We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spa hotel in the Lakes!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Low Wood Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Low Wood Bay
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Spa hotel in the Lakes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have just enjoyed a great weekend at the Low Wood to celebrate a friends birthday.

The central reservations team were a great help through emails with organising this stay and we weren't at all dissapointed when we arrived. All the staff were friendly and helpful when we spoke them, helping us order taxi's and find our way around.

The double room we had was in the annexe at the back 407, very clean, modern and quiet allowing for a good nights sleep & the beds are really comfy. Our friends has the room next to us which had a cushioned window seat as a nice extra.

The hotel can be a bit of a maze and is a lot bigger than it seemed. The breakfast is good, plenty of choice hot breakfasts or cereal/continental and they already have your table ready for you and the rest of your party.

We treated ourselves to some spa treatments which were great after a morning relaxing in the pool, sauna & outdoor hot tub. The bar near the pool serves food in the afternoon and we had a really nice lunch there.

I would definitely stay at the Low Wood again when visiting the Lake District and recommend it to anyone. I imagine the lake view rooms would be good as the hotel has such lovely views from the front.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne_B55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay celebrating a friend’s birthday. I’m pleased to read that you found your room to be clean and comfortable allowing you to have a good nights sleep. It’s good to hear that you had chance to relax and use the leisure facilities over at the leisure club. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    451
    176
    78
    37
See reviews for
405
831
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The hotel was fully booked the weekend of our stay, which is a recommendation in itself. They were also hosting a large wedding yet service, helpfulness and ambience were all first class throughout our stay. My wife is disabled and there are several allocated parking spaces on site allowing easy access to reception, although the steps at the rear would benefit from handrails. We were given a convenient room close to the lift and restaurant which made life easy for us. I was particularly impressed by the restaurant - the quality of food which was locally sourced and the presentation and service. We had dinner the first night and staff remembered our names when we returned for breakfast on the following mornings. The quality of the toiletries and tea/coffee making facilities were also excellent, including 'cafetiere' coffee. The views from the hotel lounge and the front of the hotel are beautiful. It is conveniently situated for Ambleside, Windermere and Bowness with a bus stop outside and a waterbus service to Ambleside. Given the price we paid and the level of service I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. It good to hear that you had easy access to the hotel and the room you were allocated made it easier for your stay. I am also pleased to hear that our service quality was not affected even though we had a large wedding for the duration of your stay. It’s good to hear that you were impressed by the food in our Windermere restaurant. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great place to stay. Repeat customer!! I come here every year for a business fitness meeting so we make use of the lake and water sports! Also hungry at 2am, no problem!! Fancy relaxing then the leisure facility has steam room and sauna with an outdoor jacuzzi overlooking the hills. Food and attention from staff are exellent Nit sure what to say

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear regular guest, Once again thank you so much for your wonderful review – It is always good to receive feedback from our guest but even better when it is from returning guests. It was once again great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from the Watersports to the facilities at the leisure club. Its also good to read that you still find our staff and food to be excellent. I will ensure your comments are passed on to our team. Once again thank you for your review and we will look forward to welcoming you once again to the Low Wood, Kind Regards James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We visited low wood for a friends wedding on the 15th feb 2014. The second we arrived we where welcomed with happy, smiling and very helpful staff. Once checked in we found our room which was 404, not in the main building but we where pleasantly surprised, our room had a separate lounge area with a sofa and chairs, good sized TV, huge bed (which was the most comfiest bed Iv ever slept in), a huge verity of tea, coffee ect in the room. We also had chocolates and other treats left for us. I really can not fault the room nor the hotel. We loved it that much we have booked our own wedding there for next year. I will be recommending this hotel to many people. Also, the breakfast was amazing, covered all aspects you could imagine for a breakfast. Brilliant stay!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AbbieL15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had a warm welcome to the hotel by our happy, smiling and helpful staff. Is good to hear that you liked the room you were allocated and liked all the facilities in the room, it pleases me further to read that you had the most comfortable bed you have ever slept in. It’s also good to here that you enjoyed our breakfast here at the Low Wood.

Lastly it is great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay here so much that you decided to book your wedding here next year. I am sure we will make it a day to remember. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

A very good stay for valentines enjoyed beautiful views from the bar area, fabulous dinner in the restaurant. Lovely rooms, breakfast was not as good as expected as we like to order our breakfast rather than buffet style. Would recommend .

Room Tip: Top top book a Lake View Room feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent valentines break at the Low Wood. Its good to hear that you found your room to be lovely and had a fabulous dinner in our Windermere Restaurant. I am sorry that you did not find breakfast as good as you expected, preferring to order your breakfast rather than helping yourself the vast selection on offer from our breakfast buffet. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Never written a review before but felt compelled to after our lovely stay in this stunning hotel.

We were celebrating an anniversary and was surprised to find a balloon, card and truffles in our room upon arrival - we were also upgraded to a lake view room!

We have stayed in many lake district hotels but none can rival the view we had from our room - absolutely stunning. Langdale fells to the right and coniston fells across the lake, what a wonderful sight to wake up to.

The staff at Low Wood made our stay a pleasurable one. Very attentive and helpful - we felt that we were in good hands.

The food is amazing and great value for money - I highly recommend the Fillet Steak - Its the best ive ever had.

Overall we were so happy with our visit that we will be returning in the summer when the weather picks up.

Thumbs up to Low Wood!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ferg789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about our hotel. It’s great to read that your recent “lovely stay at our Stunning hotel” compelled you to write your first review. Is good to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to the lake view room and the special touches that were in your room upon your arrival.

Its also good to read that you found the staff here at the Low Wood to be attentive and also found the food to be amazing.I am sure our chef will be pleased to hear that the Fillet Steak was the best that you have ever had. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

It made our weekend more special because the family room was very spacious and peaceful.The hotel restaurant offered a great selection,the steak meal was well presented and delicious .The swimming pool and hot tub added to a very relaxing weekend.Great location as it is close to Keswick for shops and beautiful scenic walks.Would go back here for our next Lakes holiday!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolyns145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about our hotel on your recent relaxing weekend break. It’s good to hear that you found your room to be spacious and comfortable. Its also good to hear that you found the food to be delicious and well presented, your comments will be passed onto our chef who I am sure will also be pleased with your comments. Its good that you got chance to use the pool and relax in the out door hot tub at the Leisure club. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay

Property: Low Wood Bay
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Low Wood Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing