We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basics lets it down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
hants
1 review
“Basics lets it down”
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights and didnt enjoy the hotel having read the reviews on here i had hoped for more.
First the bad:
The rooms are small and i was expecting this so this wasnt an issue. Our room had no view other than a section of roof and another building most room not overlooking the lake seemed to have poor views.

The bed was awful not only was it small it also had a very old matress the pillow were worse with all synthetic and lumpy. the hotel was also noisy so this didnt give us restful nights.

the restuarant was ok which given the price id ahve expectedd mroe, room server was very limited, food was poor and only avialble till midnight and after 8pm soup or a hot or coldsandwhich as the only option. At a £15 room charge id have expectedd more. the cafe was only open till 8pm so there wasnt much in the way of options. the restruant also seemed to run out of food regualalry the weggie fry up at breaskfast wasnt avialble during most of our stay.

Now on to the good stuff:
the staff were all freiendly and polite, the hotel was clean.
the gym and pool were excellent with a good range of cardio machines and a pool large enough to do lengths, the sauna and steam room were small which wasnt an issue as it was quite when i was there. the outside hot tub was broken which isnt an issue parat from the fact the sign looked as if it had been there for some time!

I cant recommend the hotel as the basics of food and rest are not fullfilled.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2009
Dear Guest, I was very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us here at the Low Wood Hotel. Customer feedback is very important to us and your points will be discussed and actioned by myself and the team. I do however thank you for the kind comments made regarding the staff, the cleanliness of the hotel, the pool and the gym. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity sometime in the future. Kind Regards Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    456
    177
    78
    38
See reviews for
415
837
13
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
north east
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2009

we stayed at Low Wood during the Great North Swim weekend as my husband was taking part. It was obviously going to be very busy so went with an open mind not to expect too much. However from arriving with our 8 year old daughter and family dog could not fault anything. We arrived early and our room was ready which was clean, comfortable and everything you would expect. The lake view was breathtaking. We made use of the leisure facilities which were also very good the pool and the gym. The breakfast was very good and the choice for both adults and children were varied. I loved this hotel and usually would find something to have a little niggle about but not here. I will definately come back for the event and will book again at the end of the year. I usually do center parcs but the staff, accomodation and how friendly everyone was towards my daughter and family pet has made up my mind to return here. Well done.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouse017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2009
Dear Guest, thank you for your rewarding review, especially regarding the team, the accommodation and leisure facilities. The Great North Swim was a great success and we look forward to hosting the event again next year, I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back. It was gratifying to read that both your daughter and dog enjoyed their stay, as you know we make every effort to ensure they are catered for. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and the board of directors. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

the better rooms are definitely worth it - you're paying this much why not stretch to a bit more. Big dirfference in room size, bed and bathroom. Some of the less expensive room are a long way from the main hotel. It is on a road and that can be noisy (live very rurally at home so any noise is noticable though) Stayed during the busiest weekend of the year ( great north swim) and the hotel was heaving but staff still very pleasant and helpful. Buffet breakfast - eat as much or as little as you want - if I was trying to be picky I'd say the bar drinks were expensive and the service at dinner was on the slow side. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrewsburySal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2009
Dear Customer, thank you for your review, especially regarding the staff being pleasant and helpful. The Great North Swim was a great success and we look forward to hosting the event again next year, we hope to see you there. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and the board of directors. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Fantastic position on Windermere lake side about 30 minswalk from Ambleside. Comfortable well-appointed rooms, charming, helpful staff. Good food and great facilities. Adjacent sports centre with all mods spas and pools. Watersports centre over the road with sailing, wakeboarding and fishing. Boat mooring outside at the marina. Awkward access to car park on entering and dangerous on leaving with a blind exit onto a busy main road. Mauch extended over many years and as such is a bit of a rabbit warren but no less for that. Good evening meals, great breakfasts, bar snacks are limited range but high quality. The bar itself is a bit small, cramped and soulless which is a shame, because a really good bar could make this hotel even better. Not cheap but often does great offers especially out of season. Wonderful walking all around and a regular bus service. All round the best hotel I have stayed in in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpig_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2009
Dear Guest, thank you for a rewarding review, I am pleased you enjoyed your break at the hotel. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users, please check out the special offers page on our website for more exciting discounted offers. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We attended the Low Woood to attend a wedding . I was surprised at some of the comments prior to my stay as I knew my freinds had exceptional standards so was a bit curious. On arrival we had a warm welcome and felt instantly relaxed. The reception area was spacious and bright and check in and out was speedy . Our room was a split level room and I have to disagree with previous comments - the room was spacious the bed really comfortable (did not get the comment about the pillows ) and I loved the little touches - soft dog on the pillow ,wine on the table , good supply of different teas coffes and hot chocolate drinks both upstairs and down . in addtiion the room had 2 tv's which is a bonus when travelling with teenagers ! the shower was fantastic and we had no problems with temperature ! Towels were huge clean and white not grey - we had an iron in the room and a trouser press . I have to mention the staff -who were fantastic ! as a customer service manager I demand good service and I was not disapointed - the staff took time to chat were effecient but were not obtrusive - 10/10 guys . The restaurant area was clean with beautiful views of the lake and the food for the wedding breakfast was supberb again staff were excellent - not sure why there are bad comments I actually went looking for the bad decor etc and couldn't find it - all of the 80+ guests who were stayng for the wedding can't all be wrong - we were totally satisfied -thanks

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Deputy Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2009
Dear Guest, thank you for a rewarding review especially about the friendliness of our team. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you next year. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Low Wood for our anniversary, on arrival we found a congradulations card and balloons, the bar, restaurant and our room was lovely and clean and the food fabulous, the staff very friendly.There is also a pool. Downside the rooms need air conditioning, our room 306 was on the ground floor, the window opened onto a coutyard so we were uneasy at leaving the window open whilst asleep, Our only problem with the room was the tiles just under the taps needed cleaning properly, if you book the lake view rooms be aware you will get road noise as the main road is on the frontage of the hotel then a grass area then the marina. Overall we would go back, a very good 4 star

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimsuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLWH, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2009
Dear Jimsuel of Hull, Thank you so much for the rewarding review - I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, especially the congratulation card and balloons. I will ensure all team members read your review and on there behalf I thank you for recognizing we area friendly team. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to in the near future. Best wishes Nevil Jeffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

so you've booked your 'lakeview, feature' room in peak season for £150 per night.
now what do you expect?
well, a view of the lake would be a good start. except we didn't get one. what we got instead was a view across the small front car park with the lake just in sight if we squeezed to the left side of the window and craned necks.
to be fair, low wood isn't alone in the hospitality industry when it comes to dodgy room description but by not providing a room with a clear view of windermere the hotel is playing fast and loose. so make sure at time of booking that you getting a room with a 'clear view'.
and if an average size room with 2 small exposed beams equals your idea of a 'feature' room you won't be disappointed.
your cooked breakfast is going to be fine, with plenty of choice in a comfortable setting with views. but dinner might be a lengthy affair. we waited 30-40 mins between courses and only tolerated the warm,frankly mediocre food because we were tired and hungry.
if the kitchen was short-handed a simple explanation usually placates guests but I still couldn't solve the mystery even after I asked a member of waiting staff. oh well.
the leisure facilities are useful and well-proportioned, which should keep the kids entertained. but when they get bored and want to look around the marina keep a tight rein on them. the hotel fronts a road that gets busy in peak season and to reach the boats you'll have to cross it - something else the hotel advertising blurb forgot to mention.
meanwhile, the maintenance men seem to be kept busy. during our short stay the boiler broke down, the elevator ground to a halt and a fault with the fire alarm system had us shooting out of bed at 0658hrs on 2 consecutive days. all these problems may well be a rarity at low wood but I couldn't stop thinking 'basil fawlty'.
all of the lake district is pricey at high season and low wood's business model reflects this - it isn't just the hill sheep in this part of the world who find themselves fleeced, so bring plenty of cash.
£150 per night is high side for most people - a fair wedge to pay for a view (or not, in our case) and good, attentive staff.
ah yes. finally, the staff. it wouldn't be fair to end this review without giving them a mention.
friendly, helpful, communative and ever attendant.
good heavens, staff!! where would low wood be without you!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontoboy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing