really let this hotel down and I would of rated them as that of a 2 star hotel. Unfortunately won't be staying at this hotel again unless the rooms are refurbished. Staff were excellent though.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraBelle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2010

Dear Guest, I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate you on the birth of your new baby and to thank you for the comments made on your recent review. It was gratifying to read that you found the staff excellent as well as the public areas of the hotel, both of which we are very proud of.

With reference to the décor we do have an ongoing refurbishment schedule in place which commences throughout the hotel this month, we have never experienced an issue with the heating in room 304 and in light of your review I will ensure this is looked into thoroughly. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors.

I hope we do have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
468 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,079 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $198 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing