We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
$160
$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamplighter(Windermere)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Manor Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House(Windermere)
$452
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$188
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$270
$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$167
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,913)
Filter reviews
1,913 results
Traveler rating
1,091
496
195
87
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,091
496
195
87
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue smokeleisure clublake viewleisure facilitiesthe outdoor hot tubbusy roadbuilding workmain restaurantfeature roomlake districtlovely hotelkendal mint cakerestaurant staffsteam roomwedding partyhigh standardlots of choice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,193 - 1,198 of 1,913 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked the two day deal for the beginning of this week. The offer "House Double Room 2 night special" covers two nights, Bed and Breakfast plus Dinner on the first night, accompanied by a glass of Prosecco.

Upon arrival we were checked in quite swiftly, booked our dinner reservation for the evening, and popped up to the room to drop off our bags.

The room was pretty average, had a tiny window, but to be fair there was no view anyway. The room was in a "good" condition. Nothing magical really.

Dinner was great. Service in the restaurant was excellent. This goes for the main meal, and the breakfast meals on both following mornings.

When checking in you are given a "Wifi Password" token, which supposedly only works in limited rooms, and the public areas of the hotel, which sadly our room did not qualify for. Also, the connection in the public areas of the hotel were intermittent at the best of times.

The following morning we popped out to explore the surrounding areas, and made sure to pop the "Clean our room" sign on the door on the way out.

When we returned in the evening we found that someone had pulled the duvet up the bed, but not actually made the bed, and the fresh towels had just been chucked in the bathroom. The sink hadn't been cleaned. Glasses in there had not been replaced. Bin hadn't been emptied. The tea and coffee cups, and pots were uncleaned, and the tea, coffee, milk, etc had not been replenished.

We called reception to inform them that the room had not been cleaned, and to request a refill of the items in question, they said they would send the porter up straight away. About 40 minutes later there was still no sign of it, so we called again, and they said they would get it sorted. About 10 minutes later a member of staff arrived with the items.

Sadly, this is not where it ended.

We had a spa booking for two at 9AM the following morning, and upon arrival were asked to wait, we arrived around 08:55. After waiting till about 09:10 a member of staff eventually came over to inform us that one of the beauty therapists hadn't arrived yet, they had no idea where she was, or how long it would take for her to get there.

They then suggested we change our treatments, or only one of us have a treatment, or that we change it to late in the day, or a different day completely.

We'd been sat there for 15 minutes, and it seems a little ridiculous to not inform a guest until well after they were meant to have their appointment.

Considering the reputation of the hotel and the price we paid to stay with there we honestly did not expect for any of this to happen.

We received half of an explanation about the state of the room when it was meant to be cleaned at check out, which was "It was a new member of staff, we've passed on your comments".

They provided us with the managers email address so that we could pop over our complaint when we got back home, and it bounced back an out of office reply complete with spelling mistakes:

"Thank you for the email, unfortunatly I am away from the office at present back on Tuesday 3rd September. Emails are being monitored by [Name Removed] the Operations Manager, and urgant emails answered in my absence.

kind regards"

We have yet to have this addressed, but our suggestion is to be careful when booking yourself a stay at this hotel. All is not what it seems when it comes to their 4-Star Rating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrnMrsW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review, I am sorry that, unlike the vast majority of our guests and online reviewers, you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

For your benefit and that of the TA community, I would like to confirm that the negative email you sent to the General Manager was received at 15.08pm yesterday. The General Manager is on annual leave, so as a matter of courtesy, as is good practise he activated “out of office”, automated reply. I thank you for highlighting the spelling mistakes; I will ensure they are corrected immediately.

I will thoroughly investigate the matters raised in you email and in your review and I will ensure I reply to your email no later than tomorrow evening. In the meantime I would once again thank you for your review especially your kind comments regarding the team at the hotel and the dining experience in the Windermere restaurant. Kind regards – Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Clean and pleasant hotel with good features.

As this was a last minute booking, sadly we had to divide our stay at the lake in 2 different hotels which is not a bad thing after all in hind sight (the other hotel is at the bottom of the hills). Stayed at Low Wood for 2 nights with my wife and daughter. The pier and the lake were a stone throw away literally.

Hotel offers a waterbus service to the adjacent Ambleside pier although the service was rather limited. We left the car and took the 1023 service which enable us to continue our journey fr Ambleside to Bowness on a different cruise (at 1055) without much waiting. Bus stops are located just outside the hotel. (£2.30 for an adult for a 10min ride from Ambleside back to Hotel was in my view rather expensive)

Room was clean and decent water pressure form the shower. Staffs were helpful and very hard working (esp the catering). Food was above average and inexpensive. Picked up a book in the room abt the hotel's 300 yrs history and changes around the lake which I thought was a nice touch. It just make the whole stay more relevant and connected.

Family with kids should make use of the activities at the watersport centre. We hired a motorboat for an hour (less busier than other piers and u get a relatively new boat.Hotel guests get 10% discount). My daughter thoroughly enjoyed her first kayak experince.

The only downside is there is no wifi coverage for room no between 300-500 although LAN cable is available if u have a laptop.

All in all, this will be my choice of hotel if I were to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at Low Wood Bay, I am delighted that you like the hotel and would defiantly visit us again in the future.

It was also great to read that you choose to leave the car at the hotel and make use of the waterbus service from the hotel as well as one of the most scenic bus stops in Britain? I am also pleased that you enjoyed the food and service that you received at the hotel.

Thank you for commenting on the book in the rooms regarding the history of the hotel, it is extremely interested and details the hotels 300 year history.

As you may have noted from other reviews and responses we unfortunately due to the stunning mountains and hills that the surround the hotel do struggle with network coverage (Vodafone seems to be ok) which also limits the 3G and Wifi access although, I believe this is being looked at in the area but is not under our control.

Once again that you for your review, Kind regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The aged exterior of this hotel doesn't do it justice..the facilities available, the rooms, the location & the food (especially breakfast) were exceptional..stayed 2 nights & it was an ideal base for exploring the lakes..smart pleasant staff, ample parking..would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tangerinetracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent outstanding review about hotel, You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife, daughter and I have just spent five more days at Low Wood after 'discovering' the hotel in a four day visit last year. We returned because (1) the hotel is beautifully placed on the lakeside so that one may admire the view any time of day; (2) the entire staff are very pleasant and no request seems too much trouble (for example asking soya milk to be on the table and for it to be used in making the porridge); (3) the rooms are fine for size and cleanliness (including the en suite!); (4) the food (and service) in the restaurant is first rate, including a huge (serve yourself) choice for breakfast. Another more than satisfying visit !

Room Tip: The hotel says that in some of the higher numbered rooms (300 and above?) ipads do not, at present, connect to the internet. Crossing the road to the boats can sometimes take a little while because of the traffic.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBJTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Regular Guest, Once again thank you so much for your wonderful review – It is always good to receive feedback from our guest but even better when it is returning guests who continue to enjoy the hotel stay after stay. It was great to hear that once again you enjoyed all of the hotels faculties. I will ensure your comments are passed on to our team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable break. Once again thank you for your review. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Sprawling hotel by the lake. Great views of the lake. This hotel is between Windermere and Ambleside. Friendly service-minded staff. Great breakfast buffet. In the evening the hotel restaurant serves good food at reasonable prices. The rooms are fairly large and clean. My only surprise was that the towel I had left on a chair was not replaced nor hung up - I am all for saving the environment but do like a dry towel in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reslimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent review about hotel, it was great to read that you enjoyed the views as well as the room and your experiences in the Windermere restaurant. It was very pleasing to read that you thought our staff were service minded, although I was sorry to read of the towels not being replaced or hung on the towel rail to dry, I will inform the housekeeping manager of your comments. We hope to see you again in the future Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews