We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“low wood bay hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“low wood bay hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel one of the nicer ones on Lake Windermere and being on the edge of the lake lovely views.
Rooms pleasantly done out,towels changed every day,breakfast very good choice and staff there very attentive.
We would recommend as lovely outlook,well positioned for Lake Windermere and surrounding villages

Room Tip: Not room 307 as this near boiler and kept going off all the time. Rooms at back ok as they have nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn rodney c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review regarding your recent visit to the hotel, it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay – I hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Once again thank you for your review. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    453
    176
    78
    37
See reviews for
409
834
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I cannot fault the hotel apart from the room we were allocated. We arrived with friends and had booked the same deal, however, our friends got a better room than us, which left me feeling a bit miffed considering we had both paid the same. The hotel was very good in all other areas, food was very good, breakfast was exceptional, our room was spotless, the bathroom was a bit cold despite a heated towel rail, the staff were very good and nothing was too much trouble. I would stay again, however I would try to get a room similar to the one our friends had. Apart from that was really good weekend, thanks.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms around 319 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at Low Wood Bay.

I am so sorry you were disappointed that you were not allocated the same style room as your friends with whom you visited the hotel. The beauty of having 111 bedrooms is that guests have a wide selection of room types and styles to choose from, the one downside however is that not every room type has the same style. You would have most certainly been allocated the same room type as your friends but it may be that your friend’s room was one of the recently upgraded rooms. Please accept my genuine apologies.

I was delighted however to read that you thoroughly enjoyed all other aspects of your stay and I hope we are given the opportunity in the future to welcome you back to the hotel, please feel free to contact me directly where I will ensure you are given the best room available to suit your needs. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I was on business and stayed for 2nights.
I had a lake view, which was made even more spectacular by a dusting of snow on the hills and mountains, which was fantastic. I would have been disappointed to NOT have a lake view.
The room was very clean and comfortable and furnished well and even had a traditional cast iron radiator.
The jacuzzi bath was just what the doctor ordered after an all day conference.

The food was generally good, however the lunch time hot buffet was bland(especially the soup, which had little or no seasoning). Unfortunately due to my tight schedule I didn't complain as if I had I'm sure this would have been rectified.

The staff were all excellent. Check in and out was swift. Bar staff worked hard and were attentive. Waiting staff were also on the ball.

Generally very good and would consider a private stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberryblonde20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

As always a great visit for the family. Got up late for breakfast actually missed it and the staff kept some aside for us. Really great service would recommend in an instant. Room was clean bathroom was excellent - deep bath - after walking a real bonus.Bar area very relaxed and food is superb - Main asset is the staff are so helpful -well done

Room Tip: Views of the lake are perfect from all over the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevelLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent family stay, It was great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay especially the great service from our team. Once again thanks for the review and I will ensure the team are made aware of your wonderful comments, Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very enjoyable stay.Arrived in the afternoon and was presented with a good afternoon tea,including smoked salmon,Cheese,Ham sandwiches and agreat selection of cakes + cream scones.
We were piped by a super Bagpipe player into dinner(7courses) after canapes and champagne
The main course was venison which was perfectly tender and the staff catered for my gluten
and lactose free diet.
All the staff made you feel welcome.
We stayed at the Storrs Hall the New Year before(which was not as lively but very enjoyable)which is in the same group of hotels and we will stay with them again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcliff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for choosing to see in the New Year of 2013 with us here at Low Wood Bay. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of our New Year package from the afternoon tea, the champagne and canapé reception through to the 7 course gala dinner.

We would love to welcome you to the hotel once again for another enjoyable stay and we will be in touch when we have finalised out Christmas and New Year package for the next festive season, The team at the hotel wish you a happy 2013 and Once again, many thanks for the review. Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a few times the last being just before Christmas, we really cant fault the hotel , the breakfast is fantastic lots of choice even for someone like me that doesnt eat meat.We have stayed with our 2 dogs and also without them when we have the dogs with us we arent put in an inferior room and when we have gone without them you dont even realize that dogs are able to say (no funny odours in rooms etc) We have eaten in the restaraunt at night and this is something not to be missed lovely service and fantastic food. The leisure facilities are second to none the pool is fantastic and the hot tub just a dream you can sit in there and see the lake really wonderfull. You can walk into Ambleside from here but you can also catch the ferry to ambleside.. We love Windermere and cant see going to another hotel .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1worried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operation Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Regular Guest, thank you for your review and the fantastic comments about hotel, the food, and the leisure club, especially the hot tub. I am glad you bought your dogs along, it sounds like they enjoyed there stay as much as you (hope they enjoyed their doggy treats in the room and the walking suggestions) Once again thank you for sharing your comments with all trip advisor users. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future. Kind Regards, Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was stayed here on business for one night and I was extremely lucky to get to the hotel in the daylight. The bedroom overlooked the lake and the scenery was magnificant. The hills were covered in snow and the lake shimmered in the late afternoon sun. The bedroom was well equipped and the bed large and comfortable. The meal in the hotel was very good. Check in and check out was straight forward and great to find a hotel with plenty of onsite parking. The staff were all proficient in their duties and indeed helpful
I will definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Insist on a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCobra60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleCroukamp, Operations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay for business. It was great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay especially the amazing snow caped lake views from your room. Once again thanks for the review and I will ensure the team are made aware of your wonderful comments, Kind regards Michelle Croukamp, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing