We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polite staff, lovely views, leisure centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Polite staff, lovely views, leisure centre”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a lovely few days of walking in the mountains followed by swimming/hot tub and then dinner in the hotel. We particularly enjoyed the view from our bedroom, and the leisure centre, also the very polite service we received from all of the staff without exception. Only one minor criticism was that the dinners, though well presented and using good quality ingredients, were not balanced (we had to ask specially for some vegetables and got a side plate but always broccoli and carrots).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Setter40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially the hot tub, leisure centre, service from our team and your room with the views, I agree the views are amazing, the view of the Langdale’s was voted last year as the best view in Britain!.

I take on board your comments regarding the unbalanced menu, I know chef has been working on the new menu and I believe it will be introduced this week. When you next decide to visit the area to do more mountain walking it would be great to welcome you back to Low Wood Bay. Once again thank you for your review. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    467
    180
    80
    39
See reviews for
422
848
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just stayed at the Low Wood Hotel with my daughter and 1 year old Grandson. The staff were amazing and made you feel welcome absolutely no request was to much trouble and always carried out with a smile, in particular, the restaurant staff made us feel so welcome and at ease especially as we had a slightly messy 1 year old with us. The hotel was immaculate, clean and set in picturesque surroundings and ideally located for attractions. I was dubious about visiting with a small child but would highly recommend to anyone with young children, the leisure facilities are just right for young children.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacque F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for such a rewarding review, it was great to read that you had such a wonderful stay, and that you enjoyed the room the food the leisure facilities and the location.

It ws especially pleasing to read that you felt you received excellent service from our team but especially from the staff in the restaurant. I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team, of whom we are very proud of! You may be interested to know that all reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors.

Once again thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel once again in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Another visit to one of our favourite hotels. On arrival we booked in to our usual room overlooking the magnificent Lake Windermere. We paid for our Future New Year celebration visit and booked again for my birthday treat at the end of January. Next was a visit to the bar lounge for a drink and some lunch. Service with a smile. Later in the day we had a great dinner in the beautiful restaurant, another wonderful meal. At breakfast the following morning I left a special order with the chef for my dinner that evening. Nothing is too much trouble.
After a visit to the nearby Hayes garden centre to admire their magnificent Christmas display it was a return to the hotel for a relaxing time in the lounge before our much anticipated dinner, again well up to expectation.
The staff are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble.
As per usual another great relaxing break. We can't wait for the New year celebrations. Our 15th year of New Year parties at the Low wood Bay hotel.

Room Tip: Pay any extra and get a Lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear very regular guest, Once again thank you so much for your wonderful review – It is always good to receive feedback from our guest but even better when it is returning guests, it was once again great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

I will ensure your comments are passed on to our team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at New Year for your 15th New Year in a row, We hope you have a merry Christmas (Thanks for the chocolates). Once again thank you for your review. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just stayed at the Low Wood for a relatives Wedding, what a fantastic Hotel! The Hotel is set in a beautiful location and the public areas are immaculate, the bedrooms though are a let down. They are clean but need updating, definitely not 4 star quality. The rest of the Hotel though is top notch!
I must say the Staff here are outstanding all very pleasant and friendly. The Breakfast was very good, lots of choice and the Buffet was piping hot. The Wedding Breakfast we had was superb and definitely the best sticky toffee pudding I've ever had. I would highly recommend to anyone staying in the Lakes.

Room Tip: Low numbered rooms are close to Reception. 400/500 rooms are at the very back and a good walk thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hunter21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Low Wood Bay whilst attending your relatives wedding. It was great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your friends wedding and that you thought the Sticky Toffee Pudding is the best – we agree.

With reference to the quality of the rooms we do have an ongoing refurbishment schedule in place which aims to upgrade the few rooms that we believe are in need of upgrading. Once again thanks for the review and for sharing it with the Trip Advisor community and I will ensure the team are made aware of your wonderful comments, Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed on a weekend break deal to celebrate my birthday. The food was excellent and the staff were very attentive especially Jade in the bar, however the room in my opinion was a let down. Last year we had stayed at the sister hotel the Waterhead and I must say I thought that our room would match up to the standard there, this was not the case, my heart sank when I walked through the door. The room was situated in the annex block over at the leisure centre, there was some traffic noise but the views of the Langdales more than made up for this. Our son (15) was with us and he had to make do with a fold down bed pushed against a wall,this was not the case at the Waterhead- in my opinion the room was fit for a double but not for 3 people it was very cramped. For me this tainted an otherwise great weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms at he front of the hotel have magnificent views however be prepared for some noise from a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your recent review regarding your visit to the hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you did have a good Birthday celebration break; it was also pleasing to read that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant and found the staff especially Jade good.

I was however disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations in relation to the room, I do hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, Once again thank you for your review. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have been to this location for a friends wedding. In a nutshell the location itself is stunning along with the hotel. The hotel reception area is very pleasant and welcoming.
The staff are very polite and courteous at all times.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshChoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your friends wedding at the hotel and all aspects of your stay. It is always a pleasure to host weddings and even better to receive wonderful feedback, not only from the bride and groom but from their friends and family. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you all again in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights recently and had an excellent time. We had a room with a lake view which was stunning. All staff were lovely, particularly in the restaurant where the food was excellent. Leisure club is very good but avoid when the local schools come out. One small niggle, could not get a consistent temperature on the shower. Will be back.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review about hotel, it was great that your enjoyed your recent anniversary celebrations. It was also very pleasing to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay especially the room with the stunning view, the team at the hotel and the food. Once again thank you and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,060 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing