We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A moderate hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A moderate hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is located in Lake District of Windermere. Environment is very nice and quiet. Reception staff are very courteous. But the room is not big enough and the furnitures are quite old. More importantly is that the wall between rooms are built by wooden board, always heard of noise from the next room and corridor. Not too ideal for stay..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KY_Steve0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest, I was very sorry to read that had only a moderate stay and that you do not deem the hotel to be ideal. It was however great to read that you thought the hotel was nice and that the reception team were courteous.

With regard to your review we do have many varying room types which range from house rooms up to feature rooms which are obviously a lot larger, so the size of the room does depend greatly on the room type chosen. I will look into your comment about wooden boards as walls between the rooms, I am not sure this is the case but I will discuss it with our maintenance team.

Once again thank you for your review and taking the time to pass on your feedback, and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    458
    179
    79
    38
See reviews for
416
838
13
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Everything about this hotel is excellent, the staff, the rooms, the food, the location, the leisure facilities. My husband and I have just returned from 3 nights which was originally as a two night break, but we booked an extra night as we loved the hotel so much. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Ken in the bar was first class and even was aware that we had booked the extra night and moved rooms, as he knew our new room number without us having to tell him and he also remembered the wine that we drank. Will definitely return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, even the standard room is of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for such a rewarding review, it was great to read that you had such a wonderful stay, so much so that you extended your stay. It was great to read that you enjoyed the room the food the leisure facilities and the location.

It ws especially pleasing to read that you felt you received excellent service from our team but especially from Ken on the bar. I have passed on your comments to Ken and nominated him for a +1 award which is the company recognition program for staff who work hard to exceed our guest expectations.

I will also ensure your comments are passed on to the rest of the team, of whom we are very proud of! You may be interested to know that all reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. Once again thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel once again in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A nice period hotel in a great position.
We stopped in room 19 positioned over the flags, overlooking the bay.
The room was well equipped and a generous size.
With plenty of beverages provided.

All the public areas were well maintained.
The food was very good, with an excellent choice for breakfast.
We had a problem with our Jacuzzi so we could not use it.
We reported it in the morning and hopefully they sorted it as we asked before the next visitors.

Room Tip: Book a room in the main building. More expensive, but worthwhile. More character, and wi-fi, where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review about hotel and your comments about room 19, I know the Jacuzzi bath has been fixed – thank you for highlighting this to our team. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband, 4 month old son and I have just returned from a lovely couple of days at this hotel. We were upgraded to a wonderful room with a fantastic view over the lake which meant my husband and I could sit in the lounge with our baby monitor while our son slept safely upstairs. Reception staff were lovely when we wanted to use the baby listening service and the head waiter (Michael) in the restaurant deserves a special mention for being so cheerful and welcoming each time we visited. Having the pool to pass a rainy afternoon was a bonus. We would happily return to this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for such a rewarding review, it was great to read that you, your husband and 4 month old son had such a wonderful stay. It ws especially pleasing to read that you felt you received excellent service from our team but especially from Michael in the restaurant and the reception team.

I have passed on your comments to Michael and nominated him for a +1 award which is the company recognition program for staff who work hard to exceed our guest expectations. I will also ensure your comments are passed on to the rest of the team, of whom we are very proud of! You may be interested to know that all reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors.

Once again thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel once again in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have just had two lovely nights at Low Wood Hotel on a special deal including dinner.
The hotel is in a lovely location opposite the lake and has marvellous leisure facilities, including an outdoor hot tub.
Our room was superb. Spacious, comfortable, warm with a huge bathroom and upstanding victorian type bath, lashings of hot water. Just lovely.
Our only complaint was the food - dinner was included in the deal price. Being mainly plain type eaters the food was far too fussy. It would have been helpful if there had been a couple of ordinary dishes on the menu. As it was, most of the food was uneaten.
The staff were lovely and nothing was any trouble. We cant wait to stay again but afraid it will be just B and B next time.

Room Tip: Room 23 has lake view, hugh bed and very large victorian bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your recent wonderful review. I am glad you were able to take advantage of the special offer that included dinner on the first night, It was great to read that you loved the room, the leisure facilities and the amazing view.

I was however disappointed to read that you found the food too fussy, on that note we are more than happy to cook food of your choice to your liking, so should you wish to stay with us again we would be more than happy to discuss dining options for you, (we do have the lounge whereby you can eat fish and chips, burgers and curries for example, this can be taken as part of you dinner allowance.

I will ensure your review is passed on to the team. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful time.

There were a few issues with the room and with the door cards but these were all dealt with professionally, courteously and cheerfully by the very attentive staff.

The food is excellent, the views across Windermere are sublime, it's easy to see why this is such a popular hotel for weddings.

There is a road outside the hotel, it's how you get there, unless I missed the optional helicopter transfer from Ambleside. Cars drive along the road and, if you are listening for them, you can hear these cars. It's not the end of the world and I did not have any loss of sleep due to it. This in a room on the front of the hotel.

The complaints about a lack of pavement on the (admittedly busy) road outside are bizarre and completely unfounded. I walked into Ambleside and my feet never left the footpath once. You do have to cross the road to the lake side but, unless you are a hedgehog, it is not beyond the ability of anyone I've ever met to achieve this with minimal loss of life.

Overall a superb stay at a very well run hotel, I will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RopeyNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our whole experience at getting married at low wood bay was outstanding. Prior to the wedding the staff were helpful, polite and reassuring. (helped with nerves!!!). Every need or concern was dealt with promptly and all staff throughout our stay went above an beyond to really make our day special. The hotel and facilities was amazing and well worth the 4 star rating. We have two children who enjoyed there facilities and little extras such as gift bags and never once was they not welcome or frowned upon making them feel comfortable and special too. To top it off the surroundings was stunning for us to view and as a back drop to the wedding photos. I would highly recommend this hotel as somewhere to stay and defiantly somewhere to get married in. In with a wedding package we was also given a complimentary stay for our first anniversary and we cant wait to go back. There really is too much to describe and we cannot recommend more highly.
Mr & Mrs Houghton

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear newlyweds Mr. and Mrs. Houghton, thank you for your amazing review about your recent wedding day at Low Wood Bay. I am so pleased that you chose Low Wood Bay for your special day. It was certainly a pleasure to host your wedding and welcome your family and friends to enjoy with you your special day.

I know Gemma, Rea and the team will read your review, and on behalf of the team thank you. I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspect of your wedding day at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your first wedding anniversary in 2014. Once again congratulations. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,034 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing