We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely christmas break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely christmas break”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My boyfriend booked 2 nights at the Low Wood through secret escapes as a Christmas treat and we definitely weren't disappointed at all. Our room was on two levels with a comfy bed and spotless bathroom, as well as a quaint sitting room. It was slightly noisy because of our distance from the speed bump outside and because the walls between our bedroom and the corridor outside was incredibly thin (we heard another room get a wake up call). The pool and jacuzzi etc. was lovely and well kept and staff were friendly and happy to sort out any problem at all. The breakfasts were impressive and made even better with the beautiful lake-view, again staff were happy to provide me with decaf coffee and poached instead of fried eggs. The only disappointment we had with the hotel was that we were given a voucher for free prosecco and planned to redeem it after a trip to the cinema one night but we came back at half 10 to find the bar closed, because of this we never got to redeem it, i would have loved to experience a nice chill out at night in the bar but now we know for next time i suppose.

Room Tip: We didn't specify a lake-view but we wish we had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about the hotel. It was good to read that you enjoyed your Christmas treat through one of the special offers. We are glad that you found our staff helpful throughout your stay. I am glad to read that you found your room comfortable and clean, I am sorry to hear that there were a couple of noise issues. I am glad that you had chance to use and enjoy our leisure facilities. It was unfortunate that you were unable to redeem the voucher for your glass of sparkling wine, our Langdale bar is open to residents on a 24 hour basis.

You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards James Wilkinson, Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    463
    180
    79
    39
See reviews for
418
842
13
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Fabulous setting...lake views from the dining room while tucking into a great unhurried breakfast. Smart comfortable bedroom with absolutely no road noise which was quite surprising as I slept with the window open onto a small courtyard done in a zen-garden style. Very welcoming atmosphere and staff. Felt very relaxed and unpretentious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about the hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased to read that you thought our staff created a welcoming atmosphere. It was also good to read that you thought your room was smart and comfortable and that our breakfasts were great.

Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards James Wilkinson, Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Spent 2 nights here recently with my husband and we honestly couldn't fault it. The staff were wonderful, the room was clean, the food was excellent.

We got a good deal on a winter break here for £238 and that included dinner on the first night.

We would certainly go again, but whether we would get such a good deal 'in season' is debatable.

Would highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Reception Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review about hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay on the special offer you received. I am glad to read that you thought our staff were wonderful and you thought our food was excellent. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson, Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the low wood bay for my husbands work Christmas party.
The view is fabulous and all public spaces within and around the hotel are lovely.
We were lucky in comparison to other friends as our room was a lot larger than theirs. However, it was tired with faded sofas, moulds marks on the duvet and dusty drapes over the bed. As our room was large, it was also cold and with the heating on, I still needed a couple of layers on in bed.
All the staff were incredibly friendly and the Christmas party entertainment: the Beatles tribute was excellent.
Food in the evening was standard hotel Christmas fare although breakfast was superb with a great variety.
Average hotel situated in fabulous scenery.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stewpotUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Reception Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your recent comments about hotel, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay for your Festive celebrations. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay especially the entertainment. I am sorry to hear that there were issues with certain aspects of the room and room temperatures.

Your comments have been highlighted and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are pleased that you found our breakfast superb. Thank you once again for your review. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson, Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I've spent two nights at Low Wood Bay this week.. I have to say its a delightful hotel!! There is a lovely welcome atmosphere, the rooms are Devine ( room 21 has a great view of the lake and a beautiful bathroom)

The function suite is fabulous and the food was very nice. I would be more than happy to revisit this hotel... Anytime - gold star award from me

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Poppycottage7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Reception Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review about hotel. It was great to read that you thought the Low Wood was a delightful retreat. It was also good to read that we provided a welcoming atmosphere and that your room was divine. Once again thank you and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson, Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Just been to the Low Wood for two days, Business and Pleasure, one day was a Conference then we had our Christmas Gala Dinner, Both nights were great, the food was the best ever, staff very helpful and very professional,
The Room was great, we had a heated water bed it was fantastic (best nights sleep ever)
The Views from the room was very nice over the Lake.
Will be going back again.
Thanks to all the Staff you were Fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppaian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your recent comments about hotel, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay for business as well as pleasure. It was great to read that you thought the food was the best food ever and especially good to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the waterbed! It was also great to note that you enjoyed the view and the service you received from our team. We do hope that you do choose to visit us again for either business or leisure. Thank you once again for your wonderful review. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business. The hotel is a very traditional, country house style venue with a more modern extension. I had a room in the main building with the most stunning view of the lake. The welcome at reception was second to none as was the service throughout my stay. My room was comfortable but the bathroom was small and over elaborate - the large, complicated shower was unnecessary and took up so much space that the bathroom was rather cramped. Breakfast (served in my room) was excellent. Good, reliable wifi is available. A good value, friendly and comfortable hotel in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your recent comments about hotel, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay for business. We very much appreciate your comments, especially about the room with the stunning view, as well as the welcome and service you received from our team. We do hope that you do choose to visit us again for either business or leisure.

You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Thank you once again for your wonderful review. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
384 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing